2008 Dodge Ram 3500

Change Vehicle
2008 Dodge Ram 3500
Available in 20 styles:  2008 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 Regular Cab 140.5" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$17,370–$39,282
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

5 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

dodge

by hhhh from | December 12, 2012

i purchased this truck over the computer and trusted in the saleman and company, they did an awesome job and i am extremely happy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


2008 3500 QUAD SINGLE WHEEL LARAMIE

by NORFLAVET from Florida | January 4, 2012

Bought to pull my 32' toy hauler. After 10,000 miles had the DPF replaced under warranty, though it took several days to get the part in; at least a loaner was involved. Found a rear axle seal leak, not covered under warranty. Front seats are terrible; poor frame build quality and material choices. Need to have both redone for long distance comfort. Rear seat leg room tight but fits the need. Have no front end issues (yet) but will be upgrading all components to medium duty strength when time. Overall, not bad for what it does; just wished I had bought a new Crew Cab instead.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Lemon Front End

by construction guy from Prince George British Columbia | November 29, 2010

2008 Ram 3500 Mega-Cab diesel 4x4. I like the ride height and clearance of the truck for the job site and towing my sled trailer through the snow. The engine and engine brake have been good. The cab comforts are good with a few exceptions. The paper Infinity speakers in the front doors are garbage and were replaced twice on warranty and I put in aftermarket Infinity speakers for a great improvement in sound and reliability. Also the drivers seat stitching and padding has completely come apart by 70000 kms (45000 miles). Now the good part, the front end. At 30000 kms the upper and lower ball joints on both sides were shot the drag link ends were shot and the drag link and track bar upgraded to a 5500 drag link and track bar under warranty(so I was informed by the dealer). At about 40000 kms the pitman arm broke while in motion. this happened on three other Ram 3500 I know about under 60000 kms. Scary! At around 50000 kms the rear diff carrier was replaced under warranty. Now at 98000 kms again, the ball joints are all shot, the steering box is worn out (dealer inspection verifies) no warranty and the front drive shaft u-joints are gone, under warranty. All in all the drive train and front end has sorely disappointed me and at 100000 kms (only 60000 miles) I will be shelling out $3000.00 to fix problems that shouldnt occur this soon. the truck spends 90% of its miles on pavement and the rest on good gravel or around the construction site

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


2008 Dodge Ram 3500 Mega Cab 4X4

by EddyB from Boise, Idaho | October 28, 2010

I purchased the truck new in May 2008, currently I have 38,000 miles on the truck. So far the truck has worked well. I use it to haul a 38ft 5th Wheel trailer and a car hauler. The truck pulls these very well with no issues. The Jake brake is awesome!. The Mega Cab has a nice ride for a 1-ton truck. The only problems I had were the leather on the drivers seat was torn, but fixed under warranty. Fuel economy has improved a lot over new, currently averaging around 15 mpg in town and 22 on the highway with a high of 24 mpg on one trip. The one negative of the truck is the transmission has a small leak that the dealer keeps fixing and it always comes back. As it turns out the 6 speed automatic has a transmission control input shaft with a rubber grommet that after a while gets out of place and a small amount of trans fluid drips on my driveway. It is really annoying. Other then that the transmission shifts smooth and works very well with heavy loads or when empty.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Very bad...

by TheManWhoShould'veGotaFord from Glenville, W. Va. | September 5, 2010

I don't like this truck at all. I pull a 16,000 pound camper across the Eastern U.S. because I run a bull dozer in various places. At 30K miles I had a universal joint go out. The dealer refused to replace it, so I did it all myself when the truck was UNDER WARRANTY!!! Then at 38K miles the rear seat stitching started to rip and my seat was apart (quad cab, Big Horn, cloth seats). They fixed that under warranty for $50. Then at about 50K miles the whole front end went along with another universal joint. The tie rod ends, front axle, everything. The check engine light came on and I started to get poor fuel economy and a good loss in power. I was getting about 13.5 unhooked on the highway. (This is the 6.7L Cummins) I took it to a dealer about 150 miles away from the dealer I bought from and they never said what the problem was. After that my transmission never shifted right again. I still got about 13 mpg highway unhooked but the power seemed to be back. I would be going up a steep driveway at 15 MPH and the truck would still be in 4th gear and you have the accelerator to the floor, this all of the sudden it drops into 1st and 4WD Low kicks in (don't know why, any help?) and you go flying!!! Now, at 75,000 miles I am having a new front end put in again just like last time. Tie rod ends, wheel barrings, axle. Then yesterday I idled the truck for about 20 minutes (you idle a lot on a job site sometimes) and the truck spued out black smoke at idle and quit. My check engine light came on too. I got a tow from a work buddy's new Super Duty and the closest dealer said that my diesel particulate filter was clogged. Not to mention the 2 recalls I've had on the engine. And, I had a failed turbo at 55K. The trucks got 75,000 miles and is in the shop for the exhaust and I'm driving a loaner, a 2009 Ram 3500 SLT Quad Cab Dually Cummins. I've noticed this loaner gets about 14 MPG highway unhooked and doesn't feel at full power. No CEL though. Also, forgot one thing. This truck basically EATS air filters. I've replaced 15 of them in the truck's 75,000 miles. The filters turn black as coal an the truck loses power and it the CEL comes on. (CEL mean check engine light, FYI). After the truck gets repaired for the DPF clogging, I'm making one last trip in the truck. To the Ford dealer. The future for me is the new 6.7L Powerstroke in an F-350 or F-450 dually. DON'T buy this truck or any other Dodge product. I know I won't be.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


Good, not great

by riderrob from Edmonton, Ab | July 19, 2010

Bought the truck new and now have about 70K miles, all highway. Front end has been rebuilt twice (ball joints, axle seals etc) all under warranty. Just had the clutch replaced and have had numerous other problems (both rear door wiring harnesses and the rear slider), total cost $3000. Now it seems to be losing power and consuming more fuel and nobody is sure why. Towing a 4000# trailer at 65mph with a 3.73 rear end I'm getting 10-11mpg. With my 15,000# trailer I'm lucky to get 8mpg and thats not hauling in the mountains at all. Even with the small trailer I have to shift down for most hills, the big trailer requires 2 downshifts if the elevation change is more than a couple hundred feet. Its never left me on the side of the road and the tires and brakes are even in good condition thanks in part to the engine brake.The truck is a 3500 quad cab, long box drw.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


2008 Dodge Ram Five Stars

by DodgeRamExpert from | July 12, 2010

This 2008 Dodge Ram gets five stars. Plenty of power and towing, unbelievable features, and the best motor in the industry. Laramie package has leather, sunroof, DVD navigation, jake break, and much more!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Ram 3500

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.