2006 Dodge Stratus

Change Vehicle

2006 Dodge Stratus

Available in 2 styles:  2006 Dodge Stratus 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$4,625–$5,950

Est. MPG

21–22 city / 28–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 26 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 26 reviews

love this car

by 06 stratus v6 sxt owner from Indiana | November 19, 2013

I have had my 06 Stratus SXT for a year and I love it! Has 61000 miles on it and still drives like new. Have had no problems or repairs to make. It's sporty and fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Really good car!

by chas from Ohio | November 11, 2013

Great low-budget nice looking car for the money! It's been a good car for our family & we are happy with our STRATUS! Yes, would recommend!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Family Car

by Family Driver from Chicago, IL | November 28, 2012

I drove my 06 Stratus SXT for 4 years before I parted with it for an SUV. I now have 3 kids (too many for a sedan!!!) but with 2, this was a perfect car. The backseat is set up for carseats, complete with anchors and a LOT of space. I felt that my son and daughter were both very safe back there. I kept up the maintenance on my Stratus and never had any issues. Judging from previous reviews, it sounds like it is definitely important to keep up with this stuff as their issues sound like a need for maintenanced brakes, rotated tires, and maybe the occasional oil change!! I would definitely recommend this car to pretty much anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Very dependable

by Dodge Driver from Haysville | February 2, 2012

I've owned my 06 dodge stratus for over 4 years. It has been the most reliable car Ive ever owned. I was the 2nd owner and purchased the extended service plan from the dealership which was a total waste of $2000. I havent had any problems with the car since the day I bought it and I've put about 50,000 miles on it. I've maintained the oil changes regularly and topped off fluids whenever they needed it. I've had to purchase 4 new tires and a battery, and I've replaced the brake pads. Everything has been just regular maintenance. I've since bought a Dodge Nitro and declined the service plan on that one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Never, ever getting a Dodge again!

by rjcfireball from Roanoke, Louisiana | December 16, 2011

I have had my 2006 Dodge Stratus for almost 2 years now. I drive the car quite long distances to work and back. For about a year now, I have had immense problems with the car. The car would drop out of cruise suddenly on the interstate, drop to 40 mph, and would not accelerate. I researched the problem and found that this is called "fail-safe" mode. In this mode, the only gears the car will run are 3rd gear and reverse. I have taken the car to dodge dealerships and other repair shops, poured over $3000 dollars in repairs into the car, and the problem is still not solved. Bottom line: this car was a tremendous mistake that I will never make again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable car I've ever owned

by Owner from Phoenix | April 12, 2011

I have owned this vehicle for 2 years and only replaced the tires and had the oil changed. It is the best car I've ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


stratus

by hutch from 37912 | February 11, 2011

I enjoy the ride and the handling. I like the way it looks on both the inside and out. Have not owned long enough to comment on much more than this

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


used car purchase

by jay1 from milwaukee | February 8, 2011

Purchased this car from private owner 2 months ago. Car have 84000miles on it, 2005 v6. The car is drivable but, shocks are already started to make noise, breaks are almost grinding, There is a tire/rim balance issue. Heat working fine,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Buyer beware

by Nascar 99 from columbiana, oh | August 9, 2010

Car looks great, rides nice, decent gas mileage for a mid size car...but unreliable. At 40k both wheel bearings,brakes at 42k and again at 85k,exhaust at 87k Transmission, and computer at 90k, oh and ball joints too. The rear window motor stopped and I had had enough I had to get rid of it, repairs were killing me

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


be ready for repairs

by 01stratus from New York, NY | May 25, 2010

01 stratus. constantly needing new brakes "since the brake pads were designed to small" power side mirrors stopped working. I'm not sure if this is common but if i drove even through the smallest puddle the engine would stall out until dry. sometimes for hours. ((If it was raining It wasnt even worth trying to start!)) when it did run it was amazing. I felt safe. went through 6 accidents and you could barely notice. it was a tank for me.. its a bitter sweet love.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 26 reviews

Featured Services for this Dodge Stratus

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.