2013 Ford C-Max Energi

Change Vehicle
2013 Ford C-Max Energi

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  2013 Ford C-Max Energi 4dr Hatchback shown
Starting MSRP
$32,950
Estimated MPG

40 city / 36 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

2 weeks old and in shop

by what was I thinking!! from long island ny | June 27, 2014

Not even two weeks out of the showroom and it had to get towed!! Driving on highway and all of a sudden car was stalling like when your out of gas, pulled off of highway and glided into the road where it had to be towed. As of today ( 4 days in shop) still not fixed, they do not know what caused the engine to stall and waiting for representatives from Ford to look over entire car. Beyond upset!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Excellent Mileage; a few quibbles

by AdopterMentality from Lakewood, CA | June 21, 2014

First Ford for me - that's what the Energi represent to me. The key was the carpool lane access -that's why I wanted to buy the car - not to mention the federal tax credit and state rebate. Wow. Ok - financially it's a winner! Driving it's a blast. Much better, and more luxurious, than the Prius I had from '07 - '11. The Sync/MyFord Mobile features are cool, but can be a bit slow and buggy at times. The Sony sound system is spot on. Comfort and quietness? Can't get much better, seriously. The quibbles: it's been in the shop a total of 13 days over 8 months because of a rattle (antenna; fixed) and squeaks in the doors (molding issues; as yet unresolved). A bit disconcerting; the dealer's not been able to eradicate the numerous squeaks around the doors. Now, when the car's warm and on the freeway? You hear nothing. But the rest of the time? When cold or on "not so stellar" local streets? Squeak city. More annoying than anything else - but I do want it fixed up. However - on balance? The techno stuff is awesome. The performance (torque, braking, handling) pretty darned nice. The only - and i mean only- concern I have is with the wide turning radius. If I had to push? The lack of storage cubbies is a minor. Would I buy it again? Yup. The Energi's a nice car - and it's pretty sharp to drive, and to putt around in. And it's a great highway car, too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Ford C-Max Energi

by Larry from Hillsboro, MO | May 6, 2014

Great interior room, good styling, and great gas mileage. We bought this car to save on gasoline after we drove one owned by a brother-in-law. We drive at least 25 miles per day, most of which takes no fuel. We figured we would get a new car for the price of the fuel saved. So far, we've been right. We love the bluetooth features, the smartness of the car and the comfort. Passengers love the room in the back seat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fun Car to Drive and see how far you can go

by Long Commuter from Hudson, MA | April 25, 2014

I have not found a bad thing with this car. We drive 42 miles each way and plug it in at home and work, when the weather is 60 to 80 we get 25 miles + on a charge. It is a fun Car and love the room. I could not get into the Prius with out hitting the wheel and headliner. I have been keeping a log and getting 54 to 75 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Mileage less than advertised

by Mileage sensitive from San Diego | April 7, 2014

I leased a new '13 Cmax based on cost calculations using the advertised 21 miles in all-electric mode. My car never reads more than 16 when fully charged, and I'm now being told my driving pattern from yesterday is the cause of the shortage. This is either bunk or fraudulent advertising. I'll let you know what I find.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Glad I chose this car!

by Maximus Owner from DFW area, TX | February 20, 2014

I bought the C-max Energi in November 2013 after spending more than a year looking at and test driving the C-Max. Since I have a long commute (80 miles RT) I initially thought the Energi wouldn't offer much of an advantage over the regular C-Max. Ford was offering great rebates PLUS 0 % financing for the Energi.I couldn't resist that offer. I am very happy with my purchase. Now that the weather is getting milder, I am getting 63.5 MPG (based on actual fuel ups) with one charge per 80 miles of mostly highway driving. It is a lot of fun to drive in EV mode, very quiet ride and good acceleration. There are lot of useful gauges giving you feedback on fuel economy. If you pay attention to them, you can definitely learn efficient driving habits. The trunk is limited in capacity, but the ability to fold down the back seats if needed makes up for it. Really haven't had to do that yet though. The interior of the car feels very roomy (lots of headroom) and comfortable. The MyFordTouch system (with Navigation) and smartphone syncing are working great. I love the smartphone app that lets you set charging times, cabin temperature and shows a lot of useful information about the car's health, odometer reading and fuel economy. The price is a little high, but the Energi comes with a great SEL package like heated leather seats, heated mirrors, auto-sensing wipers, etc. After three months and 5,500 miles, I am really loving this car.Can't really judge reliability yet, but hope it won't disappoint either!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Quality Issues

by EarlyAdopter from North Carolina | November 21, 2013

Having not bought American for almost 2 decades, we finally took the plunge and bought a Ford. Been driving the car for about a year now and wish we had waited before buying. PROS: 1. Nicely appointed interior (much nicer than the prius), comfortable seats, lots of driver legroom. Although heavy it is responsive and very quiet. 2. We are getting about 70 mpg - but are able to charge it every 40 miles. 3. Updates to the system have improved phone pairing, navigation, and charge/preheat/precool capabilities. 4. You can get 20 miles all electric (as advertised), if you drive <55mph, brake carefully, accelerate slowly, and are in the sweet spot of outside temperatures of between 50 and 80 degrees. CONS: 1. Quality of build - in less than a year, we've had to take it back for multiple recalls (several updates to the my ford touch and to fix their failure to pass roof crash safety standards). Additionally - had to take it back 7 days after delivery for broken rear strut, 1 day after recall when part of roof fell off, and several days ago when the drivers door handle fell off. 2. Mileage - don't expect the 40-44 mpg unless your battery is charged. When in hybrid mode, we get 35 mpg on a good day. 3. Highway driving mileage: while the car will allow you to select "electric later", "electric now" and "automatic" modes - at highway speeds if you select electric later - you will get 35 mpg (or less). If you select auto or electric now - the car will completely deplete the electric battery before going hybrid. Since going 65 mph depletes the battery quickly, you will not get 20 miles out of it. 4. The trunk is small - would not be a great option for 4 people to go on a long trip.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great Performance and Comfort

by City Max from California | November 5, 2013

I've driven my Cmax Energi about 600 miles, and so far I am very impressed with the vehicle. It handles well on the road compared to its peers. The ride is smooth and comfortable rather than sporty. It's no sports car, but it holds on well to the turns and has the torque to push out off the line very quickly if you choose. It is very easy to park in the city, much shorter than many sedans. As far as the battery and fuel efficiency, I charge the battery every few days and have gotten variable range (15-28 miles). Learning to use using downhill regen mode definitely helps. I've driven 600 miles and I'm still on my first tank of gas -- the system is showing that I'm getting 60 mpg. After reading so many mixed reviews of the MyFord Sync system, I was surprised to find that Sync worked well for me. I use the voice control all the time and navigation all the time and find them responsive. I work in technology, so I did familiarize myself with the basic commands and have found it better than most voice control systems I've used. I love the MyFord Mobile app to keep track of my charging. There are certain items that can be improved, but generally it is a very good system. The interior of the SEL is very nice and well thought out. All of my passengers have been impressed with the interior, though one found the backseat a bit too upright. There are a few items that would note: It is not great at U-turns. The turning radius is wide and often requires three point turns for turning around. This wouldn't be an issue outside of the city. The battery placement in the trunk takes a substantial amount of the cargo space, so if you need any cargo space go for the regular hybrid model. The EV plug is on the driver's side, but it should be on the curbside of the car for curbside charging. I have number of suggestions for myford touch, but the one glaring curiosity is that software updates are done via USB. The car has a dial up data transfer for the myford mobile app, so they should enable software updates to be pushed to the system. The more efficient it is to update the system, the more frequently the system can be improved. Overall, the car has surpassed my expectations and I would recommend it to anyone that is in the market for a hybrid (particularly if you find the Prius a bit underpowered). Coming from owning German (BMW and Mercedes) and Japanese cars (Acura) I had some hesitation in giving this car a try. I am very impressed with the C-Max. Kudos to Ford for creating a high quality fuel efficient, comfortable semi-compact passenger car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love the mileage, miss my trunk space

by GasMiser from Newtown, CT | August 21, 2013

Have had the C-Max Energi and it is now at the dealers getting it's new B-Post (roll bar in the roof), getting the rear lift gate to work properly and getting all the software updates (all "recalls", only one of them Federal). Hoping that when I drive thru Hartford CT the next time that it realizes that I am on Rte 84 and not on the local streets. Run into an issue too where if you leave the auto detect wipers on, they just come on without any rain or someone else hitting their wipers and cleaning their windows. Getting 50.5 and have had it up to 52.5 mpg with the electric. Drive 24 miles to work a day and I normally can get there on almost all energi. Only thing, have no place for my phone in the car other then next to the brake handle. Wish Ford opened up the area under the dash like they did for the Fusion. Hoping that with the software updates that the mileage will increase even more. Had not seen an Energi, just the hybrid before it came in and was a little disappointed with the lack of trunk space (you can fit a couple of suitcases and that's it). But love driving and not spending money on gas. Normally fill up about every two weeks. Dealer is flaky, they want you to come in every 3750 miles for oil change, yet Ford says 10,000. And of course when I just dropped it off with 9250 miles on it, got scolded. But when I tried to make an appointment with dealer 1.5 months ago couldn't accomodate me with a rental and wanted me to wait around 1/2 a day. Basically dealer didn't know the recall information and how long it was going to take. Fortunately I was sitting with the information in hand and have a real job that I need to go to and not wait on my dealer. Today picked up rental and it may be there for 1 1/2 days to get everything done. And they gave me a rental car that on the outside is clean but the interior is filthy. Rental car only has 5400 miles on it, but don't think anyone has dusted it out or vacuumed since it went to rental. So, love the car, but dealer needs to get their service depts act together.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Better than I expected

by Old school engineer from Melbourne, FL | August 2, 2013

I've owned my C-Max Energi for 3 months now and I'm very impressed with the engineering Ford did on this vehicle. I looked at the another highly popular hybrid company that makes a new model almost exactly the same size in the passenger space, but it doesn't come as a plug-in and was way over-priced. I'm not someone that cares about make a statement with what I buy so the extra cost is not worth it to me. The C-Max Energi fits me perfectly because I have a 17 mile commute to work one-way and I have a charger at both locations. Out of the 6700 miles on the car the engine has only run 2350 and this is because I took a trip that was 2200 miles. My first leg of the trip was 920 miles and I set the Energi for EV-later to reserve my battery for when I wasn't on the Interstate. Of this 920 miles 380 were on electric only and almost all of this was at 70 MPH. I got 41.3 MPG for this leg of the trip at 70 MPH. On the way back I pushed it up to better than 75 MPH and the mileage dropped to 37.8 MPG and less than 100 miles were electric only. That's typical of a hybrid or any car's mileage goes down as speed goes up. The really good part is around town I consistently get between 23 and 24 miles off the electric motor before the engine starts. Also I get almost 21 miles off the battery at 70MPH on the interstate. I can't speak to the effects of cold because I live in Florida, but I do know people with other plug-ins or EVs in cold areas and they tell me the cold has a huge effect on the efficiency of the battery. This makes perfect sense because it takes far less energy to cool a car with an ambient of 90 outside to 72 inside than it does to heat the car from 10 outside to 72 inside. Plus on the EVs a battery heater kicks on to heat the battery. It will be interesting when winter comes to see if I consistently get better than 24 miles on the battery because the A/C is not used as much. I am very impressed with the Sync and navigation system. I only once have had the Sync not understand what I said but I had other people talking in the car. I asked them to not speak while I set things and it worked perfectly. I have had a couple of times when the navigation map was behind where the vehicle was but this was within the 10 minutes needed to get a good GPS fix by the computer once this 10 minutes past I have never had that problem. One of the most impressive things is the how much space there is in both the front and back seats. It is very open and doesn't make you feel boxed in. I have to say so far this is the best car purchase I have ever made. I have spent a total of $418 to drive this car 6700 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2013 Ford C-Max Energi.


Featured Services for this Ford C-Max Energi

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.