See Also: 1998.5 Ford Contour | 1998.5 Ford Contour SVT

1998.5 Ford Contour

Change Vehicle

1998.5 Ford Contour

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Contour 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$809–$5,281

Estimated MPG

24 city / 35 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

GREAT SERVICE

by MEX BOYS TAXY from NJ | April 30, 2014

THIS CARS IS WHAT ALL PEOPLE LOOKING FOR GOOD CAR,LOWER MILLES AND GOOD PRICES AND THE BEST SERVICE EVRETHING U LOOKING FOR A CAR IS HERE

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Excellent Car!

by Car Enthusiast from Traverse City, MI | February 6, 2014

I have had my 1999 SVT Contour for about 2 years now and purchased it with 71,xxx miles now im at 110,xxx and this thing has been great! Being a car enthusiast i don't mind doing some of the maintenance this car requires IE: UMI cleaning, sunroof gear exc. Even after racking 40k miles on this car ive never had it break down, or give me any trouble mechanically. Now of course ive had to put money into it but its a 15 year old car, so struts wheel bearings, tie rods are always a given and its not the cars fault. MPG usually sits around 22 city and 27 highway, the car is an absolute BLAST to drive! Handles like its on rails and is pretty quick and will put a smile on my face every time i drive it. Overall i love the car and will keep driving it until it becomes a decently high mileage car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car!

by Matt from Niagara Falls, Ontario | January 24, 2014

I have read a lot of negative reviews of this car but the bottom line is, it doesn't matter what kind of car you buy, if it's not taken care of, it will break. People keep saying "I had to spend XXX dollars to get this fixed, and XXX to get that fixed, DON'T BUY". Car parts wear out. It's like taxes, you can't avoid it. Sometimes you roll the dice on a car and you lose. I've had my Contour for a while now and besides a bit of rust (which I've repaired myself) I haven't had any major problems with it. If you think there is a magic car out there that you can buy and not spend ANY money on it other than gas, let me know what it is. 4/5 for this car. The interior/exterior style isn't the greatest, but it drives nice and is decent on gas.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great car

by working man from N.Y | November 5, 2013

My 1998 contour is great it has 2.0 4 cyl. which is good on gas 26 city 32 highway. I've had an 1999 escort wagon and a 1997 mercury tracer neither can compare to the contour which is much nicer! The contour rides and handles better then both the other cars.The tranny shifts smooth and the engine has plenty of power to go. People are right about the back seat is a little tight and one cup holder is to little! Other wise really nice car for the money, so take advantage of low resale value..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Ghastly Vehicle

by impown from | April 13, 2013

The Contour is unrelentingly unreliable. If you must buy one, plan on about $300 to $400 a month in repairs. Plan on being stranded by the car. It isn't very fuel efficient. Comfort isn't bad. The ride is busy. It handles decently. Power from the 2.0L engine seems insufficient. The cars come with a lot of European made parts, partially explaining all the troubles. The Contour is not a car you'll be happy with.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Bad car

by john from Washington, DC | December 21, 2012

I bought a 1998 Contour with less than 100k miles on it. About a year after owning it with no problems, things started to break. The radio stopped working, the dash board intermittently failed, then of course the check engine light was on constantly. Not to mention I had to replace water pump, alternator and a leaky brake cylinder. Replacing the exhaust system was sort of expected since that was because of how old the car was, not really based on the number of miles of use on it. What ultimately ruined the car (with just over 100k on it) is a spark plug was arcing to another cylinder (is the way I understood it from my mechanic's explanation) making the car impossible to drive. I am not sure it was even repairable but by this time I was sick of repairing it so I didn't even attempt to.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Good Commuter Car

by Small Change from Nashville, TN | March 1, 2012

I've owned my 1998 LX 4D Sedan Contour since 2010, like it a lot. It gets good mileage, seats are comfortable, ample trunk space, nice body, not a smooth ride like a sedan, but doesn't jostle at every bump in the road either. It has less than 95K miles. Only issues I have are the check engine light is on all the time (I've had it checked many times w/no solution), stalls sometimes while crossing intersections, and the gas gauge doesn't work. However, I did find out it will run out of gas at approximately 315 miles. It's a good car, I like it and hope to drive it until I can't afford to repair it anymore. My current costs since owning it are oil changes, insurance, and fuel. Not bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Mistake

by Guy who should have researched his car better. from CA | February 22, 2012

I bought a Contour LX with a 2.0 L 4 cylinder engine I bought several years ago as my first car. Since I bought it I've had to replace the battery twice, the alternator twice, have the transmission rebuilt, the timing belt replaced, the timing tensioner replaced, and the idle pulley replaced. And I still have to have some gaskets replaced because it is leaking oil. This car for the most part has gotten me to where I need to go, but when something goes wrong it has always been expensive to fix(expensive parts). It has more space for the driver than most cars I've driven which is important since I'm 6'4". The ride is a little bouncy, but comfortable. It's not a fast car, though I don't really care if it is or not as it is fast enough to change lanes without slowing down everyone behind you. The heater works great, the AC not so much. Not the nicest interior either, very bland and plasticy. It's possible that the previous owner didn't take care of the car and that's why I've had so many problems is a relatively short time. The only reason I haven't gotten a new car is because it has always been cheaper to fix it than buy a new car. I have spent too much money on repairing this car(not including basic maintenance like oil changes). After the last round of repairs I've started saving for a new car and I won't make the same mistake of not researching the heck out of every car I look at.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Great Overall Performance

by Scott S from Nashville, TN | November 3, 2011

The Ford Contour SVT might not be the fastest performance sedan, but it is certainly one of the best handling and most fun to drive. I believe they are great used car values, especially compared to the Audi A4 or BMW 3 series. I bought my 1998 model used with 54K miles on it - now has 90K miles, and has been very reliable. The only caveat is some parts are getting hard to find, as this was a limited production model. A little too much plastic in the interior, but the seats are comfortable, and it is very easy to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


98 Contour

by tatortabby from South Carolina | June 16, 2011

I sold my 98 Contour this week after 12 years of ownership and 190,000 miles. It never left me stranded or require engine/transmission/ac work. I inherited a newer, low mileage vehicle or I would still be driving it. It routinely gave 30+ mpg highway and had the coldest ac of the dozen cars I have owned. Time was catching up with it and there were small annoyances (small leak in trunk, broken heater vent, one window only went down a few inches, hum in one speaker, lost several hub caps). Had an alignment 6 months ago and the technician said there was a surprising lack of wear on the front suspension.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Contour

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.