2007 Ford Escape

Change Vehicle
2007 Ford Escape

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 12 styles:  2007 Ford Escape 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$5,367–$13,571
Estimated MPG

19–24 city / 23–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

It was okay

by General Customer from Omaha, NE | March 8, 2013

The car was wonderful, except when something would go wrong. And it was never minor things. We had a 2007 Ford Escape and it only had 76,825 miles on it, but in the short time we have had it the tire presser sensors went out, we had the front struts break, our E-brake stop working and now our transmission dropped! We took very good care of our car, we got the oil changed every 3 months and the transmission flushed when needed, and then we were driving and it broke. It kicked into neutral, then overdrive (ON ITS OWN) then the transmission broke. It was an internal problem so we never saw it coming. All in all we have had to pay MORE than its value trying to keep this car running. But what was weird is that there were never any minor problems, but there were so many major problems. But other than it not being all to reliable it was a good little car. Don't get me wrong, I loved that car, but I don't feel like spending soo much on it any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


My return to American made vehicles

by Beau from Boscobel Wisconsin | December 20, 2012

I have been a import car customer for many years. However in light of the state of our economy i have come to believe we all must do our part to improve things in the good old USA. In light of the Obama bail out I've chosen Ford to give my business to. Don't get me wrong i know not much is truly made in the USA anymore but Ford has remained competitive with the imports more than the other US auto manufacturers, hence their need to take the bailout. We really like our Escape.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice all around 4X4 SUV

by Escape from Seattle | April 2, 2012

Nice all around 4X4 SUV need a 4X4 for driving over the mountains in the snow ,,,, Great so far ........ Had a Jeep Liberty Diesel before :-(

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


found washing

by rusting from Bobtown PA. | July 28, 2011

my 2007 escape is rusting on the inside bottom edges of all the doors. the rear liftgate is the worst. i found the problem after i purchased it in 2010. i never even thought i would need to look for rust on a vehicle this new. carfax report doesnt tell everything so beware of rust on these fords. dealer repaired when i showed the problem back in 2010 but the rust is back in 2011.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


It's ok for about 140,000 miles

by Pizon from 10708 | April 1, 2011

The transmission goes even when immaculately taken care of and change the tranny fluid every 5,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Ford Escape Review

by EscapeFan from Reading, PA | July 19, 2010

I LOVE my escape - it's been a few years now but still in excellent condition and I haven't had to have any major work done.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best small SUV I've driven

by Practiacal but fun from New Orleans, LA | March 4, 2009

Bought new 2007 Ford Escape Sport V6. Routine avg 26 mpg, mixed city/hwy. Lowest mpg is city at 22 mpg. Very versatile for carrying items in back, on roof, or using small trailer. Easy to change modes from hauling to passengers. Holds a lot compared to Chev S-10, Olds Bravada, Toyota Rav4, etc., and was the cheapest at the time I bought. Very reliable to date (23K miles). Comfortable on short city trips and long all-day trips. Easy to park in city, including parallel parking. Only negative I have is sensation that tires (Continental Contitrac P235/70R16 OWL A/S) not grip very well when stopping on wet asphalt. I do not get that feeling with our Prius.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I like it . but???

by I like it ....but... from Philadelphia PA. | August 20, 2007

The broshure say 18 mpg but I am getting 15-16 mpg on my 2007 escape. I fill up the tank 3 times and barely pass 200 miles on a full tank. Is this is normal? or should I take it to the dealer for a check up. I bought it used with only 5900 miles. and I like it very much. please help.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Vehicle I Have Ever Owned

by JRueff from Palm Springs, CA | July 20, 2007

A solid vehicle that is fun to drive and won't break the bank. Plus, the gas mileage is outstanding.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Little SUV

by GPC Pilot from Irvine, CA | May 24, 2007

I've had my '07 Escape Hybrid for almost 3 months and have 3000 miles on it. I have achieved over 28 mpg since day one, and most tanks of gas are in the 31 mpg range. For a small, yet practical SUV, that's good numbers. The Escape is comfortable, fairly nimble and not nearly as ponderous in handling as the Ford Ranger it replaced. My buddy's Explorer is a road boat by comparison and I used to be please with it. My only real complaints are few: 1. The radio sound (base AM/FM/CD-changer) is okay for a 1970's car and it is difficult for rear seat passengers to hear unless I crank up the volume considerably; 2. I miss my coin holder. My Ranger could hold quarters, dimes and nickles quietly in a spring-loaded holder. No such luck with the Escape that merely has a "dimple" in the dash that stays empty most of the time due to rattling change.; 3. Trailer towing is virtually nill. It is rated for 1000 pounds, but Ford tested it at well over 4000. What so low, Ford?; 4. Lastly, though not a big complaint, is that the A/C compressor only runs when the gas engine runs. If it's really hot out, then I can use recirc or Max A/C, but the latter forces the gas engine to run, and lowers the fuel economy somewhat. Otherwise, I'm please as can be with this trucklet and hope to see it through many years of service.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2007 Ford Escape.


Featured Services for this Ford Escape

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.