1997 Ford Escort

Change Vehicle
1997 Ford Escort
Available in 3 styles:  Escort 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$475–$4,727
Estimated MPG

28 city / 37.2 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

Few issues with 2L

by Mal from Montello Wisconsin | March 25, 2014

I bought mine used with 180k roughly.Ive had it for almost a year and put on nearly 10k. So far the only things i had to replace have been regular wear and tear. Mostly brake related. The manual addition of this car is one of the best i have ever owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


97 Ford Escort Wagon

by refugee13 from Racine WI | January 13, 2014

I bought this car (LX station wagon) in 2011...for $1800. Thought I got a good car until the valve dropped onto the piston (the first time)...cost 1500 to fix the first one...6 months later another valve dropped which cost me another 500 to get fixed...so I have basically bought the car twice...roomy, good gas mileage but I will never buy another Escort...found out after the fact that they are notorious for dropping valves...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


fuel economy and roomy

by stilson04 from Ypsilanti,Mi | March 1, 2013

small 2.0 engine which brings fuel efficiency yet cargo space of a station wagon. This is a nice family car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


lemon

by gearhead from Santa Maria Ca. | September 11, 2012

I bought this car three months ago for my daughter when she went away to college. (I am a mechanic) It had 100000 miles on it, looked immaculate. One month later the tranny went out. As she was far away, we had a trans shop replace it.($1600) She drove it home for Easter break and it promptly dropped a valve seat in no. 4 cylinder, destroying the engine. It is now torn down in my garage with the engine block at the machine shop for a re-bore. The parts alone for this latest go-round cost over $1000. (My labor is "free"). On line I have discovered that this engine is notorious for dropping valve seats. I guess that FORD really does stand for "fix or repair daily.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


'97 escort reaches perfection and is retired

by blue ridge naturalist from Ferrum, Virginia | February 1, 2012

'97 and later model escorts with the 2.0 L engine were the acme that earlier makes and models had achieved and been retired to the dustbin. The standard transmission gives better mileage 35-40 than the automatic 26-32. Other models of perfection, imo, included the '63 ford falcon and the '83 honda civic. I've had '83, '88, '93, and '95 escorts before these. The '80's models wouldn't go past 140k without head (gasket) failure. '90's models won't die.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


GOOD FOR PRICE

by KATEYGIRL7 from FITZWILLIAM ,NH | January 23, 2012

BUT NEEDED SOME WORK, KNOWN BEFORE PUCHASE. GOOD WINTER CAR,GOOD ON GAS.HAD SOME RUST ISSUES BUT WERE A CHEAP FIX TO PASS INSPECTION.NO PROBLEM WITH THIS SALE OR FACILITY.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love my 97' Escort Wagon

by Michigangal from NE Michigan | January 23, 2012

I purchased this vehicle used about 8 weeks ago with about 55K miles! There is absolutely no rust on the body which is saying a lot since it's been in Michigan it's entire life-time! I could not be happier with this car; low fuel cost, low insurance rates plus affordable maintenance and repair costs of this model! I will have this baby until its retired. Love it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cute!

by Cnfsd91 from Mokena, IL | August 23, 2011

I went from a jeep to an escort and at first I felt like I was driving a go cart but now I'm used to it and I LOVE it! The mpg is awesome and its pretty low maintenance. Definitely a great college car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Its like driving the Energizer Bunny

by Escort lover from Joplin, MO | July 30, 2011

I bought this car 9 years ago with 103,000 miles for $3000. It has 255,000+ miles on it and it still is running strong. I just now had to replace the clutch, but other than that, I have not had any real problems with the car. I still trust it more than cars with half the miles and it still gets 30+ miles per gallon in combined city/highway driving. You don't get better value than that!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Gas Saver

by car_fan7 from Chicago, IL | December 28, 2010

This is a good starter car, i learned how to drive with the Ford Escort. ~Good gas mileage ~Compact ( so it's easy to park) ~Very reliable ~Good acceleration ~Easy to handle ~Easy maintenance (parts are usually affordable) Just take good care of the car and it should be very good to you; I've put a very good amount of miles in the car and it shows no sign of breaking down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Escort

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.