2001 Ford Excursion

Change Vehicle

2001 Ford Excursion

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2001 Ford Excursion 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$2,641–$21,529

Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

13 years of marriage

by DaveF from Houston, TX | June 25, 2014

In 2001 I bought a new 2 wd drive excursion 7.3 lt diesel. I just sold it now in June of 2014. It was part of my family as I put 215k miles on it. The only major issue was a rebuild of the tranny at 117k miles. The mechanic stated they redesign the tranny for 2000-2003's. The fix was to rebuild back to the previous design. That said it was running just fine when I sold it. I got an average of 16.8 mpg around town and highway. Front brakes go after 75k miles. Be sure to put new rotors on and not turn them down especially if you live in the south. I have no doubt the new owner will get another 200k miles on the car. Never had any issues hauling anything. I will miss her.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


great suv

by son from a family from br,la | June 14, 2013

My family owned a chevy suburban for 7 years and then it tanked, and we totaled it. I have 7 siblings, so money was tight and we looked at used suvs. We bought a 2001 v10 excursion, and was a real beast. We used it for work and pleasure. It hauled way better than our suburban, and was way more comfortable, not to mention more spacious. We put 90,000 miles on that sucker and it purred till the end, when the engine block cracked. If ford came out with the excursion again, my family would definately be first in line.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best Vehicle EVER Made

by DelKalle from Minnesota | April 15, 2013

I LOVE my excursion. It was the best vehicle any auto company has ever made. It saddens me that the quit making them. If they came out with a new excursion now with the latest diesel engine I'd buy one in a heart beat. I intend to own an excursion for as long as I possibly can. I wouldn't trade it for the world!! There is NO comparison.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excursion 7.3 powerstroke

by Lordamercy from Trenton, Nj | September 2, 2012

Cant complain. Engine is a work horse. Workmanship of interior and accessories is typical of Ford, fair at best. Nothing spectacular. Squeaks, weird noises etc. gas mileage is great for the size of vehicle. Overall, I like it very much, just think with a bit more effort, it had the potential to be super terrific.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


It gets the camper up the mountain in style!

by tank from Atlanta, Ga | December 22, 2010

51,000 miles @ 9 years and in excellent condition made it an easy decision. Needed a workhorse to handle 8000# of bumper pull fun. Will enjoy camping for the next 15 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


just right

by xslave from athens,ga | October 19, 2010

Lots of room only problem I've had is the plugs ejecting out of the head happens twice. Over 200,000 miles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


lots of mechanical problems

by barney from ontario calif | September 6, 2010

We have had this for3 years. The plug blew out the battery has died twice & now the electrical system is shot Very poor quality

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


I Love My Truck

by Lady with a BIG Truck from Shenandoah Valley, Virginia | November 13, 2008

I have had my Excursion for almost two years now and I have NEVER had any problems. The 6.8L V-10 gas engine has more than enough power to tow our 27' camper. Some say that it is a "Gas Hog" but I average about 13 MPG (city) and about 17 MPG (highway). It is on a 3/4 ton truck frame, but it is classified as an SUV because of the interior. You're getting the power of a large truck with the comfort of a family SUV. The interior has more than enough room with two captain chairs in front and second and third row bench seats. The second row, 60/40 bench seats are removable or you can flip them forward and the third row bench seat is removable as well (or you can lay it flat) for those times when you just need more room! Overall, the Excursion is an excellent buy for the money.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I love it

by Excursion luver from rochester ny | February 24, 2008

As some one in the construction feild, I don't even feel my trailer behind it. I also don't belive the MPG I swear I got 14-15 MPG on a trip mto boston. I hope I have it forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Excursion

by Tow lady from Phoenix, AZ | July 8, 2007

This truck may suck gas, but when you have 'toys' to tow, traveling in this beast is unmatched. I can load up six large teenage boys for soccer, they all fit with there equipment bags and water stowed in the back. No cramped seating! When I get emission tests, I am amazed, a mere fraction of polution. So when you are driving your old gas efficient car that spews out toxins by the pound, note that this vehicle is seriously near emission free. i didn't buy it for looks. I bought it to tow with. My truck/excursion is the whopping V-10 4x4 that tows either a four horse slant trailer, a 28' travel trailer or a tralier full of quads. Can't be done better! And all five of us fit with my giant dogs in the cargo area. I have thought of getting something for better gas, but I will keep my excursion for the towing. Trouble free with exception of brakes. Have to replace frequently with in town driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Excursion

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.