2003 Ford Excursion

Change Vehicle

2003 Ford Excursion

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 22 styles:  2003 Ford Excursion 4x2 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$4,740–$22,392

Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

looks are deceiving

by real buyer from Los Angeles | October 11, 2013

The pictures of the car are photoshop. The car has body work to be done on the left side. There are several stains in the carpet. There is a lot of rust showing in the wheels/brake/rotors. Car needs new tires. The car needs a major tune up. Plus its $2000 over priced from the blue book value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Best truck/SUV you can (could) buy

by Real SUV Man from Alabama | October 27, 2012

I love this truck/SUV. The 6.0L diesel pulls like a champ, Runs great and can hold as much stuff/people as I can possibly fit in it! I love this vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excellent for the money

by J-Man from Ridgecrest, CA | August 18, 2012

Having had our fourth child and being avid outdoors people we need something large and 4x4. It was a toss up between the Suburban, the Yukon, or the Excursion. We opted for the Excursion given the options and engine verses the price. For around $10k we got a 2003 V-10 4x4 Eddie Bauer edition with high-end brakes, nice custom rims/tires, high quality off-road shocks and a good after-market tow hitch with just under 120k miles. The interior is in great condition and so far the only problem I have had was a loss of use of the overdrive button and console controls (speedometer, tach, etc) that was a freak result of some electrical issue. Other than that, this vehicle has proven capable of carrying the whole family on off-road trips, camping trips and 4,200 mile road trip loaded to the rim with bags, kids, etc. As far as gas mileage goes, well, it sucks but this is not an every day car so I think the pay off for being able to pack up the entire family and go somewhere is worth the cost in gas. By the way, I get 14-16 mpg on the highway at 70mph whether I am just out with the family or towing 8k lbs. I find that rather amazing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Tow Beast

by Trailer Hauler from Littlestown, PA | July 28, 2012

If you are looking for something to tow your camper and top pack the whole family in, this is it. Period. We got rid of a 2500 Suburban because it just plain struggled to tow our travel trailer across the mountains of PA, would run hot whenever we towed, and finally, destroyed its transmission on the PA turnpike. Just to clarify, the truck was in excellent condition and had no mechanical issues normally...per the Chevy dealer. The Excursion pulls a 7000lb trailer at 65 to 70 mpf through the mountains, no sweat. Mileage is horrendous (10.4 mpg last trip), but, man, does it pull. Only other downside of this truck is more a design issue than a problem. The 6.8 gas engine makes its power and torque in the upper RPM's...which means, on some of the longer, 7% grades, I had the engine running at 3500 to 3700 rpm's. I had been forwarned of this, and was told it would do that. No problem...just odd. I love this truck!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excursions X 3

by Excursion Lover from Ohio | December 19, 2011

My 2003 Exc Ltd, V-10 4x4 is my third one. I bought a 2001 Ltd, 7.3 TD new that I put 98,000 mi on before the block heater shorted out and burnt my truck and the front of my house. I then got a 2004 Ltd 6.0 TD in 2006 with 10,000 mi that now has 99,000 mi that I still have for personal and family use. I bought the 2003 Ltd V-10 for company use and to also lighten the personal use of my 2004. The 2003 had 199,600 mi on it when I bought it a couple of months back. It now has 206,000 mi and runs as fine as any vehicle I've ever owned. The big drawback is the milage as compared to the diesels. I can get 17.5 - 19 hwy, 12-14 combo and 9.5 - 10.5 pulling a 16'L x 8.5'W x 6.5'T trailer with the 6.0L TD. The V-10 gets 12-13, 9-10 & 7 - 8.5 respectively - very thirsty and that is with the help of a SuperChips Tuner. It's worse without it. But it does the job with comfort and power to spare. It is a shame that Ford cow-tailed to the enviromentalist and ceased production of this vehicle - there are people, families and companies that need this vehicle because sometimes a pickup just won't fit the bill.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


If you need a huge diesel SUV, there's one choice

by Teggsan from Austin, TX | November 21, 2010

I really like this truck. Sure, it drives like a barge (though various aftermarket suspension upgrades really help), is hard to park and is cartoonishly large, but there's nothing like a thousand mile road trip in a living room on wheels. If you're in the market for a used Excursion (and that's the only way you can get one since the last model year was 2005), look first for 2003 and up model years. Either the V10 or the two diesel options should be fine, but watch for problems with the early 6.0 diesel (late 2003/early 2004). DIESEL ENGINES ARE NOT CHEAP TO MAINTAIN OR REPAIR. Please be very, very clear on that before pulling the trigger on a diesel Excursion. If you can get past the cost of ownership, and can commit to the maintenance these monster engines require, you'll be pleased with the power and relative fuel economy of this powerplant. All in all, the Excursion is an answer to a question that no one's really asking any more, but I fully intend to drive the wheels off mine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


awesome

by monkey from californa | September 3, 2010

it is a good car worth your money and good for family nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I LOVE THIS VECHICLE

by NICKOS from CHICAGO | September 25, 2009

THE TITLE SAYS IT ALL !! THE SIZE & POWER THE ROOMINESS.IT IS A PLEASURE TO DRIVE, WITH ALL THE FEATURES

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Car Ever!

by love the excursion! from Penngrove, CA | September 6, 2009

I babysit my friends kids so its great to have a car where i can fit them all. I thought a lifted suburban was massive but the excursion overpasses it by far. It's always reliable. I love being the biggest on the road! It's a great car I mean truck! :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


King of the road

by Oshkoshgeneral from Knoxville Tennessee | August 12, 2008

If you want a heavy duty SUV then look no futher. The Excursion is one heavy-duty beast commonly refered to as the X Super-Duty. Mine is a V-10, 4x4 Black with tan interior and a head turner anywhere it goes. People can't help but notice this monsters size. One of the very few SUV that can work like a truck ride like a fine car and make you feel like KING OF THE ROAD. One must get used to driving this thing before heading into heavy city traffic. The brakeing is very good but due to the mass one must prepare to and be alert to stop compared to a brakeing in a mid-sized car. Accerlation is great. All creature comforts are included in the Limited and are virtually trouble and problem free. The biggest draw back that I have found is: TIRES ARE EXPENSIVE. No car tires for this baby, LIGHT TRUCK TIRES ONLY. 265X75-16R only. Oh yea they must be 10ply. Set you back about 700.00 but on the light side they should last about 60,000 miles. The V-10 is as smooth as silk just about viberation free and as quite as a mouse. One of the few engines that hardly ever developes any oil leaks. Talking about oil factory recommended oil for the V-10 is 5w-20. Overall matiance is no more than a regular car for the exception of tires. Brakes are about the same price of car brakes. An exceptional vehicle is you like a big SUV and 12-14 miles to the gallon. Average driving. Towing: If you can hook it up the Mighty X will pull it. When most cars pull up beside you, one can look out the window right stright down on top of the their car (might just suprise you how many people that don't wash the top of their car, UGH). This is the ultimate week-end cruiser for car shows and just plain outdoor fun. Take to the lake, drive it on road trips, go to grocery store or drive it to church, JUST GET THERE EARLY so you will have plenty of room to PARK.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Excursion

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.