2005 Ford Excursion

Change Vehicle
2005 Ford Excursion

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 22 styles:  2005 Ford Excursion 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$7,669–$29,349
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

just bought 2005 turbo diesel

by ry from tempe az | June 26, 2014

I see all these mixed reviews im very impressed so far w/ it my first diesel vehicle hope all good reviews are true any input appreciated

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love it

by White Lighnin ' from | May 1, 2014

I bought it new in 2000 and still have it now. I love this truck, it has been in 4 crashes demolishing the other cars, but only scratching the paint on it. I towed a 24ft boat, this truck will haul anything. It now has 220,000 miles and is still running strong. The only problem we had was the gas tank came loose while driving down the road, but all it took was a bolt that costed $20... This truck is awesome

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Vehicle if you want a truck but need a SUV

by Excursion Buyer from | November 12, 2013

There is no way around it the Excursion feels like a truck, drives like a truck, and is a truck with a SUV body attached. But if you need a vehicle that can haul everything and tow a house while providing the comforts provided by a SUV, the Excursion is the way to go. With the diesel engine you can have your cake and eat it too with 15-18 mpg or better, with a vehicle that has a 6.0l engine and weighs 9000lbs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Excellent Truck

by ExcurLvr2005 from Tucson, Az | June 4, 2013

Bought our Eddie Bauer diesel 4 years ago and still lovin' it. Did have some problems with the fuel system but nothing I couldn't fix. We call her "The Lady" and she's got excellent manners. We love the power, versatility, and yes even the mileage. She'll pull a house down.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


bad suv,bad!!!

by XR1990 from DALLAS TX | May 13, 2013

these trucks are not good and i do not understand all these good reviews and then i saw why. most of these people have only owened this suv for a mont or has only 70,000 miles or so. well any car can get that far even a kia. but when these go over about 120,000 everything goes bad. a/c starts to leak freon, costs at least 400 to repair, the steering becomes lose so its undrivable cost more thsn 1000, the seats and arm rest tore up, and the egr system goes out on the engine and thats more than 1500, and that causes cataletics to go out, then the turbo its endless. and your better off with the diesel than the gas engines they are worse and have no performance at all the intirior desing is as bad as the extirior it has been looking like that since the f250s from the 90s. the front end is what looks the best because thats prety much all that has changed since then the 90s. so try to stay away from these trucks if you want a big suv your better off with the suburban that is why they still make it, 75 years in the making. and excursion was so bad that they only made it like five years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Best vehicle ever!

by Diesel man from Pennsylvania Philly | December 15, 2012

Love this vehicle! Gets 20mpg highway all day long with the 6.0 power stroke. I do recommend the bullydog tuner to make it have more pickup.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Lie after lie

by Marc from Annapolis md | September 3, 2012

I drove all the way out and was told the car was sold. Called again and was told the vehicle was across the street. We drove back out to find a huge Piece of junk. I have never scene so much caked on mud and dirt on a vehicles undercarriage. The rust, leaks, etc. Stay away from the 2005 excursion. This truck is trouble. So are the salesman.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does not recommend this car


largest truck i have ever owned

by cookiemonster from raleigh , north carolina | April 2, 2012

I purchased this truck for the purpose of going on camping and tailgating trips. It is large enough to carry everything we need and more friends also. Have only owned it for about one month now and I can see this truck lasting for a very long time. It had only 70924 miles which is very low.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Love this SUV

by Excurion owner from Holley, NY | September 4, 2011

I love my Excursion, it is a 2005 limited. Had it since 2009. I owned one previously ( a 2002 excursion)concerned about gas prices I traded for a brand new traiblazer. Less than a year with the trailblazer I traded it in for a 2005 Excursion limited. I love it Can't believe Ford stopped making them. Have only put brakes on it. Don't know what I could ever replace it with..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Truck ever we are on our second.

by Exursion from Long Island New York | April 24, 2011

if the rating stars went uo higher then 5 i would put the highest. BEST truck ever, we had 2, first one we had was a new 2000 light blue one we used for pulling our 35ft travel trailer, it felt like we weren't even pulling anything. I have 4 kids and everyone had their own space, they loved it. The second we got was a 2005 Eddie Bauer, loved it. We bought it in 2008, along with a new travel trailer to go with it. Sadly on our vacation to florida with the excursion and trailer, we flipped rolling 5 times going 70mph. Everyone was safe and un-injured. Safest truck a person can buy for a family. Loved it, and miss it. we used it for everying.. camping, hiking, around town, everyday car. SO MUCH BETTER THEN A SUBURBAN.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Ford Excursion.


Featured Services for this Ford Excursion

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.