1998 Ford Expedition

Change Vehicle

1998 Ford Expedition

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  Expedition XLT shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,316–$7,124

Estimated MPG

14 city / 19 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

owned this vehicle for nearly 3 yrs

by boomerang50 from gibson,La. | March 30, 2014

Very dependable vehicle,had transmission rebuilt nearly 2 yrs ago w/2yr warranty,brand new tires,new pioneer stereo system,new windshield,cold A/C front and rear,leather seats,power everything,runs and drive's good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


192000 KM AND BETTER THEN NEW

by BC from Airdrie, AB | September 18, 2013

BEST VEHICLE I HAVE DRIVEN IN A VERY LONG TIME PURCHASED USED HAD A TUNEUP COMPLETED AND IT IS GOOD AS NEW. GAS MILEAGE FOR THE SIZE OF THE VEHICLE IS GOOD AND IT IS VERY COMFORTABLE ON THE LONG HIGHWAY DRIVES, YOU CANT GO WRONG.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


315,000 miles & counting!!

by family vehicle enthusiast from Valrico, FL | June 11, 2013

Our expedition is 14 years old, has had minimal service performed, has carried 6 kids, multiple dogs, and several trailers/campers, & is still kicking. My husband still commutes in it 80 miles round trip during the work week. It does show its age under the hood & in the interior. It is the most reliable vehicle we have owned in our 25 years of vehicle ownership. I'm currently shopping for another vehicle, but I'll be trading in my 2005 Chrysler T&C with leaks & electrical issues, not my reliable, hard-charging 1998 Ford Expedition.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Favorite Rig Ever

by Ford from Spokane, Wa | May 30, 2011

I have owned my '98 since new. It is the perfect size for my family of 4 for camping, towing, sports, hauling all sorts of events around. Very reliable, a good looker, safe and sturdy. Used to have a 4Runner, the Expedition is way more substantial in every way. It has also held its retail value much better. The paint still looks great, chrome still shines, runs great. We load it for Bear, add 4 kids, pull our camping trailer and head to the mountains for a week. It makes me feel safe and like I can get anywhere I want with the high ground clearance. The transmission could use a few more gears, which it got in 2002 and 2005.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Excellent

by Wiscdriver from NE Wisconsin | September 10, 2010

Super reliable, comfortable, and a solid value for the money. I have owned my Expedition for over 5 years, bought it with 90k on it used. I have 155k on it now, and the only thing I have had to do is replace the alternator at 135k. Not as quick to get up and go as the newer models now, but the older 5.4 engines were bulletproof. Tows like a 3/4 ton truck, rides like a car. Mine does not have the air suspension, but I have never missed it once. Exterior style holds it's own 12 years later, and paint and body are still in excellent condition. Interior is very high quality, no rattles or squeaks, only a little more wind noise now due to the door seals getting worn. Design of the door panel is the best Ford has ever made, the handle to close the door is perfectly placed and the armrest is perfect height. easy to see out of, easy to drive(really easy considering its size and weight). Wife and I have been looking for a newer vehicle lately, but our older Expedition has set the bar so high we are having trouble finding something we like.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most Faithful vehicle Ive Ever owned

by expomike from South Carolina | February 16, 2010

This SUV is the most reliable vehicle Ive ever had. I have a 98 expedition with 285,000 miles on it and still kickin and the only thing I had to replace is the alternator and heater core. That was 6 years ago. This is by far the best SUV that ford has ever made. I'm planning on reaching another 100,000 miles. Yes I would recommend this vehicle to a friend

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


very durable

by Bubba from Pennsylvania | July 28, 2009

other than a replaced transmission at 6000 miles this has been a very reliable SUV. all repairs have been within limits and predictable. it is a real all utility vehicle, it holds a lot of cargo, tows great and very good for long hauls.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Value For the Money

by Expedition from Bethesda, MD | January 8, 2008

This SUV offers the comfort and ease of handling as a sedan, while giving great space for persons or cargo. The mileage is excellent, considering the size of this large truck. The uses of this truck range from a serious driver who will be hauling 4000 pounds, to the mom who picks up 6 kids from the soccer game. The features of the car and the ease of use make this a great buy for anyone looking for this size truck. I would reccomend this vehicle to anyone, anytime.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


i luv this truck

by Fli boi from Trenton NJ | September 7, 2007

i would recomend a test drive before buying one because of the size of thr vehicle

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


We Own Two, Wouldn't Own Any Other SUV

by GO COLTS! from Indianapolis, In | March 5, 2007

* Overall Rating 5 Stars * Comfort 5 Stars * Performance 4 Stars * Handling 4 Stars * Exterior Styling 5 Stars * Interior Design 5 Stars * Features 5 Stars * Value for the Money 5 Stars * Reliability 5 Stars We own two 98 Expeditions. One has 133,000 miles which we just purchased and the other has just over 84,000. I can tell you this is the most comfortable SUV in it's class by far. For Example, we go camping every year and last year we took one of them with us as my brother took along his Honda Passport. He had to tow a storage trailer and he also had to fill up the entire cargo bay with the rear seats down to accommodate their belongings. We were able to accommodate five persons as well as all of the gear needed on the trip without the use of a trailer. I would recommend this vehicle to anyone who wants plenty of space and doesn't mind the gas mileage. Best SUV on the market by far.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Expedition

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.