2005 Ford Expedition

Change Vehicle
2005 Ford Expedition

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 13 styles:  2005 Ford Expedition 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,615–$13,795
Estimated MPG

14 city / 18–19 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Best SUV for the money!

by Dpruett from Queen creek, Az | September 5, 2013

My 2005 ford expedition is my absolute most favorite car. It's 4x4 leather etc...I bought this car recently as a used car but has been very well maintained. Only downside is gas but that's to be expected for a 4x4 SUV. I will probably buy another expedition when I'm done with this one Good vehicle!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great SUV and Great Service

by Shep from Springfield, VA | June 10, 2013

I love my Ford Expedition and really appreciated the great service I received at the Red Tag Center. The Owner of the center really worked with me and was professional every step of the way. I will be back for a future purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Worst Vehicle EVER

by Former Ford Owner from NorCAl | December 10, 2012

Had to replace engine at 60K miles and now Tranny at 82K... It is a horrible SUV and cant wait to get rid of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


LOVING IT

by LOVE IT from LAKE STEVENS,WA | November 27, 2012

LOVING IT, DRIVES JUST LIKE MY EXPLORER DID. UNFORTUNATELY I ROLLED THE EXPLORER, BUT CAME AWAY WITHOUT A SCRATCH AND CHOSE TO GO WITH THE EXPEDITION BECAUSE OF THE EXTRA SEATING AND THE SAME SAFETY AND RELIABILITY AS EXPLORER. WHY NOT STICK WITH WHAT I KNEW AND LOVED.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Low miles but a lot of issues.

by Ford Expedition 2005 from nashville, tn | May 7, 2012

We bought this vehicle once our son was born to have more room when traveling. The A/C went out with less than 60k on it, extended warranty would not cover the "part" that went bad. It wasn't on their list of covered parts. The engine shacks excessively, especially at idle and over 70mph. I have taken it to several places, including the Ford Dealer in my area. Everyone is saying that this is normal of this engine, it does not have a balancing shaft in the motor, whatever that means. overall the truck seems solid, just a lot of problems with only 60k on it. I wouldn't buy again if I had to do it over.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


tough truck

by shelbismom from columbia mo | February 27, 2012

2005 Ford Expedition runs like a champ. I have the Eddie Bauer edition, which gives you a few more options..smooth handling, great for towing medium sized boats, campers, trailers... Great gas mileage given the size of the engine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Eddie Bauer

by Carl T from Fargo, ND | January 23, 2012

I bought a used 2005 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer edition with 65k. It has been as good as expected. Plenty of power from the 5.4L. Lots of space, love the power fold up/down 3rd seat. 4WD/AWD is great. Gas mileage is decent. I didn't buy it for great gas mileage. So far my only complaint is that the front doors make some noise and I have a rattle in the headliner when cold. I guess those things are present in alot of vehicles. I just need to research them better. Overall a great car I hope to have for many years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


2005 Ford Expedition

by tlaw from York, PA | December 19, 2011

I recently purchased a 2005 Ford Expedition with 33k original miles on it. The exterior had a few minor flaws in the paint, nothing earth shattering. The interior was average; the leather seats could've stood a good cleaning and the power window switch panel on the driver door is loose but otherwise was decent. The 5.4 litre engine has more than enough power for any task you throw at it, but it is very thirsty...about 11 mpg in town and 17 on the highway. The power fold 3rd row seats are a nice touch. Overall well worth the $15k I paid for it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love...except....

by Andieintheak from Anchorage, AK | October 7, 2011

I love what i can do with this car. I haul around 7 kids and they are all happy and comfy. I am able to get them all in and out (i run daycare and so most of them are too young to get in and out on their own). However, within 5 days of buying this car, it stalled on me. Restarted right away. But then i kept having issues. Throttle control sensor warnings, check engine light, un-wanted throttle revs and at times the problem leads to almost no power to get up and go. I've had it in the shop twice and have it scheduled to go in again. Very unhappy with this problem and haven't been able to get a fix for it. at this point, i am having to look at a complete computer reprogram or a whole new throttle body...which warranty won't cover.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


perfect for golf shopping hauling

by mustangmonty from maricopa az | August 12, 2011

4th expedtion they are hard to beat for everyday use and the fold flat feature for the rear seats makes it a multiuse vehicle

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2005 Ford Expedition.


Featured Services for this Ford Expedition

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.