2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac

Change Vehicle
2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac
Available in 8 styles:  2003 Ford Explorer Sport Trac 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$4,103–$12,043
Estimated MPG

15–17 city / 20–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Good and Bad

by Roadster 1995 from Sherwood, AR | March 19, 2015

Bought this truck in the past year and she takes me anywhere, I use it as a daily driver and a racer, I have done many performance modifications to it, such as fuel injection ratio tuner, K&N cold air intake, champion spark plugs, tuned the camshaft a little, etc. and I did some cosmetic work on it as well such as painted rims, mesh grille, dipped my truck pearlescent, put neon lights in the cab hooked up to a toggle switch, put rain guards on the doors, new nerf bar, etc. it is all the kind of mean look you want it to be at night and a family vehicle during the day. Easily modify-able and tunable. But the problem I have run into twice is this truck is a maintenance queen, sure it's very reliable, but you have to tend to it constantly. It eats Control arms and ball joints and bearings like it's candy or birthday cake. I've changed out two control arms already and every bearing. And it's a pain in the butt and it does take all day, so I hope you have time on your hands. It's a very good truck, if you can keep up with the work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Keeps on truckin'

by Chris in Buffalo, NY from Buffalo NY | March 13, 2015

I bought mine used back on 2010, so it was already a 7 year old car... but that didnt stop it from being solid as a rock. Chevy should take note. I've owned it for 4 years, put 35k miles on it on top of the 80 it already had, and this thing has not had one major problem. So far I've had to replace a transmission line which was so cheap and took me 20 minutes, and the alternator which I got for around 130 reman'd and took me ten minutes to do. The design of the truck is simple and very efficient, perfect for the handyman/outdoorsman with friends and family to transport. The bed may be smaller than the avg pickup but there are enough tie points to secure just about anything. I dont advise it, but i drove with a 7'x7' hot tub resting on top of the rails and made a 10mile trip home just fine. The only complaints I have are minor- the trailer hitch could be better (which on the XLT Prem it is) and the wind noise could be better. If you want a truck but dont want to sacrifice space and save some cash, this is the vehicle for you. It's also quite stlyish and unique on the roads, and was the first of its kind before Nissan made its frontier similar and then Chevy produced the god-awful avalanche.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


The Little Truck that Does

by Experienced Tire Kicker from chicago | May 9, 2013

Great all around truck. Has all the room to haul the kids and bikes to the trails to ride. It is a little country and a little rock and roll. While clearly not as beefy as an F-150, but easier to park and better on gas. Plenty o power both in interior features and under the hood. Works in the city well as a daily driver, yet room for weekend activities.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


GReat truck

by Love it from orlando | August 28, 2012

This truck is comfortable for a family but still offers the truck bed for hauling. Very reliable with almost no problems at 150000 miles. Will probably buy another one

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Fun truck, handles well in all weather,

by 4 Wheeling and Then Some from Salt Lake City | October 15, 2007

Perfect for what I need. Bought mine used and it is still going strong. Cute body style and interior is comfortable...nothing crazy, simple.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


There when I need it

by jerry3103 from Burnaby, BC | July 9, 2007

On the positive, after owning it for 3 yrs I still get comments on it's looks. When people ride in it they are surprise at all the standard equipment and toys. It is the only Ford I have ever seen or heard of that had so much standard equipment. Too bad the company doesn't learn to do that with more vehicles. The box looks tiny, but with the gate down and the extender I can carry anything I like. Key word "I". On the complaint side, it is under powered at the bottom end, but it is a 4x4 with a 4 ltr. It is really tough to back up. One of the few vehicle I drive regularly that needs a back-up sensor.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Nissian- Sentra

by Owner / Driver from Dallas, Texas | December 4, 2006

I really like the overall design and funtionality of the the FORD Explorer SportTrac. It meets the need of the modern growing family with 4 doors and the week-end "do-it-your-selfer" that's has limited use for the compact bed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Explorer Sport Trac

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.