1998 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle
1998 Ford Explorer

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 13 styles:  Explorer 2dr Sport shown
Asking Price Range
$490–$6,290
Estimated MPG

15–17 city / 19–21 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

17 out of 20 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 20 reviews

My First Family Vehicle

by Yvonne from San Antonio, TX | March 6, 2014

I just bought one used just last month. It needed alot of cleaning and touch ups but its the best suv i have for the money. Sure its 16 years old today but like any used car that old it will need a few repairs here and there but that goes for any used car. Mine is vermillion red with beige interior and leather seats and I love it to death. Imcurrently 9 months pregnant and due March 18th, wealready have the carseat installed ready to go! I will ddefinitely keep thos car forever even if it means putting a new engine in it. My explorer has 216K plus miles on it and it still runs strong! excuse any typos lol.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Been Great!

by KaraLaurieMia from Rockford | March 5, 2014

I have put many miles and used it to haul band equipment. I love it...after ALL THESE YEARS the A/c works great. It did have transmission issues once...but since then it has been great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


most horrible cars ever

by car buyer from | March 9, 2013

most of the cars dont even work the others are beyond lemons its a wreck or just terrible lookin the service if any sucks its a junk yard

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Most reliable car I've owned in 20 years

by csphx2003 from Phoenix, AZ | July 6, 2012

This model has been the best car I have ever had. I leased several cars before I bought this and have never regretted it!! Still the best vehicle I have ever had!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


OH NO!

by Xmantis from Bronx, New York | July 16, 2011

This vehicle is the total oppostite of what is actually advertised. Don't waste your time unless your interested in buying lemons for lemonade.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great car, just take care of it

by Eric from Albuqueruque, NM | March 18, 2011

This car is amazing. It is very comfortable, aside from it does ride a bit rough. I have taken my explorer on some rough off roading trips and I was surprised how well it handled. 4WD is absolutely awesome on it. I had a grill guard on the front which made it look real mean. Just make sure you change the timing chains on it, I failed to do so in time and when one of them broke it killed the engine:(. Even though the expense of a new engine is a bit high, I am defiantly considering it because I love this car. It does tend to use a lot of gas, that is probably one of the few downers about it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car i've owned

by Explorer's are the best from | March 19, 2010

I've had mine for over 10 years and still haven't ran into any major problems with it and it has over 240k miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Horrendous build quality

by The Dude from New York | August 5, 2009

The Explorer is typical of Ford reliability and build quality of the 90's. The 4R70W transmission will develop a shift flare and the sub par gasket material will disintegrate. The oxygen sensors are likely to fail, along with the catalytic converter. The electrical component quality is horrendous. To date I have repaired the electrical locking system, the passenger side view mirror, removed the faulty radio/CD player and re-soldered the compass/thermometer read out. The springs that operate the door handles were poorly constructed and thus will fail, resulting in a non-operating door and the loss of an entire weekend day repairing it. The interior has the same feel as the Nintendo Entertainment System, gray, plastic and dull. However, the Nintendo will survive twenty years of abuse. The Explorer won't. The Explorer has never mechanically failed to the point of stranding me, and, if you're looking for a vehicle that performs extremely well in the snow, the Explorer is certainly an excellent choice. Simply mount snow tires and 40 percent inclines covered in snow are no problem. The only truly positive and redeeming feature is the bulletproof 5.0 engine, but with today's every rising fuel prices it's incredible inefficiency is more of a burden. Little wonder why the Explorers of the late 90's have topped the vehicles turned in for the Cash for Clunkers trade in program.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Nice Value

by stosh from AZ | July 26, 2009

Handling (torsion bar/front suspension) could be much better...and fuel economy? There is no economy about it; it guzzles! Otherwise, VERY NICE and VERY RELIABLE; has maintained it's value quite well and required little to no repair work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle!!

by Roadie from Windsor,Ct | February 19, 2009

I bought my Explorer with 105,000 miles.3 1/2 years later with 199,000 miles,I am not given this car up.Aside from recently replacing my alternator,I have not had any issues mechanically.I drive it 60 miles a day and granted gas mileage aint the best,I still love my truck.Explorers Rock!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 20 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Explorer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.