2008 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle

2008 Ford Explorer

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 16 styles:  2008 Ford Explorer 4dr 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$8,229–$18,669

Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 19–20 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Disapointed

by Showmeman from Missouri | January 1, 2014

The truck was a 2006 v8 Explorer. Maintained as manufacture suggested. I had it from 24k mile to 73k miles. I love Ford vehicles, but here's the problems I had out of normal wear. Break problem, speed sensor covered under warranty. Radio, no display, covered under warranty. Left rear window stopped, covered under warranty. Rear end seal, $200.00. Front and rear wheel bearing out at same time, $900.00, stay away from high water. Transmission computer out. $2700.00. I liked the truck when it worked but way to costly to drive, it's gone now,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


2008 Ford Explorer

by 2008 Ford Explorer from Independence, KY | August 16, 2013

Its an older vehicle but it does what we need it to do at a better price than any other vehicle its size. 7 passenger, with cargo space and all 5 back seats fold down flat. Gas mileage is not this best for this year but I am guessing that's why the price of the truck is soo affordable. Love this truck!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great vehicle

by SUV FAN from Fishers, In | July 27, 2013

Not a lot of space with 7 passengers but always have the luggage rack. Great vehicle overall. More comfortable for 6

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Transmission Problems

by Dick from La Crosse WI | November 26, 2012

Bought vehicle with 30k miles, has 107k now. Used as commuter for work and trips around the state. Began having transmission problems- rough shift, high rpm, skipping 2nd gear. Took it to the local Ford Dealer who said it was the seals on the front hub and transfer case. He told me the fluid was almost empty because it had been leaking so long, which is a testament to the Ford completely encapsulated transmission- no way to check without bringing it in for service. Have also heard that there is a sender unit which can cause transmission problems, including vehicle shutting off- which has happened several times stopped at lights on idle. Overall just too expensive to maintain.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Explorer #7

by Car Girl from Orlando fl | September 2, 2012

That's right, 7 Explorers. Since my 1991 Sport to my 2008 Eddie Bauer there is no better ride or value. In spite of being a full size vehicle, I still get 20 mpg. Plenty of room to carry everything including 4 dogs and equipment to dog shows. Reliability is amazing. In 7 Explorers I have never been stranded due to mechanical failure. They are comfortable and I can't say enough good things about them. Do yourself a favor and just go test drive one. You'll be taking it home.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Explorer 4X4 2008

by Explorer 4X4 from Saudi Arabia | March 26, 2012

Good value for the money and performance in comparison with other options in the market. Nice design. Less isolation of air ans sound than average. It ia suitable for work and family in the same time. Recommended specially for practical persons.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


the best car i've ever owned.

by mrbaseball from Lansdale, Pa | December 21, 2011

I orginally leased the car, but liked it so much a purchased it when the lease ended. It is very comfortable to drive and manuvers every aspect well.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


98 cadillac deville

by carman from Wood Dale | December 17, 2011

I pretty much know how the 2000 ford/mercury suvs run as I have a 2002 mountaineer. overall for 10 years I have only had to fix the A/C and do brakes and tire more than most typical cars, so yeah...not too bad for 10 years. gas is not the greates but I will scarafice it for the comfort and 4x4 since we do live in crummy winter times, especially since my wife will be driving this on bad roads over a half hour each way near Wisconsin. Overall though, good service and respectable salesmen there.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Absolutely no regrets

by Family Man from Florence, AL | November 6, 2011

Our 2008 Ford Explorer is absolutely amazing. The comfort and performance of this vehicle exceeded all my expectations. The only down side is the fuel mileage, but it makes up for that with its dependability,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Ford

by Dick from Houston,TX | February 20, 2011

The Explorer is just another fine Ford product. I won't buy anything else. I was looking for a 2005 because the shift is on the column. Mainly for more room. The center console is amaller. I found an '08 with 4x4 and a sunroof. Outstanding!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Explorer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.