2010 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle
2010 Ford Explorer
Available in 8 styles:  2010 Ford Explorer 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$11,122–$24,030
Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.1 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Do Not Buy

by fordowner from Joliet, IL | April 27, 2014

I have owned 3 Ford Explorers. Bought a 2004 new, traded for a 2007 low miles, and traded for a 2010 low miles. The 2007 had radiator problems from the start, and transmission problems later on. So, thinking Ford had improved their model, I bought the 2010. It is the worst of them all. Immediate radiator problems, a cabin odor that won't go away and nobody can fix. It whines when accelerating, and Ford used cheaper metals and glass in the newer models. It's so bad I have to get rid of it. Be warned, don't buy Ford. From a long time owner of Fords, had a Thunderbird in the 90's, but never again. Shame on Ford!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Buying Experience

by Mustang from Flatwoods, KY | January 10, 2013

I was able to locate the vehicles within a 100 mile radius from home that I would consider. After contacting a couple of sellers by email, I settled on a 2010 Explorer -one owner with low mileage and the color I liked and the dealer was located about 60 miles from my home. The salesman was very helpful and not pushy at all. Met him on the following Saturday and test drove the vehicle and subsequently purchased it. Had it not been for the internet, I would have never driven to this dealership just to look on their lot without the pictures and options detailed on their Cars.com listing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


practical SUV

by purplegram from Ogden, IA | April 11, 2012

Also drive a Suburban and find the Explorer to be a nice alternative vehice. Very comfortable, seats fold down very easily and give a nice cargo area. Big enough for a large dog crate. Find some of the controls such as the turn signal/wiper combo to be awkward. Wish the setting buttons for the cruise and audio system were larger and better located. Also have hit the 4x4 button while adjusting the AC. Good size to drive in town, but has also been very dependable in snow. Good power, but not the best mileage in the market. Good visibilty, seating is good for children.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2010 Explorer

by Great traveling SUV from Tuscaloosa, AL | February 13, 2012

We had a 2007 Explorer and liked it so much that when we got the 2010 Explorer, we go the exact same one. Ours is a 4X4 Eddie Bauer edition. Looks great and is super comfortable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very Happy

by Mommy from Southern California | February 1, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a car to fit my 2 kids and grandparents and didn't want a minivan. We're very happy with this Explorer. It doesn't have the bells and whistles like the newer version, but it gets us where we want to go, feel very solid when driving, has power to accelerate when I need it and fits everyone just fine. Not a luxurious car, but I love the sportiness of it. When buying a used car, check the alignment of the doors and the body. I learned that after I purchased it - no accidents reported, but the back door wasn't flush like the other side was - it was obviously repaired. Still very happy with the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


VERY STYLISH

by AL from MARYLAAND | July 29, 2011

IT HANDLES LIKE A CHARM HAS GOOD EXCELERATION I LIKE THE WAY IT HANDLES I GET GREAT COMPLIMENTS GOOD

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Its old but still a good truck!

by average joe from Richford NY | April 12, 2011

I have a 2002 explorer. Awsome truck!! I'v towed a 28' camper with it,and many other things. It has been a great family trip vehical too, many trips south. lots of room..vary comfy..great on gas for a suv.. i cant wait to buy a new one!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Most uncomfortable

by Average Joe from Phoenix, AZ | March 8, 2011

I love the Ford explorer except for the headrests. They are tilted way forward and force me to continually bend my neck forward. If I lean the seat back then I have no backrest. I saw afterwards that the internet has many reviewers with the same concern and so far Ford has been of no help.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Gas guzzler!

by Sorry buyer from PA | February 15, 2011

This is a nice car except that it guzzles gas as soon as you sit in it! I've had RV's with better mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


GREAT!!!

by Toy from Chralotte, NC | January 20, 2011

I had a wonderful experience at Keith Hawthorne Ford... EVERYONE was wonderful, it was easy and fast. I had VERY challanging credit and managed to get a interest rate that was less than 4% (i did have a great co-signer). Even with my co-signer, other dealerships were asking 20%!!!! interest.... I got a brand new Mustang with Leather and ALL... Now my fiancee and I are looking to trade our 2nd car and beging our future with the FORD family..

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Explorer

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.