2012 Ford Flex

Change Vehicle
2012 Ford Flex

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 9 styles:  2012 Ford Flex 4dr FWD shown
Asking Price Range
$17,278–$33,766
Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 22–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Best vehicle we've ever owned

by Tiffany from | April 28, 2014

Excellent vehicle,best we've ever owned. Not to mention Joshua Hartman at Saginaw Valley Ford is a top notch salesman.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


A Unique Ride

by Handy Dandy from Gastonia, NC | January 7, 2014

Bought my 2012 Flex Limited new 2 years and 35k miles ago. Like it better today than I did the day I bought it. Test drove several times prior to purchase as I had been in a Tahoe for 10 years. Didn't need the size of the Tahoe or Expedition any longer so the Flex was the best way for me to go to stay in a SUV. Great Fuel mileage and performance with the regular V6. Great handling, ride, styling, and a unique looking vehicle. Drive it everyday and even my wife likes it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Standard Engine Is Fast

by MarkFlex from Florida | June 2, 2013

My main point was not to repeat what many love about this. I simply wanted to let the lookers know what others are not writing. The standard Non Boost engine is Very Very fast. Is the boost faster? you bet...like ...at a race, one is always faster than the other, but don't forget they are all fast, don't get caught in the spin.So what, this is a family vehicle not a Race car.Test drive one at a Dealer (just put up with the Old school sales people...will they ever learn we hate that heavy hand approach) If you buy one, Buy it used and save a ton with barely broke in miles on an engine that will see over 200K easy. I want to mostly state that reviews generally speak of the Boost Engine and not the 3.5 v 6 . The 3.5 v6 is stated to have 285 Horse power, The 3.5 V6 Boost is at 355 Horse power. I wish to give some perspective before some may be influenced .. A 1965 V8 Mustang had 277 Horse Power. That is FAST. My Flex has the standard V6 277HP ...It is FAST and quick. I traded my 2008 Ford Edge for the 2011 used Flex and LOOOVE it. I can not believe I did not buy one sooner. I paid 22K and the sticker new was 37K. This is the way to go. I was sold on Ford because of the EDGE, solid and dependable. Is Ford Customer Service good? LOL I have no idea because I have never had a problem.. Enough of the Edge. The 2011 Flex Limited is as roomy as my Chevy Suburban in a slightly lower ceiling way.. The ride is quieter than my Edge was or my Avalon. It seems people have problems when it has Boost...just a thought to ad. I look at this Flex in the Driveway and see what used to look like a bland vehicle...Because I drove one and looked at what is has I know this is a HUGE hidden Gem. Words can not describe what illusion I had too what I now know. Best vehicle I have ever had. Over Avalon (not the 2013) Bmw Mercedes Suburban Edge Mustang Alpha Romeo Pacifica (Junk) I finally found a vehicle that equals the value I paid. ...and a word about the MyFord system. The Navigation thing is Awesome. Yep...many trash it. Use common sense ok? Most vehicles have nothing...bingo. So why a tizzy about not like this or that because of endless pickyness of an on board computer that talks to you Tree through the forest...simple...advanced hands off ...and people complain. ..Strange.... think about it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love The Concept But The Implimentation IsHorrible

by biggie from Tennessee | April 22, 2013

7500 miles - first noticed the car feeling like it had a miss at normal highway speed. This continued so I brought it to Miracle Ford, Gallatin TN, Service Manager said "what do you expect, it is a turbo" and would not even check it out. Next, took it to Bankston Ford (AutoNation) Frisco,TX and described the driveability problem, they rebuilt the transmission. Improved for a couple of days, then same as before. Called FORD and they asked me to take it to Crown Ford, Nashville, TN and they said "no code no problem". Tried to ignore it for months and finally took a 700 mile trip with everyone in the car complaining. Called FORD again. This time they said to carry it to TWO RIVERS Ford Mt. Juliet TN and they said "no code no problem". Complained online and a Ford CSR contacted me and facilitated a meeting again at TWO RIVERS Ford Mt. Juliet, TN. She also asked me if anyone had ever ridden with me in the car -NO! She made the technician at TWO RIVERS Ford ride with me and he said he "felt something but it was not serious", end of topic! No one ever called me to followup or to see if the problem was fixed. NO CODE - NO PROBLEM! UPDATE .. 2011 Ford Flex Ecoboost now at 27,000 miles - problem started at 7,500 miles The process of problem resolution is broken. The customer is NOT RIGHT within FORD service. Anyone reading my previous posts will know that Crystal elevated my complaint and I was contacted by a regional customer service employee. Good start, but the process is so faulted that here I stand, broken car in hand, and no one at FORD cares enough to follow up with me or ask if they fixed the problem. I gave the car to my local Ford Dealer with the CS person facilitating the meeting. The outcome is "no problem found", with the technician stating that he 'noticed something, but it was not serious'. He says that it is 'not serious' because it does not generate a 'code'. When did we get to the point that a computer code overrides a customer complaint? The problem is serious enough to generate comments from everyone that has ridden in the car for the past eighteen months to ask "is this car missing?" and for my 88 year old mother to ask "what is wrong with this car?" Ford says nothing is wrong with this car, you just expect too much since your last car was an Acura. The fuel economy of my car is still down, but I have found a way to lessen the effects of the problem - NEVER ALLOW THE CAR TO SHIFT ITSELF. I have been driving the car with the paddle shifters for about a month now and have eliminated the shutter and bumpity bump that existed for nearly two years. I NEVER go to 6th gear under 60 mph, which means that it is rarely ever in 6th gear due to the terrain and traffic of the local area. Now for anyone that might think that I do not know what I am experiencing, then let me give you some background. 1.)My first new Ford was purchased in 1967. I am a Ford guy! 2.)I know turbos. My first was from Ford's SVO group in 1985 and I have had many from various car companies since then. This is not a turbo problem. 3.)I am an engineer and extremely particular, but I am not dreaming this problem up. Everyone notices the problem and everyone that rides in the car complains about it. 4.)I went through 4 dealer service groups in two states, over a period of 18 months, before anyone from any service department rode with me so that I could demonstrate the problem. This finally happened when I complained to the Ford CS person that no one had asked to ride with the complainant, and yet this is a basic tenant of problem resolution! The only conclusion that can be drawn from my experience is that Ford is not listening to its service customers today. One other time, in my 45 year car experience with Ford, that I had a problem that was not getting resolved at the dealer, that Ford jumped in and solved the problem without hesitation. Ford obviously has isolated itself from the repair process and believes that its Dealer service technicians will resolve everything. I have begged two Service Managers to bring in Ford technical people and they both recoiled to such a degree that I am led to believe that strong disincentives are in place to keep Ford isolated. Probably a lawyer thing due to fear of recalls. . Buyer beware! Ford is not serious about their service problems. . . THIS COULD BE YOU, AFTER YOU SPENT YOUR SAVINGS ON A $52,000 FORD FLEX. IF ANYONE REALLY CARED THEN I WOULD NOT BE WRITING THIS COMPLAINT, 18 MONTHS IS TOO LONG

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Love My Flex!

by UGA_fan_1998 from Rome, GA | February 18, 2013

Love my new Ford Flex :) It is comfortable, drives so smoothly, looks great, is safe, and I can load up my family with ease. TONS OF ROOM!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Most comfortable Car

by Seven from Odessa, TX | October 30, 2012

I've owned my Flex for only 1 month, and have driven trucks both mid-sized and large, and the Ford Flex is more comfortable. I love that it has the room of a large SUV. The seat is wide and long. It doesn't cut you off at the knee. And I love that it is lower to the ground which makes it a lot easier to get in and out of. Additionally, the leg room between the front seat and back seat is incredible. My 6'3" son can ride in the back comfortably and there is plenty of head room also. These are the features that convinced me to purchase the Flex. The only thing that I really do not like, is the headrests in the 3rd row seating. They fold down which is wonderful because they stick up like huge rabbit ears and are an obstruction when looking back. My granddaughter likes to ride in the very back, so if the headrest is folded down it is very uncomfortable on her back. And they can't be removed, at least I haven't figured out how to remove them if they can be. Overall though, I love my Flex. It's sleek, and stylish. Rides very smooth and quiet. The Sync features are the best!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love my Flex

by football guy from Minnesota | October 13, 2012

I needed a car with a lot of room. I got all the room I needed and more, quite,comfortable, responsive and very good fuel economy for the size. On a recent trip of 1,400 mlies we averaged 24 mpg we have a Limited AWD with 3.5l v-6 . my grandchildren love the tvs.I realy love the power fold rear seats they work flawlessly The power lift rear door also works great. I have had a lot of new vehicles before but this car has it all. Thanks Ford for making such wonderful vehicles !! Have had zero problems 14,900 miles on it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


luv my 2012 flex

by val from wichita,ks | May 17, 2012

just bought my flex and i really luv it very roomy for family. Big fan wished i could afford the titanium but my sel will do.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Can't Say Enough Good Things About The Flex

by Mike from From Emporia, Kansas | March 27, 2012

We traded our 2006 Mercedes R350 for the 2012 Flex Limited. Now I'm kicking myself for not having done it sooner!!! The ride, comfort, fuel economy, passenger room and technology beat the Benz hands down. We absolutely love the MY SYNC. We have paired all four smartphones in our house to the car and we can now listen to our favorite music on demand. Hands free calling is also a plus! The SYNC is so easy too! I must say that I don't particularly like the styling, I don't dislike it, but my wife loves it. A happy wife, a happy life. That's me!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great Design, Good Perfomance.

by Flexable from BC, Canada | October 26, 2011

This vehicle is smooth to drive and has smooth looks. Some minor problems, but nothing out of the ordinary. A little bit harder to drive in the city than other vehicles but its well worth it. Its very comfertable on the highway. (great for families) Pros: A very smooth drive. Very comfertable. Great Design. (interio and exteior) Good for familes. Not expensive for what your getting (a good deal) Great for road trips. Great Safty ratigs. Cons: Not the best cargo space in its class. A little bit harder to drve in the city. Not the best miles per gallon (but still pretty good) Seccond row of seats folds down, instead of rolls forward. One thing to remember is to check the vehicle every once in a wile. (check fluids more often)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2012 Ford Flex.


Featured Services for this Ford Flex

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.