2004 Ford Freestar

Change Vehicle

2004 Ford Freestar

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  2004 Ford Freestar 4dr Wagon shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,892–$8,940

Estimated MPG

16–17 city / 23 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 22 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 22 reviews

Canadian Ford Freestar(2004)

by Plasterer54 from anada dollars for it.It's an SE to boot. | August 11, 2013

We have 4.2 Ford Freestar,here in Cananda.While you Americans to the south of us,have the smaller engine version.When we got it from my wife's parents,it had hardly been driven.Due to my father-in-law having C.O.P.D.(WHICYH HE SUCCUMBED TO JULY 14,2012).W e bought the vehicle this past April(end of).We sold our Ford Aerostar(97) which had 498,786kms. for 350.00 Canadian dollars to the wreckers.this is a lincoln by comparison.beautiful ride and only 118,000kms.(67,000miles).At 122,676kms. had to install new Altenator but according to my mother-in-law that would have been it's second.Wew only paid 2,900 Canadian dollars for it(including applic.taxes,plate and vehicle certification).Great Deal!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Robbed by Rust Recall

by Disappointed in Derby City from Louisville KY | July 18, 2013

NO SATISFACTION!! I have my 2004 Freestar in now for the recall. The left side 3rd row inner quarter panel/wheel well structure had totally rusted through 2 years ago, allowing the catch and it's mounting plate to fall out of the van onto the left rear wheel .Ford would do nothing for me at that time. The rust hole is now bigger than the patch panel that Ford supplied for the fix! I have been told they will not do anything about this and I am on my own to pay a body shop to fabricate a patch job or replace that inner panel. Ford is really letting me down on this one....Exterior side panels also showing rust now, van only has 104,xxx miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Total Rust

by not happy from wisconsin | April 5, 2013

bought a 2004 new Freestar had it rust proof and now we only have 90.000 mile always kept the oil changed onj time. Had no issues until 2011 had a rust issue on the side door, had to contact the Amour rust company and they had it fix the first time the secound time on the same door in 2012 the rust came back in the same spot and we had it fixed. Now we put another $2,500 in breaks and tires and the air condition went out this was between Dec 2012 to March 2013 .Then we pulled the back seat out and could not put it back in, the latch was rusted out, Oh good there is a recall and guess what the whole panel is rusted out the outside looks good. But the the frame is rusted and the springs are about to let go. Ford will not own up to there end and it needs to be total. My husband and I had just moved and are unemployed hoping to keep the van for two more years until we can afford a new car, Well now we are in need of a car and can not afford it Thank You Ford.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


NOT one of Ford's bright spots

by Foxfire from Reading ,Pa | February 7, 2013

Owned this van from day one. Typical Ford product - everything works great until the warranty expires. This van is allergic to rain. Feels like it needs a tune up and that is after I had it tuned up ! I was always a Ford guy but I must say going forward the only Ford I will buy is the F-150 pick up truck. If you want a van go with Honda or Toyota.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


worst is yet to come! Recall!!!

by SC Soccer Mom from Columbia, SC | October 5, 2012

I can honestly say that I hate this car. I have owned y 2004 since 2006, and I wish I had never, ever, ever, EVER bought it. We have replaced the alternator 6 times now. The transmission has repeatedly had to have work. There is also a recall on the transmission that came out earlier this year - but guess what - the parts STILL aren't available to fix it. We have been told by 3 different Ford dealers in 2 different cities that unless it just quits running altogether, they can only fix it when the part comes in. You want to know the scariest thing about the recall - it is out there because the car will suddenly just lose power. WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING IT. Yeah... that is just soooooo safe. Needless to say, my 4 children no longer go anywhere in this disaster of a vehicle. We are trading it in tomorrow on a newer used car of a completely different make and model. I will never own another Ford product as long as I live. Bottom line - It is NOT SAFE. Do not purchase. It could KILL YOU.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Best car EVER.....

by EMTGirl2013 from | September 13, 2012

My husband was involved in an MVA, where our freestar was T-boned by and overloaded semi truck going 35 miles an hour through a stop sign. Our mini van held up its end and my husband walked out with some cut and a minor injury to his lower back from wearing his sea belt and being jerked around... I would own another one in a heart beat if I could find one being sold in my area.... As far as cmfort it was ok... Our seats wear pretty broken in when we got our van and so they weren't to comfortable. It was very reliable and good for moving and actually did better then expected on long trips as far as gas milage is concerned... Like I said, I would own another one...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Van

by Freestar Lover from Louisiana | November 16, 2011

I have my 2004 Ford Freestar for 3 years now and have put about 60,000 miles on it. It has 132000 miles and counting ! I have not had any problems except normal maintenane . The ride is great and it is very peppy ! Gas mileage only fault about 21 hwy 16 city.It is comfortable and stylish and I would recommend to anyone, as for the people who criticise this van the only thing I can say is probaly poor maintenance. I love mine and the safety ratings are tops !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bad Tranny at 62,000 Miles

by Disappointed in Fords from Midwest | August 17, 2011

This van was purchased with about 22,000 miles on it in 2007. It looked and ran great until recently. Now at 62,000 mi. it needs a rebuilt or new transmission. It was reliable until this point. This was our fourth Ford van- 1990 Aerostar, ended up with 167,000 miles- abandoned due to old age (the vehicle, not me!!!), 1998 Windstar ended with about 140,000 mi (bad tranny at this mileage/ junked), 2000 Windstar with 110,000 mi (recalled) but had engine problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Good Van for the Family

by Bhawks from Lombard,IL | November 2, 2010

This minivan was a replacement to a 1996 Windstar and has not disappointed. We got the Limited edition and the family loves all the bells and whistles. I like the heated seats the best. It rides better then the Windstar and has better gas mileage. The fold down rear seat is a must and when it is positioned in the tailgate mode is fun at the drive-in.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Incredibly Reliable

by Loved our Minivan from Cleveland, OH | September 26, 2010

Have put over 90k miles on this minivan and outside of normal maintenance, have had no major issues. Replaced brakes at 65K other than that, it has performed very well. Bought the SEL with the 4.2 liter and the gas mileage is not too great but we wanted something that would get up and go and the 4.2 does just that. Would definently recommend

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 22 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Freestar

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.