2014 Ford Fusion Energi

Change Vehicle
2014 Ford Fusion Energi
Available in 2 styles:  2014 Ford Fusion Energi 4dr FWD Sedan shown
Starting MSRP
$34,700–$36,500
Estimated MPG

40 city / 36 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

a year driving the ford fusion energi plug in...

by keith fusion guy from Seattle WA | November 5, 2014

My 2013 Ford Fusion Titanium Energi plug in car is VERY quiet 90 percent of the time. The remaining 10 percent its just quiet. :) The active noise cancelation works well. It has the power I need and looks beautiful. It loves to turn. The transition from ev to hybrid and back is very smooth. I commute 5 to 15 miles each way. Weekends I drive around town for pennies per mile.. Most of the time I drive in Auto EV (electric vehicle) mode. Great range for long distance trips in hybrid mode. I like this car very much. I charge the battery at home in my garage every night. On weekends I charge it twice a day using the 110 volt charger that came with the car. Charging the car daily costs an extra $20 a month on my electricity bill (here in Washington State at 10 cents per kw). I average around 80 miles per gallon in the summer, 70 miles per gallon in the winter. This car has no serpentine belts. The engine oil life lasts up to two years. This car requires very little maintenance. Of the 10000 miles driven, only 2000 miles has been with the gas engine running. Regen brakes work fine for me. No problems at all after 10000 miles. This car has a lot of technology. Optionally it automatically uploads my trip log to myfordmobile.com after every trip and provides reports of my driving (miles driven per day, per week, per month, percent EV, brake/driving score, etc.). I can turn it off when I want. No rattles or noises after 10000 miles. I don't mind the small trunk that much. It holds enough groceries bags or two pieces of carry on luggage while my dog sits in the back seat. The reported gas mileage rating for this car is confusing. Dealers will show 39 mpg but that is only if you never plug it in. If you plug it in at night you can get 60 mpg You can see my fuel up log on fuelly.com.. car name: Efficient Fusion. It doesn't include electricity. So far this year I have spent $240 on electricity ($20 times 12) and around $300 on gasoline. If you only have one car and you carry lots of cargo all the time, the regular Fusion car with the bigger trunk might be a better choice.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Ford Fusion Energi

by Happy Ford Customer from SFO | October 7, 2014

This car has met all expectations. I have driven almost 1K miles now and may have bought gas once. The charge gets a little over 20 miles and handles most of the around town trips and gives a nice start to my daily commute. The car has plenty of power and is comfortable. I am also happy with the styling. In California I also get the advantage of using HOV lanes and paying half tolls on the bridges. So far so good.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


128 miles per gallon

by Voltman from Cleveland, Oh | July 17, 2014

The Fusion Energi is a state-of-the-art marvel. Mine has adaptive cruise control and lane holding feature. If the car in front of you slows down or stops, you slow down and stop. If the car senses you are edging toward the lane line, it gently pulls you back to the center of the lane. 128 mpg on the way to work, and 44 miles per gallon returning. All I need is a charge station at work, and I will only have to buy gas once every three months!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Exceeds my Expectations

by Bob from San Diego, CA | June 27, 2014

Purchased 4weeks ago still have a quarter tank of gas and have driven 1089 miles and average 117mpg. For 5days I use no gas for my work commute and use only 2.5 gal on weekends which will go down when I get a 240 volt charger. I will save more than $200+ a month in gas. This car exceeded my expectarions.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


1380 miles to a tank of fuel - NICE !

by EV Tim from Hawaii | June 12, 2014

I travel approximately 22 miles one way to my place of work. This car can make it to work, on a downhill gradual slope, from my home with around 23 miles left in my battery power. Of course this is flat surface with the current gross weight of the car. On the way home, climbing the same climb of 700 feet, I make it to around 6 miles from the house then the gas/battery hybrid systems takes over. Today, I looked at my receipts for gas. I last filled my car with fuel 34 days ago. Awesome! Great technology in a package that allows me to avoid paying high gas prices once a week in my area. I previously was had a truck spending 80 dollars a week. I have spent less than 200 bucks since February on has - it is June.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Have 2 year lease that can't end soon enough.

by Andy from Northern California | May 17, 2014

Trunk and passenger space is crowded, to say the least. There is no spare. I had a blowout on a remote highway, had to get a tow and wait 3 days for them to order a tire. The key is horrible. About half the time I get the message, "cannot detect key" and you have to insert the key in a slot in the consul. Charging, in California at least, is more expensive than gas. The car advertises 21 miles on a charge but if you run air, heat or anything else it goes down, we average 17 miles. The first week of charging puts your tiered California rate per KWh around 40 cents. I quit charging mine altogether after the first month. I'm glad I leased this dog for only 2 years, the lease period can't end soon enough.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Best vehicle I have ever driven!

by Jen2001grad from San Diego, CA | March 31, 2014

The. 2014 Ford Fusion Energi is not only an extreme fuel sipper, I went from $250-$300 a month in gas in a 20MPG average Ford Edge to $20-$40 a month in gas. I have the same commute 35 miles a day, I do not charge at work (I wish I could) and I am really learning how to maximize the fuel savings in the vehicle. The vehicle rides softly and quietly, and it can switch from electric to gas smoothly, I almost never even know it has unless I look at the huge screen that shows me what mode the vehicle is in. This is an amazing vehicle and tons of fun to drive! It even has three clips for the cars seats in the back. The seats in my Titanium version are so comfortable! I love the Sync, navigation And Sony sound system! The $1500 state credit was fantastic too on top of all federal government cash!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


ford

by dale from Seattle | November 20, 2013

car is so new it is early to say how good it will be, however early indications are VERY positive. Never thought I would own a Ford

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2014 Ford Fusion Energi.


Featured Services for this Ford Fusion Energi

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.