1996 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle

1996 Ford Mustang

Available in 6 styles:  Mustang GT 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$3,075–$8,325

Est. MPG

17–20 city / 24–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Most reliable and fun car I've had.

by Joey from Orlando, FL | January 9, 2014

The Mustang starts every time on the first try...the engine is easy to work on and plenty of room for replacement parts and aftermarket parts. Love the low rumble of the engine and exhaust. Very fun in the spring and summer time to let the top down and enjoy the weather. The top comes down with an automatic switch for all you have to do is undo 2 latches above the windshield. Great car...would definitely get another one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Every day, I look forward to driving this car agai

by slowafoot from | January 2, 2012

Sleek looks, massive power, great handling and a roof that opens in good weather. What more could you want?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


SVT Cobra Power

by Tony Montana from Boston,MA | August 17, 2011

The vehicle is awesome. It's 15 years old and it looks like it came off the showroom floor when I bought it. The SVT Cobra was designed to be a great cruiser and a power house and it does not disappoint!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Fun Car for little money

by Skiman from New York | May 13, 2011

Bought this car used as I always wanted a convertible. The overall performance for a V6 is not bad but the millage( Aprox 21 to 23mpg)more than makes up for it as the above numbers are all city stop and go driving. Car seems to handel and acellerates and stops just fine.The car is comfortable but could use more cup holders. The wind noise seems ok as everyone told me they were noisy I would have to disagree as I can here the radio fine without having to crank it way up the automatic tranny seems a bit sloppy on the upshifts, a shift kit or a tunner chip will solve that.The car is box stock except for a Cold Air Intake and a strut tower brace and I love it and would recomend this car to anybody looking for a fun ride I wouldn,t want to drive it in the snow or put more then 2 adults in it as the back seat is small.but other then that I give it 2 thumbs up. FUN FUN FUN top down crusin!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


not bad

by big shot from desloge,Mo | February 15, 2011

i think it looks nice but ur price is a little high and i cant tell wat it has on the engine but it looks pretty clean. i have a 95 purple realy pretty and im selling it for 3000 and mine looks a lot better it also has a 5 speed 5.0 h-pipe so i would chang price and i would like to now wats under the hood

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


3rd one was the best

by Belle from Garrison, KY | June 16, 2010

My husband & I met driving Black '86 GT's. I owned a '92 - loved it and currently own a '96 red convertible GT/126,000 miles on it. No big maintenance problems as of yet and it gets driven. They are a wonderful car and if you do not own one in your lifetime you are cheating yourself. This car will hang a curve and weave in and out of traffic for sooooooooooooooo much fun. Love, love, love it!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


nothing but tail lights

by Tango 96 from Elkhart, Indiana | February 10, 2010

Second Mustang I've owned...by far the most fun. The first was a Mach One. It was quick, but a little squirrely. This car is a "sleeper"...with a Cobra upgrade, it makes a believer out of the competition...you're seeing nothing but tail lights. Purchased used @69k, now has 115k...some minor issues that one expects with age..had a problem with the manifold leaking @80k, replaced the tie rods, etc @90k. Will replace the convertible top in 2010. Total stangers love this car...purple pearl paint that morphs to hot pink, with black leather interior..not for everyone. Would strongly advise anyone who has a chance to buy a '96 GT that has been well maintained (that's the key)...just do it! You won't regret it! Oh, yes...also, if you live in a wintery area, a "beater" for the winter is a must. You'll want to garage this car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


1996 Mustang Convertible

by Honest Review from NY NAssau | January 28, 2010

Purchased a V6 Convertible look I'm over 45 so I don't need the V8 speed & my kid uses the car. What eles can be said it looks good it's an American Icon it is very reliable good on gas & you can drop the top. Update the (SHOES)or I should say rims stock ones are ugly & you got one great ride for the summer ( keep the old rims for winter )

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Black Betty

by Evan from JEnsen Beach, FL | April 20, 2009

I love this car!!! I have a 96 GT blacked out with the 4.6 V8 and the %-speed. These cars are sick!!!! I recomend for everyone, but never buy one automatic or with a V-6. there's no point for it. If u want a slow or comfortable car, you shouldn't really be looking at these cars. If you want to be able to smoke rubber at any light over and over again, this is the car for you!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Have Had Two of Them

by Car Nut from Dallas | April 20, 2009

Very Fun and Fast. I have had two and my first one had some problems but its hit or miss with these machines.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 1996 Ford Mustang.


Featured Services for this Ford Mustang

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.