1997 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle

1997 Ford Mustang

Available in 6 styles:  Mustang GT 2dr Coupe shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$3,175–$8,850

Est. MPG

17–20 city / 25.9–30.1 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

12 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

1997 Ford Mustang GT Coupe

by Auto Show And Track Car Review from Ontario Canada | July 8, 2013

The 1997 Ford Mustang coupe has many things that keep us coming back to Ford in the Pony car wars. This is one of our favourite Mustang styles due to its bold wishes to change the game up completely. It has a healthy number of old as well as new styling features. Our favourites include the 3 bulb vertical tail lights, and functional hood vents. However not everything is a hit on this car. The 215hp 2V 4.6L V8 may sound incredible all the way up to its 6000rpm redline, but a 6.2sec 0-60 time was a bit disappointing. Also, any heavy engine modifications are expensive. Around the bends however, the car is a different story. with 290 lb-ft of torque, and incredibly sticky 245/45ZR17 tires equipped, the Mustang GT used amazing grip to throw it around the corners at top speed with minimal body roll. With those great torque numbers you also get great punch coming out of the corners. When the back end inevitably steps out, the slides are some of the easiest to control, 5/5 cornering performance. Brakes have a nice feel but initial bite is a bit low, fading was never an issue. Our 1997 Mustang GT has been slightly upgraded and puts down 303hp at the crank. This is the power the GT deserved. But whether it's bone stock, or a straight line speed freak, the 1997 Mustang GT is an amazing car we would recommend to anyone. You will not be disappointed!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


best bang for the buck

by driver from Jacksonvill FL. | June 5, 2013

I had a 1997 mustang gt 5 speed manual , premium ...... That model had leather , lights on the internal mirrors 460 mach sterio system. these thing alone made the car worhty on the inside . That was All stock ....it came that away ..... The power under the hood was decent ... I know 215 hp isn't that much ...but the car was light , and cut good in the wind . The handling was great . Don't judge any car by its hp until you drive it ...... I did with this car and now after owning it for 6 yrs , I would recommend it to any one who likes sports cars . The car was fun , and best bang for the buck .... Just understand ....any car you drive hard ......( DRIVING FAST ALOT, BRAKING HARD ALOT , RACING AROUND CORNERS ALOT , EVEN PLAYING FROM LIGHT TO LIGHT ) lol will break down after awhile .... That's any car . I love my 1997 mustang gt .... and if you like sports cars ...you 'll love this one .

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Great value

by Geek4Life from San Francisco, CA | April 18, 2013

I've owned German sports cars multiple times the cost, and they are not nearly multiple times the value. Mustang GT looks fantastic, esp convertible with top down, has plenty of power, sounds fantastic and really grips the road with its fat wheels. As a US made car, it's incredibly inexpensive to maintain. Get the premium sound system with speakers even in the window corners; it rocks!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Greatperformancevalue

by Cobrafan from Seattle area | April 8, 2013

Great performance value. I'm 6', and driver's seat track (elec) doesn't' go back far enough for ideal driving position. This cobra convertible is a "sunshine car" only, with a lot of bang for the buck: fully optioned, rare, and performance and handling exemplary a 16 year old car. A little thirsty for 92 octane, but I didn't buy it to baby it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


MOST AMAZING CAR EVER

by ejacky from North Carolina | November 17, 2012

I've had my 1997 manual v6 3.8 liter mustang since 2006. While it has had it wear and tear over the years its currently going on over 220000 miles and is still holding up amazingly! She still drives just as well as whenever I bought her at 130000 miles. Regular maintenance is key.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Makes you sink into your seat!

by Johnny G from Santa Fe,TX | September 1, 2011

I owned a 97 V-6 Standard Mustang, So much torque that the wheels will squeal even shifting out of 2nd Gear! It could of easily pushed 150 but the governor stops it at 120. Shifting out of 4th @ 112MPH with a whole gear to go! I challenged nearly everyone on the road and won. I would totally recommend this to anyone (who can pay the insurance haha!)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


fast n fun 2 drive !

by zx14man from philadelphia pa | March 28, 2010

i bought this svt cobra mustang in late 96 brand new but it is a 97 car ! put it away in the garage and drive it 800 miles a year the car currently has 12,000 miles on it ! did some bolt on things to it and take it to local car shows in my area. great collector car since they only made 845 in this ocean pacfic green with the tan int. good luck with your search e-mail if your interested in mine ! thanx john

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


good reliable car

by 97 v6 from tulare ca | March 11, 2010

ive had this car for about a year it has over 150000 miles on it and ive never had a problem with it it gets good gas mileage to

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


97 Ford Mustang GT

by RayRay from Oklahoma City, OK | April 13, 2009

I bought my 97 Mustang GT in 2003 used. The GT had 64,800 miles on it when I bought it, now with 179,650 miles added, it is still running strong. The gas milage is not bad either, if you are not putting the padle to the metal. I would recommend the 97 Ford Mustang to anyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best Bang for the buck when buying a V8 Convertibl

by Supra Turbo Owner that took a chance on a Mustang! from Los Angeles, California | February 26, 2008

I shopped around for a V8 Convertible and yes, bang for the buck compared to Camaro Z28, the 97 Mustang GT Convertible is the way to go! The styling on this car has a new and old aged retro look! This type of body will be a collectors car because of its own originality of using old and new age looks combined together for the Mustang! Great buy and lovin; the pedal happy torque/power! I highly recommend it to anyone!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Mustang

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.