1998.5 Ford Mustang

Change Vehicle
1998.5 Ford Mustang
Available in 6 styles:  Mustang 2dr Coupe Base shown
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

17–20 city / 25–29 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

18 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Best first car EVER

by J dog from Franklin, IN | September 25, 2014

I just got a 98 v6 coupe for my first car, and aside from a few scratches and dings, this car is amazing! It has 200,000 miles and still goes strong! I plan on having this car for a long time and I can't wait to drive it some more!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I love this car

by Crispys dad from Louisville, KY | August 26, 2013

I bought this yellow GT coupe new in Oct 1997. It has been the best car I have ever owned. It hit 100,000 miles a few years ago and I had all belts, hoses, gaskets, fluids, plugs and plug wires replaced with factory original. I would drive this car anywhere. It now has 112,000 miles and never a problem.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1998 Cobra Mustang

by Shea69 from | April 16, 2012

The car goes great and I think I bought the car at a descent price. The dealer ship I dealt with was fair and honest. Would do business with them again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best of the Bunch

by svt49007 from North Wales, PA | October 11, 2011

I bought this 13 year old car with 31,700 original miles. All systems work perfectly and it has performed beautifully.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Absolutely the best car ever

by Crispysdad from Louisville, KY | September 28, 2011

I bought my yellow 1998 GT coupe in Oct 1997. I drove it 6 years, then my son drove it 3 years to high school, 4 years to college, and 2 years to grad school. When he was ready for a new car, he had it detailed and brought it back to me. It still looks and drives like new. The paint shines the same as it did on the show room floor. No major repairs. Only a tune up, new belts and hoses. Still gets 22-23 mpg on the highway. 102,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


the best

by mustang freak from Grand Prairie, Tx | December 13, 2010

i bought my 98 mustang v6 with 165,00 miles on it and now have over 232,000 miles and still going. i had to repair the clutch on it at 200,000 miles other than that no major repairs to the engine. no smoke or leaks. the only thing is the cruise control on these model mustangs had a factory recall which the speed control cable got in the way of the throttle assembly and made the throttle stick wide open which can cause an accident. very nice car to have.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best car I have seen

by Mustang Man from Houston,TX | November 30, 2010

I love the way this car looks, I used to have a 98 that isn't as good ooking as this baby. I love this car it is so good looking GOD!!! I want that car so bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


235,XXX and still going strong

by Burrito2158 from St. Louis, Mo | February 16, 2010

I was given this car from a family member and has been the best car owned so far. 235,xxx miles and still no repairs even has the factory clutch in it. i will run this car till the wheels fall off before i get rid of it. Not much for power out of the v6 but the mpg make it great and fun to drive daily. ive taken this car on three cross country trips and had no issues.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great First Car

by Zach Attack from Comoma, MI | March 10, 2008

I love this car, it handles so good. I just wish had 175 to 180 horses that be better than 150. But i guess you could just put an cold air intake in it. Besides not much power but this car is awesome.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


"Makes driving enjoyable"

by exhaust lover from St. Cloud, Fl | January 12, 2008

My 98 GT gets an average of 22 mpg's with the automatic. The od turn off button on the stick was a cool design for hauling nuts when you feel like it. Overall the car performs great in comparision to the gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Mustang

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.