1995 Ford Probe

Change Vehicle

1995 Ford Probe

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Probe 2dr Hatchback shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,714–$3,658

Estimated MPG

21–26 city / 26–33 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

15 years later and still running strong

by 95ProbeGTGuy from San Diego | December 6, 2010

I only have 108k miles on the car, don't give it very much TLC, but it runs great still! The paint started showing it's age a couple years ago, but it cleans up nicely once washed. It does not compare to the technology of today, but it's a strong solid car. I have never once had an issue that costs more than $500 to fix. No major tranny or engine issues. The biggest repair I've had was to replace the axles. Mostly my fault because the CV boots ruptured and who knows how long I drove it with improperly greased axles. The biggest issue I have is road noise and squeaky suspension. It's not the most quiet car, but you get used to it after a while. The interior isn't bad. The bucket seats are cozy. It would make a great car for any first time driver or someone looking for a little extra bang for their buck in a used car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Fun to drive NOT to fix

by weary repairman from Greenville, SC | July 19, 2010

I bought my probe "well used" and i was ready for some repairs(as a matter of course i do a full tune up whenever i buy a used car), but i was not prepared for the amount of repairs that this car needed! The fact that virtually any repair part for this vehicle will cost you well over 100 dollars, coupled with the fact that it needs ALOT of repairs and its exceptionally tough to get at most things(i had to remove the air intake to change my fuel filter) this car just is not worth "investing" in. I will say this though when it runs, IT RUNS! This car was a blast to drive it had a lot more power than i expected and it handles beautifully. The gas mileage was about what you'd expect from this type of car, but to keep that mileage you have to keep it in perfect condition which (as i mentioned before) will cost you. My probe was the GT model and i think it was about fully loaded even so it seemed rather uncomfortable and not very drink friendly. So my advice would be if you can pick one up cheap go ahead and get it but start saving up for something more reliable, and the second it breaks down RUN!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


fun and sleek sports car.. but not very reliable

by 1995 ford probe gt from duluth, mn | June 20, 2010

Good this car looks sick, its fun to drive, it takes turns like a corevette, and it gets alot of looks. the interior isnt to much but the seats are great. this car runs 1/4miles about the same time as mustangs so its quick. Bad this car isnt reliable. you will have to work on this car quite a bit. and the parts are expensive to repair. fun, fast car, good for a student

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


95 probe gt was my first car, great car

by car enthusiast from alpha, nj | November 15, 2009

great car, easy to mod, and fun to drive. i love my car and had alot of good times with it. nothing negative to say.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


fun car

by lurker from Los Angeles | August 5, 2009

i bought my probe gt with about 130000 miles, stickshift with all the features i have to say its very reliable the previous owner took good care of it, it looks still like new, and the 2.5 v6 is very powerfull for its age, ac is working very good , the brakes are solid, the gearbox is perfect, its not very confy, but its a sports coupe. its fun to drive and the quality is good ,after all its a mazda. the only thing i dont like about this car is thicking noises from the hydros. i am to lazy to fix them couse they have no influence on the performance of the car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Good Little Car

by Don from Clarksville, TN | July 23, 2008

The only gripe I have, and this is related to having the 2.0L is the way the AC saps power. Other than that, I can'y complain, especially with getting 27mpg around town in these days of almost $4.00 a gallon gasoline.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Funest car to drive

by Torreto from Texas, TX | November 14, 2007

this year model is a very reliable car and has a lot of power with nice looks if u ask me i say get one. i recromend it for a first car owner.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


OMG

by Just a guy who bought a ford probe from Los Angeles, LA | February 6, 2007

O....M....G.... This vehicle is just about the worst vehicle you can buy. I've ran into so many freaking problems with this car. Yeah...I thought the car looked fine...kind of like a more bland rx-7...BUT never ever ever EVER get this car...the guy who said its good for your first car...NO!!!! steering, performance, comfort, reliability...they are all bad... so...if you are thinking of buying this vehicle, please save yourself the money and buy a bicycle instead...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


not to realiable

by Caique from worcester, MA | August 12, 2006

this is not a bad vehicle, for the price you can find him today, thats the only reason i would reconmeded to a friend or for someone that is bying a car for the first time. BUt if this car cost more money i would not reconmended because almost all of them has alot miles on and it breaks easy. Thats why it is only good for a first xar byer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Probe

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.