1996 Ford Ranger

Change Vehicle
1996 Ford Ranger

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 19 styles:  Ranger Regular Cab shown
Asking Price Range
$1,066–$6,122
Estimated MPG

18–20 city / 24–25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

small truck

by first truck from richland, wa | June 19, 2014

Got a good price on this but learned a bit more after i bought it had 166K miles. Heat works and AC works but due to a common problem in these trucks the blend door is messed up and you cannot change the temperature. AC works only on max every other setting is max heat including the vent. Seems it was manufactured with a plastic rod and attaching bolt that after a while breaks partially or completely. Mine is partial so i am lucky to still have both heat and air. But if they made it with a metal bolt and nut this would never happen. When i researched this online i found many many examples of other people with the same issue. Only wish i had done some more research before or had checked out the heater and ac more closely before i purchased it so i could have asked the dealer to fix it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Cant kill this War Horse.....

by Serenity "FireFly Class" from Vero Beach, Florida | February 23, 2014

So I bought an old 96 ford Ranger 5 speed Manual, Standard Cab "work" truck from my old boss for 300 bucks. Back in 2006, Already had 356,xxx miles on it,...but I figured for 300 bucks...still a good deal. Its now 2014 It has 847,254 miles on it, still runs like a champ. Outside of batteries and tires, the only thing I've done to it is change the oil and a couple headlights now again. Utterly amazed it has lasted this long.....

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


1996 ranger

by nebraska guy from Omaha, ne | October 20, 2013

I bought my 1996 in Feb 2005. I've driven it from Arkansas to South Dakota pulling trailers and hauling cargo. I have replaced the clutch and starter. The 4.0L V6 is a workhorse engine. I have 177K on the truck. It has been absolutely great!! Gas mileage is 19-23 city and 22-26 on the road. (This was supposed to be my son's truck but I stole it from him.) The tire size is a little odd and I have had to search for the right size. I am selling mine since I bought a 2011 Ranger which I expect to keep until 2020. Ford is dumb to get out of the small truck market.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Great Truck! Would purchase another!

by Work Truck from Raleigh N.C | September 19, 2013

I own a 1996 Ford Ranger 2.3 liter 5 speed step-side pick up with regular cab. This truck is unstoppable! I bought it used with 230,000 miles on it and it ran great. It only needed a wiper motor. I drove it everyday as a work truck equipped with ladder racks. This truck continued on up to 530,000 miles with out any major problems. I replaced common wear and tear items like alternators and radiator, brakes, belts and hoses. I did all the work myself without a problem. At 200k it needed a clutch and then another clutch at 510k. I also did the mass air flow meter. That was the only time that the truck actually broke down. I just disconnected the sensor and it continued driving. It never left me stranded until the last time the clutch went out. The radiator actually blew a hole in itself one day and overheated. I had a cooler full of water in the back. I filled it up twice after it cooled and drove it to auto zone where I installed the new radiator in only 20 minutes. The alternator goes out and warns you as its dying. Both times I was able to get it home before it quit. This has been the best truck ever! The only problems I have with it are that it doesn't handle well with the step-side bed in wet conditions and its a little weak on power. Also the tire size is odd and hard to find. I would surely recommend this truck. However is is not well suited for a new driver as its incredibly light in the rear and fishtails easily.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


1996 ford ranger 5 speed 4x4

by brownc796 from barron,WI | May 31, 2013

ive slept in this truck it was actually very nice, this truck runs very nice, i dont reget getting it. very nice vehicle

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1996 Ford Ranger 2.3L 5 spd

by TK from Ft Lauderdale,FL | May 1, 2013

Over 300,000 miles on mine- only thing done- 1 battery. PERIOD. This thing runs and looks Great after all this time- Body style still modern- people really don't know what year it is- many think mine is a late 2000s model. LOVE MY RANGER

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best truck made

by rastamike from PARIS | March 19, 2012

very long runing truck..every thing still works even the ac. and carry big loads. just keep piling it on it will haul it.. NEVER BUY A CHEVY

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


cant get me stuck

by brock from champaign, il | February 21, 2009

i have the 4x4 xlt package and absolutly love it. im not the type that goes mudding to try to get stuck but if i were this would be the truck. regardless, i have towed many people from ditches and this truck is the perfect winter vehicle, outperforms any vehicle ive ever driven. also a very reliable truck, bought with 102,xxx and i now have ove 140k miles with nothing more than oil changes, gas, and a whole lot of toys ive added. the styling may not be wonderful or modern, but you cannot pass up a ford 4.0 they're indestrucable.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


1996 Ford Ranger

by Anonymous from Kentucky | February 4, 2008

I have had this vehicle for a year and a half. It has 170,000 miles on it and never had any problems. It doesn't have that many extra features but for the price you pay that shouldn't be expected. The gas mileage is excellent usually ranging 21-25 mpg highway. I would recommend this vehicle to first time drivers and for a good work truck that is easy on the gas mileage.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


amazing vehicle

by that guy from Akron, OH | January 25, 2007

this is a great truck to drive and has a comfortable ride to boot. I would definately recommend this car to everyone.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Ranger

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.