We've given this page a whole new look

View the new design

1998 Ford Ranger

Change Vehicle
1998 Ford Ranger
Available in 16 styles:  Ranger Super Cab Splash shown
Asking Price Range
$1,375–$8,271
Estimated MPG

17–22 city / 22–27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

11 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Solid little pickup,,check rust on frame 1st

by Ed D from Eastern mountians of Pa | October 10, 2015

I recently bought a Step side 98 ranger 4.0.only 80k original miles. I been searching on line for sometime to find a clean 5 speed to tow behind my motorhome. They ask top dollar for these trucks beyond what book value is even older with high mileage 150k or more and that alone says something for them . I was able to find a diamond in the rough from a private seller and she bought it from someone 2 years prior who for 14 years took great care of it, it had to have been garaged. The biggest thing you need to look for is rust on the frame. The body will not show rust out. They will rust through cross members and rear part of frame by spare tire and even rust off. Lucky for me the original owner had this area welded and the frame treated to minimize rusting which saved it to last 17 years. It had typical surface rust but it was solid throughout. I just brushed off rust then retreated the entire frame to insure it will endure and will continue to treat it. Being garage kept and not used as work truck probably saved it and is how it will continued to be cared for with me.The body and interior were amazingly clean and scratch free, still looks new. I compounded paint to bring it back 100% Being 17years old and runs fine says they do hold up. Like I said, I spent weeks and weeks on line looking for one and drove 4 hours to see it and buy it. This private owner sold it as what book value was for it. I did breaks all around and fixed minor issues last owner did not see. I did well and if you shop and be patient they are out there. I had Fords my whole life and was never let down so far and I am 60 All that said only issue I can see is rust on chassis if it has not been treated or maintained. This seemed to be issue with these truck through 2003

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Work truck

by Work truck from Frederick Md | May 7, 2013

Drive like a truck a little rough and has very little traction. I had to put a new motor in it after 95,000 miles But it works well know. Mine is the v6 model.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Mr Trusty

by That Guy from Tampa, FL | April 1, 2013

I bought my '98 Ranger 2.5 4 cylinder with 25k in 2001. Now it has 149k and I have had to do very little to keep this tough little guy going. The power has steadily declined but still very reliable. The engine is still strong and consumes very little oil. There have been various electrical issues but none that affected essential operations. Overall, very reliable and cheap transportation.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Darn Good Economical Truck

by Just a Machine from Fort Worth | February 10, 2013

Put 90K miles on it as a second owner. Would not sell it now, except had 3rd child and Jump seats just are no longer convenient to 5 foot tall plus children. Did Maintenance, and replaced a water pump and radiator in all that time, and water pump may have been my bad due to insufficient changes of antifreeze/flushing of system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


good truck

by deere from rossville, GA | November 6, 2011

runs good but could be better i love the 4x4 great off rode the 4.0 ant so good on gas but a fun truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car


Love it despite its faults

by godzilla from Wisconsin | April 9, 2011

Probably doesn't run the best because it's been to you know where and back twice. This thing has hauled it all from trees to a full bedload of gravel. Gas mileage is lucky to sniff 16 mpg (mostly because we really overworked the engine). It's a tough little sucker though and I'll drive it til she dies. One warning, the RWD package offers the worst snow driving experience imaginable. Worse than any compact sedan unless you get some really good (expensive) tires.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


This is great

by Doctor Love!! from | April 7, 2010

This a great truck for people that want something they can haul something in and still get great gas millage!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best compact truck of that year

by Julian from Florida | September 30, 2009

220K miles and still running strong. Looks good, drives excellent and no complaints at all. I love it!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


Too many problems to love it...

by ranger from pa | January 18, 2009

I bought my 98 Ranger with about 120,000 miles. It now has around 135,000 miles. It has a 4.0L V6 and a 5-speed manual transmission, as well as 4-wheel drive. It has most power options (power windows, doorlocks, mirrors, remote keyless entry, alarm). Pros: Great looking exterior, this vehicle was never garage kept and the paint looks almost new, save a few scratches and dings here and there, no signs of rust on the body. Amazing handling for a pickup, even with the factory offroad package it handles as good as or better than a car. Power is good on flat surfaces, accelerates quickly. Comfortable seats. Shifts smoothly. Strong brakes, even going down mountains. Amazing heater and A/C, heater gets hot crazy fast, and A/C is cold. Cons: No power on hills, constantly downshifting. Non-inspiring fuel economy. I average 17 - 19 mpg, highway driving I get about 21. Difficult to access rear seat area without optional 4-door setup. Electrical problems: power window switches were replaced twice, dashlights are always going out and coming back on, passenger pdl only works occassionally. ABS signal is lost in right front wheel often, causing ABS light to come on, does not affect braking at all. Interior has recently developed rattles that were not there when I purchased the truck (especially drivers door, interior panels on the doors are a little flimsy) Various mechanical issues (spark plug coil, plugs, wires, alternator twice, crank shaft sensor, antifreeze leak) all of which happened within 10,000 miles and ended up costing a lot of money, some of the problems (such as the alternator and the crank sensor) meant that the truck wouldn't start. Will sometimes refuse to shift into 4x4, I have to shift back and forth from neutral to first or reverse a a bunch of times before it will engage. Overall, I could have really loved this truck if it wouldn't have so many little problems that never seem to end. Now that everything seems to be mechanically OK, it's very fun to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Beyond what I had expected

by ABOX5 from Chattanooga, TN | March 24, 2008

My Ranger now has 189,000 miles. It has the optional 4.0L V6 with the 5sp automatic transmission. It starts imediately and runs perfectly. After all the miles the interior and exterior still look new and the truck has no rattles. The engine is almost too powerful for a small truck but moves it without effort. There is a price to be paid though for this power as I only get 19 MPG. Other than mediocre gas mileage, I can't think of one thing to say bad about this truck. I am planning on driving it for another 100,000 miles. Maybe it will start rattling then.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Ranger

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.