2001 Ford Ranger

Change Vehicle
2001 Ford Ranger
Available in 20 styles:  2001 Ford Ranger 2dr 4x2 Regular Cab Styleside 6' box 111.6" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$2,275–$9,971
Estimated MPG

15–22 city / 19–26 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

14 out of 16 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 16 reviews

Can't beat this small-sized truck

by Johnny Doe from Garner, NC | March 12, 2014

Bought my 2001 ranger in 2010 at 74k miles. It now has just under 109k. The only problems besides regular maintenance, was a dry U-joint, caused by a lot of off-roading. I have driven this truck to every state on the east coast from Florida to New York. Averaging 20MPG on those long trips, and usually the bed is loaded down. Plenty of power for a small sized truck, with a very sporty style on any package of the truck. This truck really is for anyone, whether you want to do some off-roading, commute to work, use it as a work truck or even long trips. It is well worth the money to own one of these!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great truck for durability

by Bags from Knoxville, TN. | November 21, 2013

Most used trucks; esp. those in good condition, don't stay at the dealer lot for long. I felt lucky to find my Ford Ranger, and now really enjoy owning it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Great truck

by everyday joe from Minnesota | April 9, 2013

I bought my truck new in summer of 2001. It has been very reliable, and has done everything I have asked. Lots of power, both for passing and towing. Has gotten a little rust on tailgate, otherwise the body is fine. I have thought about buying a new truck, but don't want to part with the ranger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


best small truck ever!

by raptor from West Bend WI | February 27, 2012

I recently bought a used ford ranger edge with 111k miles on it. I got the biggest engine that is offered in the ranger in the form of a 4.0L SOHC V-6. I needed a truck that is reliable, has decent power, and gets decent fuel economy, and the ranger does all of that! Ive had it for about 2 months now and the only things wrong with it is a tear in the seat and a bad door switch which will cause the dome light to be on all the time. It does 0 to 60 in around 8 seconds with an automatic transmission and does around 23 mpg as an average. The ride is nice but a bit more body roll then i would like. The electronic 4wd is nice as you dont have to get out and lock your hubs to use it. Iam not a fan of ABS but with the ranger they dont cut in too quickly and let you roll through a stop sign. Ground clearance might be an issue for some heavy off roading. If you do the occasional fishing or hunting trip or tow or haul once in a while the ranger will be fine for you, but if you want to haul a car trailer to the race track every weekend i would look into something bigger.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)
Does recommend this car


Ive loved it

by Widriver from waukesha | February 15, 2012

off roading has lead to more repairs than i would like. love the passing power. Tons of fun to drive, handles well, i can haul anything i can fit. The styling is fantastic, its an 01 and i've had multiple people ask me if it was new since i purchased it in 08. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Disappointed

by ben from | February 4, 2012

I have the 01 extended cab with the 3.0 v6. For starters, the engine puts out little power and the truck gets bad fuel milage (about 15-16 mpg overall).And if you purchase a 2wd model like I did, I hope you don't live somewhere where it snows in the winter. Bought it at 90,000 miles. About 10,000 miles later, I started having transmission issues. After that was fixed, about 5000 miles later I had to replace the entire front end. Ball joints, tie rods, you name it, I've replaced it. Once I fixed that, I blew a heater hose and while fixing that, discovered that the water pump was going. Replace about everything with the cooling system besides the radiator. Not too long after that, the alternator fried while driving home. Not fun to drive 3 miles home with a cooked alternator...... The ride is uncomfortable, don't take it on long trips, you'll end up needing a back operation. Although the interior is outdated, it's easy to use. The engine is also decently easy to maintain, you'll just be under the hood a lot. If there is one good thing about this truck, I feel safe in it; if someone hits me, I know it will hurt them a lot more than it hurts me. This truck is solid metal. Overall, the truck falls apart to easily and the engine is weak. Sorry Ford, I'm disappointed.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


best truck ever

by fordguy4life from paradise california | September 28, 2011

i bought this truck in 2008 with 81k miles on it from my grandparents. it now has 133k on it an still going strong. so far only things ive had todo to it other than regular mant is put in a fuel pump (due to getting some bad gas) I havent found anything it wont tow. in short these little trucks are great... could be why my grandfather bought a new one i guess :)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


2001 Ford Ranger Edge

by rvanostuc from Tucson, AZ | June 23, 2011

Sporty "Edge" package with flared wheel wells & off-road package. 3.0 V6, 5-spd Manual. Bought used in 2008. Very reliable so far. I've put approx 40,000 miles on the truck (mostly city driving) & have had NO major repairs. Truck has a bumpy ride but this is expected. Another reliable vehicle from Ford. Never had any complaints.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


140,000 miles and runs like new

by sjh20 from Statesville, NC | April 15, 2011

This is a great truck! It gets fantastic gas milage and the small V6 has plenty of power. Maintenance costs are low an I have spent very little to maintain it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best truck ever!

by chevyfanman from Green Bay wisconsin | February 8, 2011

I love this truck its great for everything, i mostly just drive it around town and on the highwats i get 21-27 miles to the gallon and its 10 years old. I have a 01 ford ranger with a 4L 6cy engine and the thing runs like its brand new the only thing i have replaced is the tires, brakes and a few lights and it has over 189,000 miles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 16 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Ranger

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.