2002 Ford Ranger

Change Vehicle
2002 Ford Ranger

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 27 styles:  2002 Ford Ranger 2dr 4x2 Regular Cab Styleside 5.75' box 111.6" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$2,986–$11,054
Estimated MPG

15–24 city / 18–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 23 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 23 reviews

2002 Ranger

by deerhunter44 from Georgia | May 30, 2014

Perfect small truck. This my second Ranger sold the first one with 204,000 miles on it. Still going and every thing works perfect. Hope to drive this one for at least 10 years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Something's not right

by Just Looking from | June 6, 2013

I noticed while looking through the pictures of this vehicle that the shift lever is on the steering column. This truck is listed as a 5 speed manual. What gives?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Luv this vehicle!

by FordGurl from Springfield, mo | May 12, 2013

used cars.com and did heavy research on ford rangers before I picked the year and model I wanted. Took my time and after 6 months I found my new baby on this website! After driving it, the dealer gave me a great deal! Thank you for your website!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Ford Tough

by Rocky from Dysart Ia. | March 31, 2013

Grew up liking Chevy's. Have since purchased Ford's and have had extremely great durability from them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Vehicle I've Ever Owned

by Jersey Rick from Jersey Shore | November 25, 2012

Bought it new in 2002 XLT model extended cab 4x2 and now has 205,000 mi with no problems. Had to replace trans at 94,000 due to bad converter,otherwise no problems at all,can't kill this thing! I just do the normal maint. at the local Ford dealer. Keep thnking about replacing it,but why should I. Runs great ,but starting to show it's age because I don't wax as often as I should. Ford made a mistake by not building the Ranger any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great little truck

by Red Rider from Central Point, Oregon | June 25, 2012

redhot and fun, we are really enjoying it. Great mpg compared to our former suv. We actually have two Rangers, the above mentioed and a 1992, my hubby drives "whitie" most of the time, with fuel prices he loves getting 24+ mpg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Disappointing FX4

by Ford Truck Guy from Laguna Niguel, CA | April 2, 2012

I have owned several Ford trucks, but my 2002 Ranger FX4 has cost me more money in maintenance costs in the last four years, that I could have bought the truck all over again. I have always kept meticulous care and maintained regularly per the recommended service intervals. Regardless of my preventative measures, the rear end, the transmission and the transfer case failed and had to be rebuilt; a computer module, two in-tank fuel pumps, EGR valve, O2 sensor and mass air flow meter have all failed as well. The insulating moulding around the doors don't seal properly and road noise is heard. The truck has 123k miles. The 4.0L engine is great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Ideal small truck

by No Stranger to Ranger from Chicago suburbs | March 2, 2012

If you need to tow yachts every day, the Ranger probably is not for you; get a Super Duty diesel. The Ranger also might not be right for you if you need a car that does 70+ mpg; get a Fiesta ECOnetic diesel. If you want something that can haul normal loads, cruise around at 25 mpg, and actually start in Winter, then the Ranger is definitely a good choice. Mine is 10 years old, nearing 150k miles, and is still running as well as the day I took it for the test drive. It is the most reliable, comfortable and practical vehicle I have ever owned It just never lets me down. In fact, aside from regular scheduled maintenance my truck has needed only 4 minor repairs, all of which were cases of me letting it down - not the other way around. I love this truck. It has served me very well, and I hope it continues to do so for a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


never less the torque great vehicle for the money

by the blue ghost. from northandover,ma 01845 | November 25, 2010

this truck is 9years old and never had one breakdown.i went from boston to ny and got over 30 miles to the gallon thats with the 3.0 engine and some weight in the back.my friend drove and couldnt believe how much power it has.i hope this is my last vehicle i only have 68,000 on the engine,also great ride on the highway,downfall is rough ride on city roads,last but not least i live in the north and have alot of snowey winters and never have gotten stuck even in bllizards.i love this truck to death.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


extremely versitile

by benjammmin from manorville, ny | September 28, 2010

I have the 02 ranger 4x4 with the 4.0 liter engine. runs great. i can literally do anything with this truck. ive towed cars, hauled 40 heavy bags of mulch several times, and taken the truck offroading almost every day, no problems. exceptional in sand, mud, and snow in both 2wd mode and 4wd mode. as for fuel economy i cant really complain at all, 22 mpg with the 4.0 and plenty of power. the only thing i would change would be to make the extended cab a bit bigger, enough room for a full rear bench seat as opposed to the rear jump seats. although i am more of a full size truck kinda guy, the ranger will always be one of my favorite vehicles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Off-roading
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 23 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Ranger

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.