1993 Ford Taurus

Change Vehicle

1993 Ford Taurus

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 5 styles:  Taurus 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$69–$5,445

Estimated MPG

18–21 city / 26–30 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

Cars should all be

by Mento Wants from San Jose, California | January 31, 2013

Bought this 1993 Ford Taurus GL station wagon new. Let tell you what I have spent money on her. Water pump replaced , One radiator hose, taillight bulb 4 times,( did myself). break job 4 times, change new battery 4 of them, 5 sets of tires. change oil and filter. give her good gas, Shell. It has 125489 miles on it. Just made an hundred mile trip to central valley yesterday . She runs fine at 70 to 75 seen no highway patrol of course. Engine, radiator, transmission, power steering, air conditioner and heater are all original. Ford 3.0 V6 should cars all be. When I tell people about her they all look at me with wide opened eyes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


good first car

by taurus warrior from iowa | November 29, 2012

My parents helped me buy a 1993 taurus as my first car. My dad got a lead on it from someone at work. Paid $4,000 for it, had 92,000 miles on it and drove it until it had 123,000. While I had it I had engine mounts, head gasket, tie rods, and muffler replaced. That is all wear and tear stuff though. I had no recurring problems with it and it got me from home to high school and home to college just fine, which is all I needed it for. Traded it in 3 years after I bought it. Still ran fine but the tranny was getting iffy. It had the 3.8 liter engine in it which explains some of the problems. Being a Ford guy I have come to know the 3.0 Liter V6 might be the most reliable engine Ford has ever built.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


reliable car

by sonny268 from Fresno, Ca. | May 15, 2012

I bought this car used in 2011, it only had 65,000 original miles on it. It was a gov't vehicle and was well taken care of. Last week I blew a head gasket. Both heads were re-surfaced, new water pump, thermostat, serpentine belt, O2 sensor, gaskets and seals. It runs great. Will have it for another 10+ years.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Model correct

by Al from PHX | November 6, 2010

The Ford taurus S.H.O. is not the same model as a GL or other models. Check online to see the history of this Yamaha-Ford.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


zoom...zoom....zoom

by crystalicious from tacoma,wa. | October 10, 2010

it gets up and goes...wonderful..not to mention the many luxury options...straight out made to be comfortable

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Waste of Money

by Stace from Virginia | January 25, 2008

I purchase my '93 Ford Taurus GL used. It has a 3.8 engine. These, I've been told, are notorious for head casket problems. The 3.0 engines are a better fit for the car and 3.8 engines a no longer made.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Love This Car!!

by Just my car from Boise ID | September 15, 2007

Bought it used in 1996, but it had less than 9000 miles on the odometer, and it still had 3 months left on the original factory 3-year warranty. I believe I paid about $11,000 for her. Never had any major (or at least major enough to remember) problems. I have the 3.8L V6 model engine. I think I had the heads ground in 2000 or 2001, but I don't remember why. A very sturdy car. Very little damage when I was rear-ended at a stop light, and equally little damage when I slid into a Ford Bronco on a winding, icy, steep, downhill highway coming home from skiing less than a week later. A few days in the body shop, and she was good as new again! She's been good to me for over 11 years now!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The best car that my family ever owned.

by BradZnavy from Virginia Beach, VA | September 10, 2007

My father bought a Navy Blue 93 Taurus back when I was in grade school. it was his replacement for an aged out Tempo. Needless to say it was a lemon at first. Someone had messed up a circuit board under the lift when they first took delivery of it. It ran out of gas during my dad's drive home from the dealership. Later that week the odometer died on our way to dinner. Still, once that was fixed she never gave us any other big problems. When the car was 8 years old we had to get a new alternator, which died on us during vacation. Then, in 2001 when I got my license it became my car. I added new floor mats and a CD player. I drove that car every day for three years and it only had 92k on it when we traded it in. I only ever had to replace the rear window motor on the passenger side. I miss that car. I took me to college, and on the first date with my wife. It even held up really well to being reended and backed into Basketball goals. You can't kill a 3.0 Ford Taurus.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Taurus

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.