2005 Ford Taurus

Change Vehicle
2005 Ford Taurus
Available in 4 styles:  2005 Ford Taurus 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$1,918–$8,378
Estimated MPG

20 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.0 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

20 out of 24 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 24 reviews

A Safe Car You Can Rely On

by College Guy from Michigan | July 14, 2014

The mileage is alright, but it's an extremely reliable car. I never had any problems during my 3 years with it. It handled many long trips across the states with ease and has plenty of space for moving home from college. Seats 6, huge trunk, a great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I have owned 5 Ford Taurus in the past am glad

by jeeweemc from Greeley, Co. | February 21, 2012

My first Taurus was a 1989 Taurus and it lasted till I traded it for the 2005 Taurus SE that we drive now. The 1989 was one of the most dependable cars I've ever had and I have owned several as I am now 71 yrs. old. The 2005 I find as a liitle small on the interior part. I am always bumping my head or my knees but I still have been driving it. It is roomy for my legs but not for my taller torso. For performance the best Taurus I ever had was a 1990 Taurus SHO. It could do things that most 4 dr. sedans would never think of. It corners like a Corvette and has the speed of Well, I better not say, other than more than you'll ever need. The Taurus SEL and the SHO have ALL the computerized toys and gimmicks that we all like and most of those items come standard on those cars. Buy Ford, you'll be glad you did.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Bigger than I Look

by Comfort First from Baltimore, MD | February 2, 2012

This is my second Taurus and I like it better than the first. The look is sleek and does not look like the big car that it is. The interior room is awsome. Lots of space for people and junk. The truck is huge for serious shoppers. The ride is smooth. This is a winner for an everyday car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Unexpectedly Happy with this car

by Berti Lou from Council Bluffs, IA | January 30, 2012

Got this car late 2010. Was not looking for a Taurus. Thought they were styled for old people. Found this on the internet and loved the looks. It has a spoiler that gives it a sportier look.I bought it with 83,000 miles and it now has 107,00. The gas mileage is always around 21 or 22 with city and highway driving mix. Took it on vacation last summer and got 26 to 27 on the highway. I have nothing bad to say about this vehicle. Glad I got past the Taurus stigma.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Bang for your Buck

by Highway Expert Supreme from Carrollton, Texas | January 17, 2012

This vehicle has been very reliable and not expensive to maintain. I've used it for road trips (to California, Colorado, Illinois, etc) and local driving (Texas) and it's held up well. Still plenty of pep after 158,000 miles!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Taurus

by tyrsmkr from chicago | December 18, 2011

We have put 140k on the car and the only thing thats has went wrong was the water pump failed at 80k.We ave about 25mpg's.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Ford Taurus from Modesto, CA | May 11, 2011

I bought this car used. This car is great - didn't break down, reliable, gas saver, and it was able to seat up to 6 people with a HUGE trunk. There isn't any other car I know of with that large of a trunk.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Okay Car

by Sword210 from | April 9, 2011

Got this car used when my 91 Honda Accord started to die. I have the SEL model which has all the bells and whistles on it. The interior is very roomy and lots of room in the backseat and trunk. The car rides nice, but has no turn radius. Its very hard to manuver the car in tight parking lots. Visibility is limited for me as well, but I am short, so someone else taller may be able to see out of it well. The car runs good, have not had any major problems with it. I personally hate the styling, but some may think it looks better; styling is subjective to the viewer. Gas mileage is not very good, I average about 28mpg with mostly highway driving and some city. I purchased the car cheap, like I said above my other car died and I needed something fast and cheap, but it would not have been my first choice. Its too large of a car for me, I call it a boat sometimes b/c it is so large. Car has little resale value. Getting ready to trade it in for something newer with better mpg. I have had the car for a couple of years, it does have high mileage on it and was used when I bought it, and its only worth about 2,000 dollars. Its not a bad car, but not what I need/want in a car. I prefer smaller vehicles for commuting back and forth to college.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Car I've Owned

by Car Enthusiast from WIS | February 18, 2011

THE MILAGE IS HORABLE ON THE FORD TAURUS I HAD ONE LIKE THIS AND STILL HAVE IT BECAUSE I CAN NOT BUY SOMETHING INTEL I SELL MIND

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


best engine

by desertsnow from Nashville | November 7, 2010

The 3.0 V6 from Ford is the best engine ever made in USA never fail or broke easily the bad thing is that with the engine they putted one of the wrest transmissions ever made. great car overall handles good they have really good AC as about design don't like it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 24 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Taurus

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.