2006 Ford Taurus

Change Vehicle
2006 Ford Taurus

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  2006 Ford Taurus 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$2,221–$9,209
Estimated MPG

20 city / 27 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.2 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

25 out of 30 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 30 reviews

Great car just watch the transmission

by Suburb commuter from Byram MS | June 4, 2013

I previously owned this model ford taurus. Mine however was the fully loaded SEL with leather, spoiler, sunroof and cd changer. What I loved most was the comfort and roominess of the car. I am 6ft tall and weigh a good 250 lbs. And even when my friends and I decided to make a road trip we would always choose my vehicle because mine would comfortably fit five people of average and above average size. At that time I commuted a 45 minute drive to work. And let me tell you for being a big car it was very easy on gas and always seemed to have plenty of power to pass. It was very reliable but I did have some transmission issues. Be warned about these because everyone I knew with this model taurus ended up replacing the transmission and other parts. My mechanic said the transmission in this model ford was garbage. However, other than that I would recommend it. I sold my car and bought the new dodge charger but I still miss my taurus and now wished I would've kept it for a second vehicle. After moving I planned to look for one just like the one I got to purchase just for a second vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Good car

by Big Booter from North Dakota | May 19, 2013

Purchased used in 2007 with 15k miles. Now has 120k. The only thing I had to replace is the alternator. Great reliable car. 22mpg city 27-30 highway mpg. Not the most quiet or smoothest riding car, but running quality tires helps. Keep the oil changed, fuel filter, and transmission serviced and these cars will run a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


The a fun car to drive, but has an excellent value

by Mistermiles from Illinois | January 10, 2013

I just hit 275,000 miles. I bought it with 70,000 miles. Averaged 31 mpg over life of vehicle. Replaced altenator and radiator. Radiator was damaged in accident though. Still running, though its on its last leg. Overall best value for the dollar I have ever had out owning Hondas, Chevys, Pontiacs, Dodges or my Oldsmobile. It has never left me stranded. Bought for 6,900 dollars.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


"Brst Car on the Road"

by My "green bull" from Raleigh, N.C. | December 8, 2012

I bought this car because I had ownwd two of the same kind before The overall performance is really great!! The take off is always smooth with no jerking or hesitation - pick up speed is remarkable - this car is very good on oil and gas. (I live in town and my avg. MPG is 20.0) Out on the open road---I am good to go!!! The engine is always "smooth" idling and running. She starts up first time every time. It is the best thing going!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


2006 Taurus, Great value

by Used car enthusiast from New Hampshire | April 10, 2012

I bought my 2006 in 2007 and it was like new with 15k on it, Five years later and the care drives like it did when I got it, Had it dealer serviced and never had any problems, It is great in snow and icy roads with the all season tires, the only thing with this car is when I lightly touch the excellerator the car takes off, no holding it back.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Ford Taurus

by Cindy from Chandler, AZ | February 19, 2012

This was my daughter's first car and she had it up until this past spring. (10 years). She loved it and it was a good car to her!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Nice Car

by Car Guy from Tampa, FL | November 7, 2011

Unbeatable car for the money.Low maintenance, good mileage, good room, decent performance. Ford let down on the interior. Whoever designed the cup holders ought to be shot. Brakes have a dead feel. They stop fine, but feel is totally wooden. This last year of the Taurus shows how Ford took their eye off the ball. We also have a 1997 Taurus that feels like totally different car from a handling, stopping, and accelerating.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Not worth the money or space on road!

by Becca from nebraska | October 28, 2011

Broke down 5 times in a 6 month period. All five times was a due to the fuel system. 3 ford dealerships couldn't fix it properly. Finally traded it in on something new. Will never buy a Taurus again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Most Reliable car I've ever owned

by Carfenatic from St. Paul Minnesota | July 8, 2011

We have had our Ford Taurus for about 3 years now and have put over 100,000 miles on it. We bought it with 15,000 miles for $7,000. We have had no problems with the vehical. We even went 10,000 miles over on our oil change and it still runs great! We thought that we really screwed it up when that happend but still runs like the day we bought it. The only problem was that something that is in the Air Conditioner got loose and had to be tightened. Other wise just schedualed matnance. One problem with the car is that it only gets about 21 mpg. Not terible mpgs but most cars do have better mpgs for being that new as well. If you are condidering this car, you wont be disapointed with it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Best car I ever owned

by Lover of Road Trips from near Athens, Georgia | March 22, 2011

Bought it used on a rainy day. Both my son and I loved it right away. Drives good, don't have to worry about it's reliability. Gets 21-22 mpg.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 30 reviews

People Who Viewed this Car Also Viewed

Select up to three models to compare with the 2006 Ford Taurus.


Featured Services for this Ford Taurus

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.