2003 Ford Thunderbird

Change Vehicle

2003 Ford Thunderbird

Available in 4 styles:  2003 Ford Thunderbird 2dr Convertible shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$10,800–$16,500

Est. MPG

18 city / 24 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

2003 Ford Thunderbird

by jwshaw76 from Belle Vernon PA | June 27, 2013

I waited a long time and it was well worth it. The comfort is beyond what I expected it to be. As soon as I sat in this car I knew I had to have it. I have never bought a used car before but I knew I would have to make an exception.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Beautiful styling

by Surf guitar from San Luis Obispo | February 18, 2013

Standout styling with comfortable saddle leather interior. Dual heat/air controls, CD player sounds great, plenty of V8 power, great launches from a red light!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


GREAT RETRO BIRD

by BIG DINNER from British Columbia Can. | September 19, 2011

So far this has been a good used car, but make sure you get 2003 or 04 Ford has extended the warranty on the coil over plug system which can be exp. to change I just had mine done when she started to miss 28,000 k the bill was close to 1k they did a bunch of other items under this extended warranty. The car has lots of performace and is fun to drive nothing like a drop top enjoy

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Trophy Wife

by Thunderoo from Long Beach, CA | September 17, 2010

2003 Ford Thunderbird Deluxe - After 7 years it's still a beautiful car which garners admiring complements. It's very fun to drive and take on multiple day road trips and has a decent size trunk and interior space for a small car. Gas mileage averages 20 - 22 mpg for mixed city/highway driving. The power folding cloth top is effortless to use and has never given me any problems. The bad part is that it has broken down 8 times, requiring tow trucks. Twice was on the freeway. The ignition coils have all gone out (it has 8 of them) and the cooling system has failed. My Ford dealer informed me that I need to replace the rear anti-sway bars and struts and something about the tie-links for the rack and pinion steering will eventually fail as well. It's an expensive car to maintain, but it's really pretty and makes you feel good while driving it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Best handlling car I've owned

by Rich from Hillsborough, NJ | March 4, 2010

Excellent car, brings comments wherever I go! You feel no wind when top is down. I have never been able to make the front tires squeal going around corners!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


FUNderbird

by Car Lover from Southern Indiana | February 13, 2009

I owned a 57 Tbird until the Vietnam War took me away. I always told my wife that I would buy another 2 seater Tbird if Ford would make one again. After a long wait, Ford finally made it. I didn't buy one the first year because I thought it needed fins. After a year of turning in at every Ford lot with one on display, my wife finally said, "you can get any Tbird you want as long as it is red with red and black interior and bun warmers." I got on the internet and found it 100 miles from home. I've never been sorry I bought it. It is all the car the old 57 was, but it is more civilized. It drives and handles beautifully. We have driven it about 38,000 miles now. We liked it so well that we bought a Lincoln LS, which is the same basic car with a different body. (Same engine, drive train, suspension and dash layout) We have driven it on some trips of more than 2000 miles. It usually gets about 27-29 mpg on a long trip. I keep a log of all gas which has been put in it. The lowest gas mileage we ever got was 19 mpg, and it usually gets around 23 mpg. The trunk is a little cramped, but is adequate if you pack well and leave non-essentials at home. I have done all maintenance work on it myself. I have had two problems with it, both repaired under warranty. The transmission valve body was replaced when the car had about 20,000 miles on it. The left light socket on the light in the bumper was replaced at the same time. No other problems with it. I think Ford should have put Homelink on this car. My F150 Lariat even has it! It is comfortable to drive, but the Lincoln and the F150 are more comfortable. The ride is comfortable. I notice a little bit of cowl shake when the hardtop is removed, but it is not that objectionable. It is great with the top down, and there is very little wind. The heated seats are great for night top down cruising. It is very quiet for a convertible, top up or down. We drove it in a Christmas parade and as we passed, a rather bored looking woman suddenly came to life, pointed at our car, and yelled at her husband, "That's what I want for Christmas!!" It is a beautiful, unique car, and is fun to won and drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Looks = 5, Mechanicals = 1

by Alameda Al from Alameda, CA | November 29, 2008

Bought my 2003 torch red Thunderbird with premium hard top new off the showroom floor. Has every option except the triptronic, which I would have taken if it had it. Red seat inserts and steering wheel and shift knob red color. ALWAYS get complements and looks -- even when next to a $120K Mercedes! -- and detail it myself to keep it immaculate. BUT..... $1200 brake job at less than 30K mi., covered by warranty. Replaced the factory issue Micheline sport tires with American Eagles and reduced noise; improved performance and handling. Maintenance program is steep....$1,000 at 30K and $700 at 50K. Need a rear wheel casing that is designed so it cannot be lubed, so the unit replacement is $900 plus the obligatory Ford labor of $300. Reminds me of when I had a '65 T-bird in high school, and the radiator had to be pulled to replace a 14-cent hose! Ford engineered with Ford in mind. Brakes make noise, Jag tranny used in this T-Bird sometimes hesitates, and there is no fix. Going over speed bumps causes a crunching sound, and the low profile bottoms out easily. Ford messed up when they did not include this car in the upgraded warranty class with Lincoln. For those who don't know, if the car lurches or hesitates, the spark plug coils are acknowledged to have potential problems and Ford will replace them under warranty up to 100K mi/10 years. At $100 plus labor times 8, this is a consideration. Moreover, for better or worse, I am getting everything and anything done by the dealer NOW, while there still is one available to do it. Also, buying some parts. I love my T-Bird and plan to keep it for the long haul (it is already 6 years). However, I would never buy another Ford product, which appears to be a not uncommon sentiment.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Coral is the best color

by Sneezy from Palm Springs, CA | October 3, 2008

I am the second owner of this 007 Thunderbird. I purchased it with less than 10,000 miles and the new car smell in tact. It is a fun car to drive and gets lots of looks. I think the best thing about the car is the performance. It goes when and where I want it to and stops when I want it to. It is very comfortable on long drives. I should not have waited so long to purchase my second T-bird. The '95 I previously owned was a great car as well. I cannot wait to take the removable hard top off and take it for a spin.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Mechanically, very poor.

by X-t-bird fan from Northern Minn. | September 30, 2008

Replaced rack and pinion at 270 miles Replaced the differential 3 times. Replaced rear view mirror (windsheld) Repaired consol brake assembly Repaired brake reservior 4 times by dealer and finally fixed it myself. Sqealing brakes Cloth top doesn't fit right. Rattles in dash and hard top. The car has less than 15000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Finally got to own one!

by Car Nut from Nebraska | February 17, 2008

Since the beginning, I've lusted for a two seater thunderbird. Originals are hard to find at the same quality level as new. My 2003 fulfills my fantasy and is fun and exciting every time I look at it much less use it. Ford did a lousy job of promoting and marketing the new bird, but that's alright as it just adds to the rarity and exclusivness of mine.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Thunderbird

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.