2001 Ford Windstar

Change Vehicle
2001 Ford Windstar
Available in 7 styles:  2001 Ford Windstar 3dr Wagon shown
Asking Price Range
Get Value
Estimated MPG

18 city / 23–24 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 18 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 18 reviews

Very reliable until it hit 155,000

by M.Kubena from Washington, (Warren County) N.J. | September 19, 2015

Had very good luck with this car, until we hit 155,000 miles. All was routine maintenance, and I'm not really a car maintenance fanatic.One small speck of rust @168,000. But now passenger front door lock not working, sliding doors intermittent, O/D light comes on intermittently, needed to replace sensor on master cylinder (leaking), didn't see rust issues for recall issues. I would definitely buy one of these again. Popping out backseats allows 4'x8' sheets of plywood and sheetrock (extremely useful). Leather interior looks new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Best Mini Van

by carnut from Indiana | November 18, 2014

Have owned our Windstar SEL for 10 years. Love it in everyway. Never a breakdown. Low maintenance cost. Built like a tank. Have driven on long vacations out west and everyone(5) were always comfortable and had plenty of room. Recall on the rear axle hurt the reputation of the Windstar especially for those who had no rust or crack on the rear axle. Mine still has the factory paint and no rust like most. Have over 170,000 miles on mine and just replaced the front struts. Even that was inexpensive. Too bad Ford opted out off the mini van market. If they brought the Windstar back, they would sell very well considering the competitors vans today. As long as the routine maintenance is done( oil changes and tune ups) Windstars were built to last a long time.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


good car for the money

by Family/Mother chauffer from chicago | August 12, 2013

car runs good just needed new tires, brake job,windshield wiper sprayer&hose, rear door lock mecanism, and auto door module. That's all other than that car is great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I've been blessed

by grandmas grands from Central Ks. | April 17, 2012

This is the most reliable and comfortable vehicle I have owned. I'm lovin' it. Its spacious, clean, lots of room. CRUZIN!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


ive owened

by jhonny from | July 11, 2011

good for family good on gas nice for trips or just for city good minivan. good performance alot of space for a family of 8.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very Happy With My Ford 2001 Windstar

by Ford Fan from Passaic, New Jersey | March 8, 2011

I am very happy with the the car I bought and would buy it again, I have had 5 Fords already and have been happy with all of them

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


A solid family vehicle.

by Midwest Driver from Overland Park, KS | January 11, 2011

The Windstar can be a solid and reliable vehicle, if you spend the money to properly maintain it (like most cars). Fuel filters, oil, radiator flush, brake pads and shoes, and most important being a routine transmission fluid flush and filter. My wife has driven ours since 2002, and the only major mechanical problems was several altenators, and the fuel pump went out at 105,000 miles. We plan on keep ours another year or so which would take it up to close to 150,000. With the 3.8 it is a bit under-powered, but is a comfortable vehicle especially on the highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


never buy this thing!

by nice from louisville | November 8, 2010

if you love your life. if you don't like to sleep in the night on the side of the road in the middle of nowhere, don't buy this, seriously. with 11 recalls and 6 AAA towings i already had, i am scared, period.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great Vehicle

by Practical Vehicles Rule from Jackson, MS | October 25, 2010

Bought it at 75,00 miles, It now has 178,000. Oil is changed every 3000, religiously. All it has ever needed was a new battery and some brake pads. I tow a trailer carrying a minitruck. Hwy gas mileage avg, 23mpg @ 72 mph. Arguably the most underrated vehicle out there.It does more than what it was designed for and then some!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


gets us around

by mommytaxi from | July 13, 2010

We bought the car used and have taken it from Virginia to Florida countless times. It has been reliable and we would recommend to a friends

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 18 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Windstar

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.