2002 Ford Escort

Change Vehicle
2002 Ford Escort

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2002 Ford Escort 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$133–$6,125
Estimated MPG

26 city / 33 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

Incredible

by Flemmish from Baltimore, NY | October 25, 2012

176000 as of 10/26/2012. Just replaced original Timing Belt (it didn't break - a pulley did). have had a few inexpensive repairs which I did myself. Car is fun to drive, great gas mileage and the motor/trans is great. Owned this car for 12 years and without a doubt has been the best vehicle I've ever owned. To bad Ford discontinued it. Interior has held up very well. Engine doesn't burn or leak oil. It still has the original clutch and entire exhaust system.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Car that did the job

by Man in need from Pacific Mo | August 7, 2012

Bought a new Alima for a trip to Livingson Montana. It go wrecked two weeks befor he trip. Found this 02 ZX2 wih 71K. Put in new air filter and changed oil. hree weks later I have almost 75K. Car got 33 - 36 MPG and got me there and back wih no problems. Plan to keep i awhile longer... good car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Worst car ever made

by Neverbuyingamericanagain from Denver, CO | December 29, 2011

I bought this car for about $6000 in 2005...it had 33,000 miles on it then. It was pretty reliable for the first 70,000 miles but after it hit 100,000 miles it all went south. It literally breaks every other month---I've replaced practically everything on this car with the exception of the engine and the transmission (and currently the transmission is shot). I've replaced parts I didn't even know existed and maintenance is ridiculously expensive on this car. Not to mention it's ugly and uncomfortable. Currently trying to figure out a way to get more than $500 for this lemon. PLEASE don't waste your money---buy something foreign.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great little car

by jereman from San Diego Ca | October 21, 2010

reliable and very comfortable. get so much for so little money. I got mine used and it still looks, and drives like new.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


reliable, sporty, good acceleration

by e from midwest | July 30, 2010

bought it new 7 or 8 years ago, now has 50,000 miles on it, yeah i have to pay money to get stuff fixed, but overall it's a great car, really good acceleration almost like a real sports car, vehicle doesn't feel heavy, not too light, just right (although in winter in snow and ice i wish it was somewhat heavier). after all these years it still looks like it got style, i'm surprised ford never came out with a replacement for the zx2, i plan to keep driving mine for a long time to come. if someone offered me 10k for it, i'd probably decline the offer

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Decent Ride

by The Car Guy from Erie, Pa | September 30, 2009

This car is very peppy and has great handling. The quality of the materials used are by far not the best in the industry. Had a few misc parts break that would not be considered wear-and-tear. If you need something cheap and gets decent gas mileage, this is the perfect car for you. If you want to enjoy what you drive then you might want to look elsewhere.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


good work car

by drives to work from Chicago, Il | May 22, 2009

I bought this car new in 2002. I currently have 115,000 miles on it. The original tires lasted 80,000mi. The brakes needed to be changed after 90,000 because my buddy threw ceramic pads on it at 30k. The transmission goes out frequently, the 1st transmission was rebuilt under warranty 30,000 mi. (free, ford didnt charge me anything) The Second tranny was rebuilt at 105,000. ($2,000 i had to pay) So im hoping to get 150,000 then sell the thing. I honestly have not had a breakdown other than the trans at 105k where the weather was negative 20. Nothing has broken on that car except the transmission. Currently the check engine light is on and some sensor is bad, $20 part. The acceleration is nice, i can swerve in and out of traffic like a champ and I drive this car over my Cadillac because of the outstanding gas mileage and low cost to repair this car. Ive had tune up transmission go out 1 set of brakes muffler still good 1 set of tires I highly recomend this car. Why pay 7-8 grand for a used 2002 honda civic when you can get a zx2 for 2-3 grand.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Best Car By Far

by Sakura from Illinois | April 15, 2009

I am reviewing the Ford ZX2 because I want people to know what a great practicle car Ford made. I bought a 2002 ZX2 back 2yrs ago as my first car, at 28,000mi. That car was amazing! It was fuel efficent, sporty, was fast for a 4 clyinder engine, always started in cold weather, and never let me down. Even in a horrible car accident I just went through a month ago (in which the car was totaled). Though the front end was smashed, and side doors wrecked; the interior stayed intact and air bags deployed. If you looked at the inside of the car, you couldnt tell that it was in an accident. That is what saved my life and my fiancee's life. Again, this is a great car, and I plan on getting another one like it!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


great car

by Alex from Minneapolis, MN | October 20, 2008

Always had good luck with Fords, and this is no exception. Good fuel economy and great value; no major problems in 90,000 miles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Almost continuous "check engine" light

by Disappointed from Illinios | August 24, 2008

I purchased a 2002 about 6 months ago, with 75,000 miles on it. In the time I've had it, the check engine light has come on at least 4 times. We've replaced the temperature gauge but the light came back on showing the same problem just a short time later. Now my alternator has gone out and it ruined my battery. This led us to discover how nearly impossible it is to reach something as simple as the alternator. Comfort in the car is not great. It's difficult for anyone but a small person or child to get in and out of the back seat as the front seats do not roll forward when the seat is up like many other 2-door models. Then when a taller or larger person is in the front seat, the seat has to be moved and the person in the back will be very cramped. The car seems as though it's made of cheap plastic. For example, when closing the glove box, the door and the dash seem very flimsy. As mentioned in other reviews, I am also having troubles with the car shaking at certain highway speeds.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this Ford Escort

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.