1991 Geo Metro

Change Vehicle
Asking Price Range
$3,000
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

8 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

I LOVE my Geo Metro LSi Convertible!

by onesmartchick from GTA Ontario | June 15, 2015

I am a new-to-me 1991 Metro Convertible owner as of May, 2015. I read a lot of posts written by Metro owners to get educated before I took the plunge, and SO glad I did! My Geo is blast to drive and being a stick, even more fun. It's in pristine condition for 24 yrs old with 93,000 miles, never seen winter, not a lick of rust. Seats were redone with 2" of foam added for comfort and recovered with vinyl. Door panel covers and floor carpeting also updated. The engine compartment is immaculate and it passed Etest and Certification with flying colours. I am consistently getting...yes, it's true...58mpg. And I love that it's DIY friendly. It's not gonna getcha anywhere fast, but is sure is 2FUN42!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


reliable fuel efficient fun car

by clearlake jake from clearlake oaks, ca | August 8, 2013

just bought 1991 geo convert with 63k miles. paid 3,000.00 and spent 1,000.00 on mechanical stuff like water pump cat converter, muffler, timing belt,etc. after all this and exterior waxing and sheep skin seat covers, car runs and looks like new. really love this car and would not sell it for 6,000. car was in storage for over a decade. my other car is a S model mercedes which sits most of the time in my garage. buy one if you can find one!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Love the car for the gas mileage

by BaBa WaWa from Rural Retreat,va. | February 18, 2013

Considering the age of the car it's in great shape! We drove it over 800 miles home after purchasing it. it's very reliable and economical! concidering the year of the car it is in great shape

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Amazing Fuel Efficiency

by Jim-Bob from Tampa, Florida | January 7, 2011

Now, if you are buying a Geo Metro it is with the understanding that you will be giving up certain creature comforts. Power windows, power locks, and an automatic transmission are very easy to live without. The power steering however is not. In situations requiring a lot of maneuvering the steering can get quite tiresome to use. The car also has a lot of interior noise and the radio and HVAC controls are not within easy reach. The head light and wiper switches on the 1989-91 models are also of a poor design and can prove troublesome on high mileage cars. That's the bad. The good news is that these cars get fuel economy numbers well in excess of all but the best hybrid cars sold today. They also are well built where it counts and tend to be reliable. for example, if a timing belt breaks it is not the end of the engine-just the belt. The valves are designed not to hit the pistons not matter what you do. All that being said, these cars are best owned by someone who can do their own repairs. Parts are not expensive, but many mechanics will treat these cars with contempt and many are fixed improperly. Properly cared for however, it is not unheard of to get hundreds of thousands of miles out of one. Just be sure to check the suspension mounting points for rust as it is a known weakness when dealing with cars from states that use road salt. Should you buy a Metro? Yes, but only if you are looking for basic transportation that is about the cheapest way to get around this side of a moped. They are good cars but you will have to sort out their problems before they can be considered reliable. After all, it is a 20 year old economy car and you should expect to have to do some repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


1999 1.0L Geo Metro is a great communter car

by CREDCOMM from edmond, OK | February 1, 2010

I bought this car 7 years ago (173000 miles now) and for the first couple of years got over +50 MPG. I have replaced a clutch, 2 timing belts (100K and 160K miles), AC compressor, and water pump. Parts seem readily available. Very reliable and economical. Developed a CHECK ENGINE problem that had not been completely diagnosed since code is not the problem. Mileage had dropped to mid 40's now, but still going strong. I love this car and hope to drive the doors off of it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


gets from piont a to piont b

by wood man from willow grove, PA | March 26, 2007

small car will get you were you need to go. these cars go from 3 cylinders to 4 cylinders. its optional. drive the manuals because they have a better pick up than automatics

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most economical non hybrid vehicle

by metro-man from Honolulu, HI | November 13, 2006

I love this car. I gave 5 stars in performance because it goes so far on so little gas, and only 993 cm^3 displacement but still accelerates well. Only 4 stars in reliability because my air conditioner is broken. Can park it in the smallest spots and will u-turn on the narrowest streets. R12 tires are getting expensive though. Averages about 50mpg (about 80% freeway)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Let's be Reasonable here.

by DavePlaysDrums from Chesterfield, MI | August 19, 2006

So I bought this car from a friend for 100 dollars. I put about 300 bucks in front end parts, 300 bucks in ride, and 65 bucks in braking parts. A lesser amount than the car is worth. I spend about 28 dollars in gas a week (at 3 Dollars a gallon!). It gets 35 miles to the gallon.. not the 53 that the "experts" say. It gets 40/gallon without the Catalitic Converter on it. I love this car. But i've found out just recently that the car is worth about $1,100. i would highly suggest that one would find one, fix it, get it looking real nice, and then broom it while gas prices are high. They are in high demand, Invest in one, you'll thank me.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Geo Metro

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.