1997 Geo Metro

Change Vehicle
1997 Geo Metro

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  Metro 2dr Coupe LSi shown
Asking Price Range
$139–$4,391
Estimated MPG

39.2–44.1 city / 42.8–48.7 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

15 out of 15 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 15 reviews

Great High School Car

by High school boy from bolton on | August 13, 2014

This car is perfect for a high school car. It can carry books, supplies and even computers, nice ride, FUEL ECONOMY IS AWESOME! Dont have to spend tons of bucks on gas, and it is cheap, good for a student

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Amazing Grace 97 Geo Metro LSI

by Jesus Saves from North Idaho | December 25, 2013

97 Geo Metro has been the most amazing vehicle I've ever owned. I own a 2005 Dodge Ram 2500 QC SB 4X4 built and I actually prefer driving the lil metro most times and not just for the fuel! Easy to maintain and cheap to repair. Fun to drive, easy to park. Most importantly, the tires should be the first thing to change when you can. 185/70/13 fits beautifully and increase MPG, drivability, comfort and can be found much easier. When making this switch try and find aluminum wheels also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Excellent value

by Geo Lover from Reno,NV | February 28, 2013

The '97 Metro LSI that I just recently bought from a dealer on Cars.com is an excellent buy. The small 4 cylinder engine is not a powerful sports car engine, but where it lacks in pickup it rewards with outstanding gas mileage. Easy to park and maneuver around town. The more gas prices go up, the more I save!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Car

by jagster from So. Ca. USA | September 5, 2011

For the money, this little eco. car is by far the most reliable car on the market (at the time).. I own two vehicles made by suzuki, a chev. sprint, and a geo metro.. I have currently 335000 miles on my Geo metro,1997, and its still going strong.. A/C is still blowing like an Alaskan winter (with only occasional recharges) I have relpaced the transmission once, and the clutch twice (normal maintanince) the gas milage is great, and the car is quiet as can be.. if you have the oppertunity to by one of this out of production vehicles used, grabe it.. clean it up and do your normal maintance, drive it with confidence.. The engine in this vehicle is a 1.0 Litter, has never been worked on, never been opened up, never had a single issue... Still no leaks, and oh yes, I've replaced the water pump, and timming belt. When replacing the timming belt, it after over 160000 miles still looked good...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


scooby runs strong

by Buzzard from rothbury,mi | August 5, 2011

this car has been the best car we have ever had. We replaced the engine at 140000 miles due to bad matinee. We got the car back in 2001 and it's still running. Just watch out for the bottom rusting out. This car was gms best little car. Long live the geo metro lsi

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I own a 1992 Geo Metro

by Bob, Robert from Columbia, Tn. 38401 | February 12, 2011

I bought my Geo Metro new, and have 240,000 on it and have had only a starter replacement at 65,000 mi., struts at 100,000 mi. with lifetime replacement's. My car still does not require any addition of oil in every 3,000 mi oil change. I average 38 to 46 MPG all the time. Why isn't this automobile, (3 cyl.) still made? It doesn't make sense. It is a perfect car that will cruise at 75 MPH all day and will do 100MPH if needed or could probably cruise all day at 100MPH if conditions were allowed. I will never sell my Geo Metro, although I have a new Nissan Altima 3.5 that I use sometimes.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Reliability and more

by Mom from Moab, UT | February 6, 2011

I bought this car used, with a salvaged title years ago. Drove it for 5 years. My son and his friends always called it the clown car. I gave the car to my son for his first car and at first he didn't want his friends to see him driving it until his friends seen what the gas mileage was like on it. Then they all changed there tunes. My son would take it and all his friends in it up on Hummer tour trails around Moab, Ut. It is amazing how many High School boys you can fit in one of these and still make it up the trails around here. My son drove it all threw High School and then finaly sold it and he has kicked himself ever sence. I see it around town ever now and then and just smile! It has given us great memories. If you are looking for a great car this is it! And even thow they are a little plain, they can be fixed up to look pretty cool! Have you ever seen spinners on a Geo? Pretty cool looking with the right paint job!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Best Mileage Last Longer

by Greencastle Native from Greencastle, IN | June 16, 2010

The 97 Geo Metro is by far the best car made, both for fuel economy (I average 39) and for dependability (mine has 200187). This car is the king of budget vehicles in every week, cheap to buy, cheap to repair and cheap to keep on the road in every way! Don't make a mistake and let any one of these wonderful cars slip through your hands!! Wish they were still made! You can thank the big 3 for not still making this car and that isn't the 1st time they have made a big mistake!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best gas milage i ever had

by heap2011 from ellisville,IL | November 29, 2009

i bought my 1997 geo metro lsi in may 2009 and have put 10,00 miles on it since...... it is currently up to 130,000 miles and im still loving the car. its so inexspensive to take care of and if you treat them right they last forever

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


my go cart

by flowmaster from de pere, wi | September 8, 2009

bought used in 2001 and haven't had any problems so far. not the quickest car but it wasn't built for speed. installed uniroyal tiger paw tires this year and it made a world of difference in handling and traction. it was like a different car. wish i hadn't skimped on tires all these years. fun to drive use it mostly to commute to work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 15 reviews

Featured Services for this Geo Metro

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.