1997 Geo Prizm

Change Vehicle
1997 Geo Prizm
Available in 2 styles:  Prizm 4dr Sedan shown
Asking Price Range
$153–$5,957
Estimated MPG

30.1 city / 34 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.4 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

Best Car Ever

by Prizm from Charlotte, NC | July 29, 2012

Ive owned my Prizm for ten years and its never left me stranded or gave me any major problems. I dread the day when I have to replaced it. I actually have a loaded LSi with the leather package, power everything including sunroof and the upscale sound system with cd and cassette players. Its been a wonderful car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Cannot be beat!

by GeoPrizmOwner995 from Roanoke, VA | February 18, 2012

Anyone who rates this car less than 5 stars in all catogories is not rating the car fairly. Compared to any other car in its class it beats them all hands down! Is it as comfortable or quiet as a luxury car? No, because its not supposed to be. Does it have the power of a V8? Again, no because... But, this car is indestructible and gets PREMIUM gas mileage, which is NOT common in very many newer cars. I average 29-31 mpg city and 32-35 mpg hwy with 374k miles on the motor and the motor still runs PERFECTLY with the motor oil coming out at each oil change (every 5k miles) just as clear as when it went in. And with insurance less than $300 per year? There is not a better car on the road!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


VERY RELIABLE CAR!

by TAMMY from DUNDEE MI | June 30, 2011

BEST CAR EVER MAKE BY GEO/ CHEVY . THEY SHOULD OF NEVER STOP MAKING THEM. SORRY TO SAY MINE GOT HIT. LOOKING FOR ANOTHER 1.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


good car for the money

by nj from nj | June 14, 2011

i've had this car for 5 years now and it keeps on truckin. i brought it 1500 bucks with 143000 miles on it and it has 208000 miles on it today. its a good car but horrible inside.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Just Say No

by 16 yr old kid from Michigan | January 19, 2010

Let me tell you that the Geo Prizm is a supringsly reliable car but then im sure your going to ask why i gave it a mere 2 stars? well this car is great until winter kicks in, my car had 160,000 miles (roughly) and ran great (for a geo) all summer long but as soon as fall and winter rolled around and it got colder the car started having a shutdown of everything you can imagine. rarely starts first try, accompanied by just clicking when trying to start it and if you can get it to start going the engine wont turn over unless you revv the car for like 10 minutes. Not to mention as stated before the geo prizm is also the rock bottom in customer conviences it comes with the most uncomfortable front and back seat ive ever ridden in and does not even come equip with a CD player. Another serious complaint is the headlights which reveal very little in the dark unless you have the brights on which are equivalent to a regular cars lights. Overall Geo is a No NO

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Soul-less automobile

by Hrududu from Wichita KS | May 28, 2008

The Geo Prizm isn't a bad car. If you are looking for a cheap and reliable way to get around town while getting decent gas milage, its perfect. For someone who doesn't care about what kind of car they drive, its perfect. Where the Prizm falls short is everything else. This car is NOT comfortable to ride in. The seats are hard on the back after an hour or two, and the cheap plastic parts rattle and buzz. On the highway, the interior noise is unbelievable, and the weak inline 4 makes acceleration a chore even on flat roads. The exterior is the classic 90's jellybean that every other cheap import had. In a dark parking lot, this car looks JUST like every other car. Pros: *Decent fuel economy, but nothing special by todays standards *Reliable: this car has ALWAYS started right up and required little maint. *Comfortable for SHORT drives *Inexpensive to buy Cons: *Cheap interior parts *VERY LITTLE comfort features (PW, PL, Cruise,) *Generic/boring design *Severely underpowered *Just a boring car to drive.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


good starter car

by love cars from seaside nj | May 5, 2008

i have a red geo prizm and its great. good on gas and i average about 31 per gallon. i have 161150 miles on it since i got it when it was 145000. As long u keep serviceing it the car should 250000 thousand miles

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Very Good.

by Stapler from KY | January 31, 2007

I'm 14 and my boyfriend drives my car all the time. We drift sometimes in it. Very reliable car. Love it! <33

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Extremely Reliable, practical, and cheap

by Lowell from Maine | January 24, 2007

This is a great dependable basic car. It is nothing fancy, but has never let me down. If you need a cheap car that you can count on but don't care about power windows or having any creature comforts (at all) this is the best car around. Good gas milate too.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Extremely Reliable

by Poor college student from Maine | November 1, 2006

It's reliable to the extreme, but it's nothing fancy. If you're looking for a cheap reliable car, it's the best option. It's a toyota corolla, but sells for cheaper because a lot of people don't know that, and because people laugh at you when you tell them you have a geo. But you get to laugh at them when their ford or whatever breaks down and your geo never does. Nor does anything break.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Geo Prizm

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.