2005 GMC Canyon

Change Vehicle

2005 GMC Canyon

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 24 styles:  2005 GMC Canyon 4x2 Regular Cab 6' box 111.3" WB shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$5,770–$16,978

Estimated MPG

17–21 city / 22–27 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 13 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 13 reviews

friendly, reliable, beautiful looking, 4 wh dr.

by small pick-up truck from Brainerd, Mn. | September 6, 2013

I really love it nice in and out. looks like a new one well taken care of. Roll-up turneau cover on the box. I really like that. looked for over a month, finally found one.... Just right for me

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


awesome truck

by texas guy from | July 22, 2012

nice truck alot of room good gas millage love my truck nice options motor is real good really nice truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great Used Truck

by butch from overland park kansas | June 18, 2012

I bought the above truck, a one owner with 79000 miles. I have driven it for over 2 months and am getting 29 mpg in the city. It looks great and I have had a lot of comments about how it looks. I really like the cool feature of the sun roof automatically closing when you trun off the engine. It handles great and I am impressed by the pick up and go it has,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


good ride

by The bodyman from kentucky | January 27, 2012

had this ride since 2006- drove 6 yrs and only had to do routine service- and a 129.00 fuel sensor. just did the brakes at 90k. good gas mileage, still the same battery, a little snug for me on long trips- i'm 6'2' 200lb. Great engine and really smooth trans and 4whl drive...nice stereo and great hanfdling on the highway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


great ride and mileage

by MN canyon from MN | March 12, 2011

Bought mine used in early 2010, one year in now and glad I did. I have the 4WD club cab and the 4WD was great to have this winter, shifts into smoothly and handled the snow effortlessly. With gas prices going up the 5 cyl is also nice on the wallet. I pull a simple 16 ft boat in the summer and it handles that well also. ZERO mechanical issues, even for a used. Routine maint is all I have invested.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Dissapointing

by CaryG from Auburn Hills Michigan | January 2, 2010

Purchased this truck with 26k miles. Once it hit 40k miles engine light keeps coming on. found our it was the gas cap and oxygen sensors. Runs rough. Should not have these problems with 75K on truck. Inline 5 does not work. Heard it from dealers everywhere. Trade is horrible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Best small truck I ever owned

by JT from Stamford Ct | January 20, 2009

Bought this truck new in 2005,loved the look. I really didn't need a new truck, but couldn't pass up the price. It's a Sle reg cab 4wheel drive 5 cyl, it does everthing i want it to do, nice ride, light plowing, plus i get 27 mpg on trips. I'm very happy with vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most troubled truck

by aircraft enthusiast from fresno, ca | December 28, 2007

I have owned several GMC trucks and this one has had the most trouble the day I drove it off the lot. Good power and handling but with a cost of engine troubles.Every owner I have spoken with has had the same reaction. Major engine trouble just out of factory waranty. With severe engine noise after repairs.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


trash for cash

by construction worker from California, Corona | December 22, 2007

worst truck I have ever owned.I am done with GM.Gutless always going to the dealership to solve many issue's.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Have Owned 3 GM Pick-Ups...

by Love Mid Sized PickUps! from Washington, DC | November 10, 2007

I have owned three GM mid-sized trucks. My old S-10 models were amazing! I traded in my 2002 S-10 for a 2005 Canyon, and was excited about the redesign. I have had numerous problems with my truck. Read the service bulletins BEFORE buying. The Canyon has among the most bulletins (103 for the 05’ models). I have had my transmission slip, my a/c and defrost blower went out, the car hard shifts between 1st and 2nd (very common complaint), I have had to replace my speakers, the tailgate is difficult to open, the truck idles terribly, and to top the cake my engine light just came on! My truck is not quite three years old! I have performed all applicable service on it. I am tired of taking it to the dealership. All of the problems I have had are all listed service bulletins. Always complete research before buying a car! I want my old S-10 back!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-10 of 13 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Canyon

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.