2006 GMC Envoy XL

Change Vehicle
2006 GMC Envoy XL
Available in 6 styles:  2006 GMC Envoy XL 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$5,537–$14,877
Estimated MPG

14–16 city / 20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 10 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 10 reviews

AWESOME SUV

by fenn45 from Grovetown,GA | April 23, 2010

I traded from a Cadillac SRX which I LOVED, just needed more space. The Envoy is just as comfortable and actually gets better MPG with MUCH more room!! Despite being a long vehicle it is easy to park and has a great turn radius. I highly recommend this SUV!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Quality for price

by Interstate cowboy from Tampa FL | February 1, 2010

This is the first SUV Ive bought and find it a real quality unit well designed and has many comfort features as well as safety aspects.I find its somewhat heavier on fuel than I expected overall a good family vehicle

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice

by Justin from Columbia SC | August 28, 2009

We have 8 grand boys and I am retired. We were looking for a good van. We looked at quite a few used ones. We were almost ready to get a Chrysler Town & Country until we found our 06 Envoy SLT. The grand kids are 10 and under. They have no problem getting into any of the seats. Especially no problem entering the vehicle. The running board does quite nice for my little wife too. The air is great. Handling is good for it's size. We look foreward to many years with this one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


I searched for this one!

by WVmountaineer from Parkersburg WV | February 10, 2009

My husband and I recently were i nthe market for a new car. We decided that with our two growing kids that we something that had a little more space and could carry friends on trips. After search for quite some time we narrowed it down to the Envoy XL. It is very comfortable with tons of room. The handling is good for this size vehicle. We thought the trailblazers were very noisy and not quite as nice. It was hard to find one in excellent condition and low miles ...but we finally did(after dealing on some that fell through). We love our choice so far! They quit making the XL in 2006, so we couldn't go any newer unless we gave up the third row. The only thing I can say I would change is the position of the cup holders up front and a few things on the radio. Hopefully we will have a great running/looking vehicle for many years to come.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Extremely good!

by ML from Glenview, IL | August 18, 2008

The Envoy Denali XL IS one of the BEST vehicles I've ever owned. Mine is a 2006 bought in Oct. 2005, I've owned it now for almost three years, and it looks and performs like new. I haven't had even the slightest problem with it; it has never needed any repairs and has not seen the inside of a shop except for routine maintenance. The V8 is exceptionally smooth and acceleration and handling are great for a vehicle this size. Highly recommended!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Most comfortable 7 passenger vehicle

by TravelMan from Quad Cities, IA/IL | September 4, 2006

The EnvoyXL is the most comfortable 7 passenger car ever! I would challenge any other vehicle to be better. Simply put, there are none. (I'll be fair and say some are very close.) It's 3rd row is excellent, phenomenal, tres bien! I'd ride back there any day of the week for hours. It is also very easy to get back there. The truth is, the 2nd row is prob the least comfortable & it is still very comfortable. Beyond the comfort, the storage room is about as good as a minivan. There is certainly a ton more room behind the 3rd room than many other 7-pass SUV/CUVs. The storage, 7-pass comfort, price and garagable size are the reasons we bought the vehicle. The nice features that came along for the ride include a reclining 2nd row, Onstar, 2nd airbags, pleasant dash, memory seats, sunroof, back hatch glass hinge and headlamp washers. But alas, the SUV is not perfect in all ways. The high speed emergency handling is hindeous. Good thing emergency manuevers are not made daily. This is the biggest issue. The smaller issues include the gas mileage (we get about the sticker numbers in city,14 and hwy, 20) and finally the headliner is the cheap fuzzy kind. The temp, computer displays and compass should be located all very close to each other. The back doors are hard to close too. The engine is smooth, quiet and has adequate power w/ the 3.73 rear diff ratio. I recommend the 3.73 over the 3.42. Power has not been an issue at all. Finally, the 4spd auto tranny is smooth and performs with grace, but seem out of date per current industry standards. GM need to update ASAP. After testing about 12 vehicles, we are very happy with the EnvoyXL. We ended up putting the XL, Explorer, Odyssey and Tahoe on the final list. The B-team vehicles included the Terraza, Rendezvous (sp), Pacifica, Town/ Country, Pilot, Suburban, Trlblzr, Mountaineer and XC90. I recommend to all who are considering. I recommed over the Chevy TB b/c the GMC has a nicer dash & has a greater chance of getting the rear side-airbags (which I highly recommend due to getting better crash stars w/ the bags.) Thank you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great car, but questioable paint quality

by Happy GMC Envoy owner from Charleston, WV | August 31, 2006

I have had this car for 10 months and I love it. It is great except my paint quality. I got the medium blue color and although I love the color I have had some noticable problems. It has started to chip and fade and I don't know why. I read a similiar review on another site and another person had the same problem. I live in the northeast and maybe this has something to do with it. I have not put any waxes or polish on it so that cannot be the problem

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The SUV for a bigger family

by My Wife's EnvoyXL from Quad Cities, IA/IL | August 16, 2006

The EnvoyXL is a great SUV for the larger family. It has most all the features of larger SUVs along with the size but is still able to fit in the garage. The 3rd row is fabulous! It is incredible. If you need a 3rd row for passenger use, you must look at the XL. This is the biggest seller for us. We got the extra seats and still have room for things behind the 3rd row. We looked seriously at the Explorer, Tahoe and Pacifica. We test drove all those and the Rendezvous, Pilot, Odyssey, XC90 and T&C. All of these cars had some "fatal flaw". The other plus's of the XL are the pleasant interior, the features on the SLT2 and the smooth inline 6 engine. I think the rear axle ratio of 3.73 is a very useful $50 option. The Onstar is nice "insurance". The ride is incredible for a truck of this size. We looked for one w/ the rear SAB curtain. (Much easier to find on the GMC as opposed to its cousin at Chevy.) The major inconvenience is the sloppy handling. The extra length does wonderful things to the size, but is a huge set-back on handling. The SUV has a rear end that wanders too much with larger steering inputs. The lean in the corners is larger than I like. The other things I'd like changed are a nicer headliner, better radio (add subwoofer and power) and change the info center displays. The gas mileage is as stated on the EPA sticker, not better. If I could change, I would (5 or 6 spd tranny?) and lastly bigger wheels as an option. Over all a must test-drive vehicle for any family of 5 or more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


2006 Envoy XL

by Envoy Fan from Houma, LA | July 20, 2006

I have had my Envoy XL for 7 months now and love it more than ever. I can honestly say it is my favorite of all the cars I have previously owned and driven.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Denali overpowers Explorer

by Jim SUV enthusiast from Frankfort, Illinois | July 10, 2006

I feel this review should have some validity, because I have driven a Ford Explorer for the last 10 years now. I have seen the improvements along the way, but they do not compare to the GMC Envoy XL Denali I now own. I test drove the 2006 Explorer and was not impressed with the "supposed" cabin noise improvements claimed by Ford. It was no better than my 2004 Eddie Bauer. This made me look at the 2006 GMC Denali. What first caught my attention on the Denali, was the actual look of "Professional Grade" that has been claimed by GMC these last few years. The styling of the exterior with the molded-in running boards and bumpers were very sleek looking. Its 18 inch polished aluminum wheels were very sharp indeed. What most impressed me was the attention to detail of the very, plush interior. GMC has added quite a lot to its sound proof package with laminated glass and sound deflecting material. The ride in the Denali on its Bilstein shocks are very smooth and quiet. Road noise is absolute zero as well as engine noise while strolling down the highway. Another nice touch by GMC is the rear air compressor that utilizes a soft air hose that can be used to inflate the tires or anything else you may need. The Climate control has three levels of climate zones, including different zones for driver and passenger...very neat. I think you basically get more luxury option on the Denali where as they are still upgrades on the Eddie Bauer and Limited. Like memory seats, heated seats and mirrors , all included on Denali. So don't be fooled by price comparison on the basic Bauer. When you build the Ford to be like the Denali....its costs more. The big winner "before I forget" is the Vortec 5300 V8 engine with the DOD (displacement on demand). It drives on 4 cylinders when cruising then if you need the power, its seamlessly switches over to 300 HP of V8 muscle. This truck is the most pleasant SUV I have had the pleasure of driving and owning in the last 10 years. GMC for now, has won my loyalty over Ford as this Denali is heads above the Limited in my opinion. Anyone looking to buy either truck should drive both the Denali and Limited to see what I'm talking about. Anyone looking at the Lexus RX330, well.... your not looking at a truck anyway....that's a car on a lift kit....LOL

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 10 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Envoy XL

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.