2004 GMC Envoy XUV

Change Vehicle

2004 GMC Envoy XUV

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 4 styles:  2004 GMC Envoy XUV 4x4 shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$3,534–$12,222

Estimated MPG

15 city / 19–20 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

3.9 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 12 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 12 reviews

Great vehicle for the Money

by 2playok from Richfield, WI | March 25, 2014

Owned this for 5 years and was a great investment. By far the best riding SUV in the market for it's time and even compared to the new ones out today. The ride and comfort is second to none if your looking for that. The wind noise could be a bit better, but would could you expect for a 2004 vehicle. The air ride suspension is a must, but expect for it to go between 100k-125K. The option of an enclosed truck back end has been awesome. Enclosed when you need it and open when you want it. Maintenance and reliability has been good for the most part. The air bag for the ride and a fuel tank has been the big costs. Beyond that it has been tires, fluids, and the standard maintenance. With 153K I'm sad to let it go. Gonna try my luck with a GL320. A few shortcomings, even with the 5.3L V-8 pulling a boat weighing in at 4K was a bit challenging evene though it is rated over 7K. Gas mileage could have been a bit better, ave 16 all around. Stereo and some other creature comforts could have been improved on if I were to pick. Compare what you get in this loaded to a F150 or Silverado and you are at least $10K less.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very practical truck.

by Fabster from New York ,NY | December 26, 2011

Tested many cars/trucks this was the most practical if you have kids. Great for all types of weather,snow,mud.....recomend it all the way.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


so far so good

by sweet from georgia | October 20, 2011

had this suv bout 3 months had 115,000 miles now have round 120000. i cant go over 90 miles seem like with out it jerking. really smooth ride. sliding roof best feature on a suv eva so different,

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


this SUV IS.PERFECT.

by Nikita from Lancaster Ohio | May 19, 2011

Wle own a.94 .MC 4X4EXT. CAB. WE LIVE AT.EXTREME TERRAIN AND ELECTRONICS. WHERE WE LIVE. THEEXT CAB WZ OK BUT DIDN'T FIT EVEN our small family. This New to us 2004 GMC Envoy XUV IS AWD 4 x4 w/ SLIDING ROOF..IT'S THE SEXIST MOST.COMFORTABLE ON THE MARKET . The UNUSUAL ABILITY TO CONVERT INTO A PICKUP even satisfies the gadget babe in me w/ the pwr moonroof I get everything but MPG. Which bums us out.a little.but its a total all over utility vehicle that looks gorgeous on the road and in the driveway.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Versatile vehicle

by pschwin from Indiana | March 22, 2011

I've owed 2 XUV's since they came out in 2004. Most versatile utility vehicle ever made. The roll back top comes in very handy for moving things like refrigerators. Good performance. Expect mpg to be only about 17.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


XUV is a great choice

by pcs from Indianapolis, IN | December 13, 2010

I have owned an Envoy XUV since I bought it new in 2004. I have put over 145,000 miles on it. There's been a few issues. The speedometer goes wacky in the winter but not in the summer, registers 120 mph or so when it's cold. This is a problem with ALL XUV models so be aware that if you get one, it will probably do this for you. The tailgate latch sometimes sticks. Plenty of power. Gas mileage is typical for an suv, around 16 city, 18 highway. I recently totalled it and am replacing it with another XUV. I don't understand why GM stopped making this vehicle, but then again, I don't understand a lot of what they do. Overall, it is ideal for hauling and the versatility of the open back end allows you to be able to haul things you could never do with an SUV, like a refrigerator.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


more headaches than its worth

by amguy from ia | September 25, 2010

i have had many issues with this envoy, most electrical and rear gate involved. The mid gate window regulator and the rear window regulator both broke. the rear left hand latches have been replaced three times, and the two way hinge on the lower right side was broke in half on the cast-barrel. I took the old hinge that was broke and attempted to brake it again with a sledge and couldn't. the fan motor was replaced and is now broke again and the water pump has been replaced twice also. i put a lot of miles on but not enough to have these kinds of issues with this frequency. if buying one make sure you do not live or drive on gravel or dirt frequently as the door seals are worthless and i am told thats where a lot of my issues have stemmed from. a great buy if you live in the city. otherwise turn and walk away

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does not recommend this car


What is it?

by Family Man from Cincinnati,OH | October 24, 2009

I have owned my 2004 GMC Envoy XUV SLT since July 2005. I bought with 292 miles on it. It was purchased primarily because of price but I have enjoyed all the features that came with this vehicle.The cargo area has came in handy several times and has saved me money on deliverys as well. I love my heated leather seats and Bose stereo. So far the only problems I have had were fixed under the warranty.I know have 63000 miles and it is still in great shape.Overall if you need flexibility and dont require a third row seat the Envoy XUV is an option to look at.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


very versatile vehicle

by Flooring Contractor from North Shore Mass | November 1, 2007

I've owned a 2004 since new (three years) and have been satisfied, for an American built vehicle. Not much room inside to store things. Gas milage on the city/town roads is not that good (14 -15 mpg). Over all very convenient for home improvements or a small contractor. Can carry a 4' X 8' sheet of plywood/drywall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Comfort, Power and Flexibility

by Bob the Builder from Utah | August 12, 2007

The V8 engine is the best for towing toys. Air suspension gives this unit a very comfortable yet stable ride. The retractable roof is the coolest feature because it converts the the passenger sport utility to a pickup truck... two in one... very flexible.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 12 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Envoy XUV

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.