2008 GMC Envoy

Change Vehicle
2008 GMC Envoy

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 6 styles:  2008 GMC Envoy 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$7,982–$18,114
Estimated MPG

13–14 city / 19–20 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

4 out of 7 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-7 of 7 reviews

Problem Vehicle

by SUVer from Buffalo, NY | March 31, 2014

Purchased new. OK deal but problems soon begin. Both differentials leaked badly. Six times to repair. Spare tire mechanism a nightmere. Spare tire larger than others creates traction problem. Numerous electrical problems. Back up lights fill with water several times. Rear window wiper stops. Radio speakers apparently work per outdoor temperature. Three fail. Power window fails. Breaks soon replaced. Traction problem light always on. Wheel bearings replaced... And all within 6 years and 80,000 miles. Rediculous parts and labor costs. Won't buy another GMC. Second bad one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best SUV Vehicle I've ever owned...

by ENVATE from Anchorage,Alaska | March 1, 2014

I purchased this 2008 GMC Envoy SLE 4x4 in March 2010...The vehicle was USED had 20400 miles on it...! In Four years time have brought the mileage up to 36800...THE ENVOY runs like a TOP... On average 14.5 mpg around town in Anchorage... 19.5 on the Palmer/Wasilla Highway. I donot understand why Automobile Magazines downplay the ENVOY...Absolutely the BEST SUV VEHICLE I've ever owned... Other than normal wear & tear, Oil changes...periodic upkeep on the vehicle. I wish GMC hadn't discontinued the Model in 2009.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Most reliable one I've Owned

by Super SUV from Kuwait | May 8, 2012

Good car for the value of time and money. Export from USA and now usd in Kuwait for more than 5 months.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


Excellent Machinery

by Mr Fussy from Connecticut | May 4, 2012

We inherited our '08 GMC Envoy and what a surprise. After owning smaller vehicles for years, we didn't expect a full size SUV to be so good. Great in snow - very comfy and well appointed with options. We haven't used it to tow but it's capable of some serious towing. The gas mileage is unexpected also; 17.2 MPG in combined driving.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Reliable

by Former Envoy SLT Owner from Milwaukee, WI | April 8, 2010

Great driving in the snow; lots of noise from the window areas (felt like air was blowing thru) and drafty. Great towing capabilities. The check engine light intermittently came on after having it a couple of months; technicians could not figure out the reason & engineers @ GMC had to be contacted. Other than that, no problems. Great amenities, but I would not buy another one. It served the purpose.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Great vehicle

by kranky from Pennslyvania | February 3, 2010

Second one I have owned. Don't understand why GM quit manufacturing this reliable vehicle. Does what you need it to do. Great in snow. Never had a problem with either one I have had. Tows great.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Best vehicle I have driven in a while.

by New envoy owner from New Jersey | October 8, 2007

I totally love this car, I traded my 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited with 11,000 miles on it. This vehicle blew me away with the comfort, styling, It drives so much better than my Jeep, I traded in my jeep since it was in the shop for almost 4 weeks for a stalling issue and the dealer could not fix the problem. I will never buy another Jeep product again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-7 of 7 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Envoy

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.