1999 GMC Sierra 1500

Change Vehicle
1999 GMC Sierra 1500
Available in 24 styles:  Sierra 1500 Extended Cab SLE shown
Asking Price Range
$1,353–$10,629
Estimated MPG

14–17 city / 18–23 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

9 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

99 sierra sl stepside v6

by Mr. B from East Texas, Tx | March 24, 2013

Just purchased a used sierra v6 with 94k on the clock. The truck is beautiful with the stepside bed, v6 engine, chrome factory wheels. Interior in great shape. Drives and handles well, since purchase had to clean maf sensor due to sometime hesitation at takeoff. Seems to have taken care of problem. Overall very impressed with truck, first gmc product purchased.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Wonderful truck

by Arkie from Arkansas | August 12, 2012

SLE bought used in 2008 with 40K, two-tone silver paint with pinstriping. Most luxurious pickup I've owned. Gas mileage about 18 overall. Power seats very comfortable. Ride quiet and good for long distances. Extended cab plenty of room for three people or folds up for lots of storage. Drove four years with regular maintenance and new tires. Only complaints, lack of fourth door on driver's side and squeaky noises in dash.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


1999 GMC

by Zdawg from Michigan | January 16, 2012

Just bought a 1999 GMC Sierra Ext cab for third vehicle to tow some things and have for son to drive to school. Surprised how nice this truck still is. Very comfortable SLE and all the toys still work fine. Heated seats, power everything and the 4WD all in great shape. Had 132K on it and I am sure I can get many more out of it. Great acceleration and doesn't drink the gas I thought it would on the HWY. Dash doesn't have the refinements that today's trucks do, but fine for what we are using it for. Happy with my purchase.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nice Truck

by Mudrat from Pa. | December 28, 2011

I have looked for a long time and this is a really nice truck for the money. It has all the goodies and I think it is in like new shape.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


this truck rocks my socks

by lovin my truck from louisiana | July 7, 2010

i love it. exterior is beautiful. even though the tailgate fell off 3 days after i bought it. love it

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


one tuff truck

by footballdad from Ohio | September 21, 2009

I drove mine for 10 years 150,000 miles with very few problems. it was built well and drove like a dream. The brakes lasted 100,000 miles!!! It went all over the country with me as I worked construction. And it was stolen once also.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


best truck i have ever owned

by truck enthusiast from mississippi | February 21, 2008

i bought my truck 6 months ago it has almost 200000 miles on it and it is still running great. I have had no problems out of it. The towing is like nothing i have seen, i have carried several thousand pounds, and it didnt feel like there was anything even being pulled behind me. Even going up hill is easy towing with this truck. It is great

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


best truck

by jmclean from sault ste marie, mi | September 20, 2007

great vehicle, rides is very comfortable, for a truck. great power range, towing is great for all smaller fifth wheels, and trailers.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


THE Best Truck Overall ! ! !

by GMC Trucks Rule from Nashville | November 9, 2006

I bought the GMC Sierra brand new in September of 1998 (new body style 1999). I have had absolutely no problems with it! Many think that the foreign vehicles are better- I beg to differ! When General Motors built this truck, they built it right. *The power is awesome- rated at 270 horses, it feels like 300 (press the pedal, and the truck gets sideways- I know) *The ride is one that rivals a luxury car. The truck rides so smooth you can easily approach high speeds and can't tell. *This truck is just like the one pictured to your left, color and all. It has such a quiet cabin, you're amazed at the quality! Interior is put together so nice and everything is within reach. *Even with todays gas prices where they are, it will not be an issue with this truck. The engine, which is the 5.3, hardly drinks any gas and it idles so smooth, you can not tell that the truck is running. Rev the engine, and you can tell that it is race ready. *Towing is phenomenal. I have towed 6000 lbs of gravel and the truck pulls as if nothing was there. All that weight does not affect the brakes either. Take it from me, all- American and worth every penny of it. If you find a used one, it is well worth the money!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Sierra 1500

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.