See Also: 2003 GMC Sierra 1500

2003 GMC Sierra 1500HD

Change Vehicle
2003 GMC Sierra 1500HD
Available in 4 styles:  2003 GMC Sierra 1500HD 4x4 Crew Cab 6.6' box 153" WB shown
Asking Price Range
$4,128–$16,496
Estimated MPG

Information Coming Soon

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 9 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-9 of 9 reviews

200,000 MILES & COUNTING

by PHIL from COLORADO | September 25, 2014

I have over 200,000 miles on the 5.3 in my truck and it is still running like it was new. the underside has almost no rust. The gearing is decent as it barely turns 2000 rpm at 75 mph. (Mine has the 3.73 rear end ratio) Fuel economy isn't great at 17 mpg highway but it wasn't built for economy. All around a great truck. the interior is almost brand new in appearance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


GM Trucks, Good looking, hard working, dependable!

by Landscaper from Calgary, AB | July 27, 2013

I love this truck. 194000 KMS and counting of hard work with little more than regular maintenance. Don't get me wrong, this truck isn't perfect, but none are. Yes, the engine knocks a little when cold (doesn't harm anything, i have another truck that does it too with over 300000 KMS and it hasn't caused a failure, or noticeable decrease in power) the fit and finish inside and out isn't perfect, and the gauge cluster does always work but honestly, if this bothers you, then you don't need a truck because if you did, you wouldn't worry about these things. What matters is how it takes a beating, and this truck holds up. I regularly tow 10-12 thousand pounds behind my 5.3 (rated for 8900lbs) and it never gives up. It starts and runs in -40C Canadian winters, i beat it up off road, put 2-3 thousand pounds in the bed, long road trips, you name it and she never lets me down. LS (Vortec) engines are the best out there, pick up any performance car magazine and you'll see what these motors can do and why they are so legendary. The 4wd system is good, interior is comfortable, and ride quality is pretty good. The transmission is a weak point, but mine hasn't let go yet. Anyways, if your a hard working person looking for a hard working truck, buy this truck. If your concerned that the panel gaps aren't perfect, buy a Mercedes to pull your wake boat, but that's all it will pull.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


nickle and dimed to death

by Working Joe from Maine | June 15, 2012

No big problems just allot of them. Rear breaks and rotors gone 17500 miles again 40000 Brake lines burst rusted through Intake gasket leak Altinator Idler pulley belt tensioner Tailgate latch 4 times Speedomeiter haywire Front and rear bumper rusted through

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Best PU I've ever owned

by fireball from Baltimore, MD | March 20, 2012

GM did a great job when they designed this line of vehicles. The body remained tight and solid, and the vehicle was very reliable with minimal problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


EXCELLENT!!!

by JEFF from Colorado | September 12, 2011

This has been my dream truck since they first came out.Finally bought one this past July.Didn't really know just how awsome this truck really is.Love the features the Denali package has to offer.The Quadrasteer is the main reason I bought it,and I'm sure glad I did. Can't understand why it isn't on the new ones. Dream come true!!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Towing
Does recommend this car


Best Truck on the road!

by JIMMY from Michigan | October 3, 2009

Love this -powerful!Does Everything you want in a truck. Never had a problem. Quadrasteer is agreat feature to have and is very usefull.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


been a good truck

by just doug from michigan | April 27, 2009

first new truck i've ever owned,had some things go though the years but overall been a pretty good truck excellent service from my dealer no problems there

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Coulda been a great one

by Two Truck Man from Sudbury, Canada | December 10, 2008

This is a good truck so far, had the tailgate and some premature rusting on the grill repaired for free at the dealer. Common problems reported for this model include premature brake wear, spongy brake pedal, hard shifting transmission (1st to 2nd gear) and a poorly-made u-joint on the steering column (replaced by dealer for $100). The 2 wheel drive models get great gas mileage and the moror is very smooth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Defects Defects Defects

by Kay from Texas | July 11, 2007

Factory defects = Uneven cam wear, piston slap, transmission adjustments needed, tailgate problems. This truck is a lemon and the dealer will not stand behind it.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car



    1-9 of 9 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Sierra 1500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.