See Also: 2005 GMC Sierra 1500

2005 GMC Sierra 1500HD

Change Vehicle

2005 GMC Sierra 1500HD

Available in 4 styles:  Sierra 1500 Crew Cab shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
Get Value

Est. MPG

Information Coming Soon


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

13 out of 14 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 14 reviews

Love it!

by Slp00bluess from Michigan | July 31, 2013

This truck is everyhing I could want ina good used rig! I would recomend this vehicle to everyone!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


HD version is ideal family/work hauler

by Contractor in TX from San Antonio, TX | December 11, 2012

This truck handles everything I've thrown at it. Haul a ton and a half of sand, concrete, and bricks? No problem. Pull a skip loader while hauling that load? Sure. The 1500HD has a strong 6.0 V8 and stiff suspension along with a 4.10 rear end that isn't great on gas, but huge on payload. The crew cab I bought has plenty of room for five, with a sixth seat up front that I've used only once (when I was in a bind). I love that it has a full 6.5' bed as well even with the crew cab. Interior is pretty standard GM truck, and the ride is bumpy when the back is empty. It rides much smoother with 1000 pounds of stuff in the back. If you need to move lots of stuff or just want something a little bigger than a standard half ton, I highly recommend the HD.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Hopeful

by Satisfied for now from Utica, New York | April 14, 2012

GMC tends to keep its value more than many other trucks in its class. I owned this same vehicle previously and it made a believer out of me then, so I had to own one again and hope that I'm as fortunate once again. God willing !!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


If they could only improve mpg - sierra 1500 crew

by jkhadley289 from Memphis, TN | November 28, 2011

I owned my 2005 GMC Sierra Crew for about 18 months and really didn't want to get rid of it, but it was just too much every time I hit the gas pump. Everything was very well put together, the truck would pull anything and everything I needed to pull, the ride was comfortable and it was overall a great truck.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Once you go truck...

by Kevin Truck from South Bend, IN | October 21, 2011

I purchased the black 2005 GMC Sierra 1500 Denali. This review is based on about six months of ownership. I used to have a red 2001 Chevy Silverado LT. I wanted to get all the options on the Chevy, plus more. The Denali is loaded with all kinds of goodies: heated, leather seats, sunroof, power retractable side rear view mirrors, etc. The leather seats become uncomfortable after awhile. The black finish is difficult to keep clean and it doesn't look particularly good in bright sunlight, but it's super cool otherwise, especially at night. Radio controls on the steering wheel are really nice, DVD player, 6 CD player plus a single CD player offers playing time during long voyages. I still haven't got used to the climate control. I wish they hadn't "improved" it. The FM radio brings in all kinds of stations. It gets decent mileage for a truck (the gas mileage calculator says I average about 14.5) and runs good, although a little rough. The all-wheel-drive transmission is smooth, but I'm waiting to see how it handles a northern Indiana winter. I haven't seen any other truck like it in my area, much better than the equivalent Dodge, Ford, Toyota, Nissan, or Honda. It's equipped with OnStar and satellite radio, but I don't have those options activated.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


2005 GMC Sierra 1500

by 97tj from Greenwood, Mo | October 26, 2010

Extended cab gives more room than a standard cab, but does have legroom problems for adults in back seat. Very comfortable ride, great gas mileage for a V-8. I have the 5.3 and average 18 mpg. Plenty of power. Good looking truck

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


I must have a lemon.

by Average truck owner from Phoenix, AZ | October 16, 2009

Let's see constant brake issues. 1st was @ 4000 miles 3 sets of front pads by 40000/rotors shot. Tranny blew at 30000. Bad driveshaft at 31000. Suspension makes all kinds of creaking and clunking noises - dealer says thats normal. AC dash problems at 10000. I don't tow anything just drive to and from work.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


Best truck

by Tony from tempe, az | January 11, 2009

Bought this 4x4, 1500, regular cab,off the lot. Has the 5.3 v-8, engine, with plenty of power and gets decent gas mileage. The inside cab is a little tight, not much room. The ride is great, and the style is fantastic. Best truck, around.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Can't beat it

by FitDoc from Dayton, OH | January 3, 2009

Bought 1500 Sierra extended cab new with the employee pricing offered at that time. Got all the bells and whistles and have not been disappointed. Best ride I've had in a truck, all the features have been better than expected, appearance is good, and even loaded the price was better than competitors. First problem just appeared at about 36K miles with a bad fan blower motor noticed as defrost failed. Worst things I could note would be minor rust along bottom edge of extended cab doors and some "uneven shifting". Very happy overall.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


You Get Your Money's Worth

by larry from Fallbrook Ca. | December 22, 2008

Bought this truck used 3 months ago, and do not have one complaint. Handles will and has the power i need to get past slower traffic. Real tight, frame and body, looks great. This is a fun truck to drive. Best one I have owned.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 14 reviews

Featured Services for this GMC Sierra 1500HD

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.