Crash-Test Ratings

The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety does not test all cars. Like the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, IIHS concentrates its crash tests on the highest-volume vehicles.

This table represents the vehicles IIHS selected as Top Safety Picks for 2012. The winning vehicles afford the best protection in front, side, rollover and rear crashes, based on IIHS tests. For the 2010 model year, IIHS added a roof-strength test. The addition of the roof-strength test greatly reduced the initial number of vehicles selected as Top Safety Picks. A number of vehicles were added as manufacturers reworked existing designs and introduced new models. Winners also must be equipped with electronic stability control.

For complete crash-test ratings, visit

IIHS Top Safety Picks
Click on the image or model name to read its report. All vehicles are 2012 models unless otherwise noted.
Compact Cars
Acura ILX
2013 model
Audi A3
Audi A4
Chevrolet Cruze
Chevrolet Volt
Dodge Dart
2013 model
Fiat 500
built after July 2011
Ford Fiesta
sedan and hatchback models built after July 2010
Ford Focus
Honda Civic
4-door models
Hyundai Elantra
built after March 2011
Kia Forte
Kia Soul
Lexus CT 200h
sedan and hatchback built after December 2010
Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Mini Cooper Countryman
Mitsubishi Lancer
excludes four-wheel-drive models
Nissan Cube
Nissan Juke
Nissan Leaf
Nissan Versa
Scion FR-S
2013 model
Scion tC
Scion xB
Subaru BRZ
2013 model
Subaru Impreza
excludes WRX
Subaru XV Crosstrek
2013 model
Toyota Corolla
Toyota Prius
built after December 2010
Toyota Prius c
Volkswagen GTI
four-door models
Volkswagen Golf
four-door models
Volkswagen Jetta
includes Sportwagen
Volvo C30
Midsize Cars
BMW 3 series sedan
BMW 528/535/550
excludes four-wheel-drive models and V8
Buick LaCrosse
Buick Regal
Cadillac CTS
Chevrolet Malibu
Chevrolet Malibu Eco
2013 model
Chrysler 200
four-door models
Dodge Avenger
Ford Fusion
Hyundai Sonata
Kia Optima
Lexus ES
Lincoln MKZ
Mercedes-Benz E-Class
Subaru Legacy
Subaru Outback
Volkswagen CC
(except all-wheel drive)
Volkswagen Passat
Volvo S60
Full-Size Cars
Audi A6
Chrysler 300
Dodge Charger
Ford Taurus
Hyundai Azera
Hyundai Equus
Hyundai Genesis
Infiniti M37/M56
excludes M56x four-wheel-drive models
Lexus GS
2013 models
Lincoln MKS
Saab 9-5
Toyota Avalon
Volvo S80
Compact SUVs
Audi Q5
Ford Escape
2013 model
Honda Element
Hyundai Tucson
Jeep Patriot
with side torso airbags
Kia Sportage
Mazda CX-5
2013 models
Mitsubishi Outlander Sport
Subaru Forester
Volkswagen Tiguan
Volvo XC60
Midsize SUVs
Acura RDX
2013 model
Cadillac SRX
Chevrolet Equinox
Dodge Durango
built after May 2011
Dodge Journey
Ford Edge
built after February 2011
Ford Explorer
GMC Terrain
Hyundai Santa Fe
2012 and 2013 models
Infiniti EX35
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Kia Sorento
built after March 2010
Lexus RX 350
Lincoln MKX
built after February 2011
Mercedes-Benz GLK-Class
Subaru Tribeca
Toyota Highlander
Toyota Venza
Volkswagen Touareg
Volvo XC90
Full-Size SUVs
Buick Enclave
built after January 2011
Chevrolet Traverse
built after January 2011
Ford Flex
GMC Acadia
built after January 2011
Lincoln MKT
Chrysler Town & Country
Dodge Grand Caravan
Honda Odyssey
Toyota Sienna
Volkswagen Routan
Large Pickup Trucks
Ford F150
crew cabs built after February 2011
Toyota Tundra
crew cab

Source: IIHS

© 10/04/2012