2005 Honda Accord

Change Vehicle

2005 Honda Accord

Available in 13 styles:  2005 Honda Accord 4dr Sedan shown
Print


Kelley Blue Book Retail
$8,425–$11,750

Est. MPG

20–29 city / 30–37 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.7 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

43 out of 46 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 46 reviews

Great Car.Nice performance.Good MPGs!

by Jake the car Enthusiast #25 from Park Forest, IL | March 14, 2014

This is my 25th car but my 2nd Honda. I have a 05 Pilot with 145k strong! The 05 accord (v-tec 4) 5speed is a beast for what it is, 0 to 60 in 9 sec! I love the handling & performance on the road it gets up and goes. Great gas mileage as well. Yes its a little over priced so make sure find one that is priced fairly. I bought mine with 153k on it and it was in great shape and still runs like new! Very reliable car! If you need a good pre-owned vehicle this is your best bet!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Another rating by me after 5 years...

by tushbobo from Lagos,Nigeria | February 8, 2014

I bought my 05 Accord in 2009.I reviewed it on this site on January 28,2010... I gave the car a 4 star rating then but after 5 years of use,I am back to give it a 5 star rating. I have had no cause to replace anything in my accord.I do not give much attention to maintenance as I used to due to the nature of my current job but my Accord has never disappointed me.The interior quality is better than my brother's Toyota Lexus. The only issue is the space between the front seats and the gear/armrest area which makes items fall in and difficult to retrieve. This car still stands tall even beside more recent models of Honda and other cars.5 stars all the way!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


This car was great!

by Vlad from Asheville, NC | October 17, 2013

I bought an 05 Accord LX 3.0 in 2007. This car is made of great quality. I also have an 06 Cadillac, but the quality isn't as great as Honda's. Never had any serious issues with it, praise God! Just changed the steering pump and had a safety recall for the power steering hose, which was actually damaged, but the dealer replaced it without a charge. The car is a good car though. If you love avoiding spending money on repairs, you should get an Accord.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


J Steel

by Thruway Milage from Rochester NY | October 2, 2013

J Steel has been a great car. My 2005 Honda Accord has 130,000 miles and is still comfortable and reliable. Things I've replaced: Serpentine Belt (85,000) Squeak Starter (100,000) Died Window controller (115,000) Died

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Honda Solid

by PV Guy in AZ from Prescott Valley, AZ | August 5, 2013

I traded my 2011 Subaru Legacy (aka: a piece of junk) for the 6-cylinder Accord with less than 49k miles. Compared to the Subaru that was built not to last the Honda is rock solid and feels bullit proof. I have owned several Hondas prior to this one and one cannot find a more reliable vehicle. Love the powerful engine, sporty feels (especially with the moon roof open), terrific stereo, frigid A/C, tight handling, large trunk, roomy in the back seat, numerous airbags, and key fob that opens all the windows at once. Wish the car got better MPG and had a USB connection, but that's the only improvements I can think of.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Accord unbiased opinion

by Road Warrior from Atlanta GA | July 24, 2013

I bought this 2005 Accord EX-L V6 in order to fill the need for a new job with lots of travel. I needed something that rode well, got decent mileage, and wasn't an absolute bore to drive. Comfort- Not really all that great, average at best. After a few hours on the interstate I find myself having to get out and move around, stretch out and wander. I've owned many cars over the years, this one is middle of the pack at best for comfort. Performance- I specifically got the V6 hoping to avoid a car that wasn't able to get out of it's own way. Again, this is a middle of the pack contender. It's definately not going to win any races, and it's performance on the interstate at 70mph being give 100% throttle to pass is again mediocre. Better than a 4 cylinder, but still under powered. Fuel economy is unimpressive. I get about 26-27 on the interstate. I expected more, given than I've had big American V8's that could get up to 30mpg. Disappointing at best Styling- The exterior is what it is made to be, an economy car. There is nothing appealing to the eye, and it's not uncommon to see 20 of these in a day. I've never been happy with the trunk mechanism. The trunk if left in any position other than 100% up will slam on you while you are leaning in. The interior is fairly well setup for the driver to use. Nothing spectacular here either, again it is an economy car. It all serves it's intended purpose. Value- Right now, these cars are extremely overpriced. People are trying to get upwards of $2000 over retail price for car with 200 thousand miles on them, many with body damage. There is little incentive to buy a used Honda right now for that reason. I stumbled upon a fair deal when I was in a hurry to find one. Otherwise, I'd have bought another brand Reliability- So far, it has been solid. This is 40 days after purchase, with 220000 miles. This remains to be seen in the future, however they do have a decent reputation. Overall, 3 out of 5 stars. The fuel economy was the biggest let down considering the lack of real power. For the purposes of extensive travel, next time I may consider a 4 cylinder since the V6 doesn't offer much more in the way of get up and go.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


nice car but has rear wheel noise ...

by mikey from freehol | June 15, 2013

i drove this car at freehold honda, rear wheel noise otherwise it drove well, price is more than it's worth.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Cherry 2005 Accord

by Dad from South Jersey | June 2, 2013

I found an excellent car on Cars.com for my son. Very reasonable price. Very good condition. My Honda dealer told us, "You foung a great car, boy!"

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Awesome car!

by Vlad from Asheville | May 28, 2013

I've had this car since 2007. It has slightly over 100k miles now and still runs great. I only had to replace the steering pump. No problems whatsoever! Would consider another Accord.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Most reliable car I have ever owned

by Honda for life from Hampton,Ga. | February 25, 2013

Bought the 2 door EX V-6 new and have never had to do anything to it except regular maintenance. I have never owned a car that has been this reliable. My next car will definitely be a Honda if this one ever wears out.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 46 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Accord

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.