2001 Honda Civic

Change Vehicle
2001 Honda Civic
Available in 7 styles:  2001 Honda Civic 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$2,047–$7,571
Estimated MPG

32–36 city / 39–44 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

3.8 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

28 out of 38 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 38 reviews

good little car

by civil civic from pensacola, fl | November 2, 2013

I have enjoyed my civic. The only repairs I've had done are new catalytic converter and sensor. It requires little maintenence and is a great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


No longer has quality workmanship

by Honda Civics from HSV Alabama | August 14, 2013

We no longer will be a Honda family. The first of two 2001 Honda Civics had the driver air bag fail during accident causing driver to sustain broken nose even while wearing seat belt. The second Honda Civic started requiring repairs as soon as the warranty run out. At 124,000, the motor needed new seal per Honda dealership which would cost twice what car was worth. The last 2008 Honda Civic was not bought new and did not have the warranty. At 48,000 miles it required new motor mounts to keep from tearing up engine and transmission. It seems Honda is no longer using quality parts and workmanship on their vehicles. I will not be investing my money in any more Honda's. All our vehicles have been kept up with to meet all maintenance care throughout ownership periods. All these vehicles were used for work and pleasure or just pleasure on the 2008 Honda Civic. The Work and Pleasure was within 10-15 mile radius. I did not receive value out of any we owned. My coworker's parents Honda had the motor blow up as soon as it reached over 100,000 miles. I though it was an isolated incident, but I can say it was the norm after having similar experience.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does not recommend this car


The Best Car

by Celine from Joliet, IL | March 10, 2013

I had a 2001 Honda Civic LX sedan, bought used in '03 and had it for nearly 10 years. I loved this car. Never had any problems. Did the regular maintenance you would do with any car. I recently lost it in an accident with a truck hitting me at 50 mph from the passenger side. You think this car would have totally smashed. It didn't. It's quality-built. This car and its seatbelt saved my life. I had it for 10 years and I miss it so dearly. Had I not had the accident, I would have kept this car for life, and it would have lived like I bought it yesterday. Love this car. I will always have a Honda.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


Most reliable

by Civic carpooler from | December 24, 2012

Best car for gas mileage, reliablility, and price. Even price for parts are great. This car is perfect for a new driver and/or an everyday commuter.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


1st owner not the last honda

by Inch Worm from Ventura CA | July 16, 2012

I got his car as my very 1st from my mom. We've had it since day one and it's never had an issue. typical maintenance (timing belt tires etc ) but not necessary for the 1st 10 yrs. It was our family car for vacations and we could make it from home to Vegas (5 hrs) and home to my aunts (8 hrs) on one tank. Perfect teenager car or "soccer mom" car. If you take care of it, it will take care of you.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


The car not work

by francheska from | July 4, 2012

The car is garbage. The car has the motor very bad. i was at the dealer and saw the civic. I dont like that dealer.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


One of the best!

by Snowboarder777 from Springfield, MO | June 18, 2012

This standard 4 door is a dream. Start off with 40mpg on the highway, (42.4 if you hypermile), large amount of headroom (I'm over 6'1"), and a huge trunk for "stuff", this car is a dream to own and drive. And you can pick one up on cars.com for less than $5K. No brainer!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very reliable and can do so much with this car

by mkar90 from Miami, FL | June 3, 2012

Never had problems with this car. I fill this car $40 a week and that is that I work 35 minutes away from my home. I have had it for a year and was the best choice I have made

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Piece of junk

by bobp from ct | January 8, 2012

I thought this would be a maintenance free car - was I wrong! starter went at 40k miles. throttle body went at 45k needed new struts at 15 & 50k now the inside roof matting is falling off. plus have never gotten great mileage. given I do mainly local non-hwy lucky to get 25 mpg. again, the dealers love to show in their repair lounges, the people who have honda with 250k miles. but it does not say how much it cost them to achieve these miles. sadly disappointed. will never buy another honda!!!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


50 mpg

by RK from Seattle | January 1, 2012

Bought this 2001 HX new. Very little maintenance required. Commuting I get 35-37 mpg. On trips at 70 mph it gets 42mpg. If I keep it at or below 62mph I average 50mpg! What's the big deal with new cars getting 30mpg?

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 38 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Civic

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.