1997 Honda CR-V

Change Vehicle

1997 Honda CR-V

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 1 styles:  CRV shown
Print


Asking Price Range
$1,723–$6,803

Estimated MPG

22.1 city / 25 hwy


See Photos & Videos


Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

10 out of 11 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 11 reviews

1997 Honda CR-V

by Jockames from New England Megalopolis. | May 21, 2013

We purchased our 1997 CR-V about a month ago with 118,000 miles on it. We have put 1000 trouble free miles on the car and are quite pleased with it so far. The seats are not the most comfortable for longer trips but they're not intolerable. The car drives and handles nicely and the fuel economy is around 21-24 for combined mileage. The car has a lot of interior room for us and our 3 boys and a bunch of beach or boat stuff.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


awesome

by skippy from JACKSON, WI | November 27, 2012

awesome in snow, very reliable.looking for a newer one just because my legs are long and I fit better in the second generation CR-V.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Clifford, the big red CR-V

by El from SE OHIO | May 28, 2012

Great car! Loved to run up the hills. Loved playing in the snow, never lost traction. Never left me on a country road, didn't mind the terrain. Really, an outstanding dog of a car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


CRV by CIDPUSA

by cidpusa from Walnut , CA | December 27, 2011

I have had the car since 1997 bought it new and have driven it several times on 1500 mile trips and with time the car has accumulated 180,000 miles. Other then changing the tires, battery, shocks , distributor cap and sparkplugs everything else is original. You have to change the v-belt every 100,000 miles. The car still runs like it was new. The first generation of the CRV is just bullet-proof thanks to God. The engine is 2 liters and gives fuel mileage from 23- 29 MPG.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Short Time Owner

by Franny from California | April 28, 2011

I have only owned my Honda CRV for a short time and so far I'm lovin' it. It's not too high for little old ladies to climb into and has plenty of leg room. When I fold the seats down I can cart around all kinds of "stuff" like I like to and the gas mileage has been aroung 24 mpg. I bought it from the Ford Dealer in Fairfield and it was one of the most pleasant experiences I have had buying a car. They didn't try to spin me and I really appreciated them.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


great reliable roomy awd crv

by weedpuller from carmel ca. | March 11, 2011

This cute C.R.V. hugs the road and will take you anywhere with no problem. Not luxurious whatsoever, but delivers reliability and value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Well-built

by Oxymandias from Dublin, Ireland | January 15, 2010

Had just two mechanical faults, admittedly at reasonable mileage (circa 60,000). First was requirement to replace rear bushes on suspension and second was blow-out of top of radiator needing new one. Otherwise, mechanically sound. Driver's seat is uncomfortable on long journeys and road noise is excessive. Very sure-footed in icy conditions though.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Love the way it drives

by Eric from Jefferson,WI | September 21, 2009

Have 97 EX that I bought for $4500 with 145k miles,the awd is awesome in the snow,gets great gas mileage for being awd,normal wear and tear,brakes,stabilizer links,tie rods,I just had it in for an alignment and they told me I needed a new universal joint and honda only makes this part which is $900,I did some checking on my own and found an after market company called rockforddriveline that makes after market universal joints for $35.00 and called them and found a company they sell the parts to,so I had them do the work it saved me $400. Just hope no other major things go wrong.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Work
Does recommend this car


This is the most reliable car I own

by Cautious Buyer from Texas | December 5, 2007

I love my 1997 Honda CRV! I traded in my Dodge Avenger (don't go Dodge ever!). My ex-brother in-law owned a Honda accord for many, many years and had no problems with it. I also have other friends who own Honda's and now I know why! I Could not have gotten anything even close to the reliability of the CRV for the money. The fold-down back seats are great for hauling off things, as is the AWD. Great drive for a daily car and also good for long trips as well, and shockingly good gas mileage.The only close disappointment has to be that the engine does not have that kick that my avenger had, but it is adequate. Overall this is a great car and I will definitely buy Honda again.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great for the money

by issa from Sterling, VA | August 4, 2006

I love my 1997 CRV! Could not have gotten anything even close to as functional or reliable for the money. The fold-down back seats are great as is the AWD. Great daily driver as well and shockingly good gas mileage. I only wish the engine were a little bit stronger, but it is adequate. Overall a great car!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 11 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda CR-V

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.