1998 Honda CR-V

Change Vehicle
1998 Honda CR-V
Available in 3 styles:  CR-V FWD LX shown
Asking Price Range
$1,717–$6,945
Estimated MPG

22 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.3 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

7 out of 8 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-8 of 8 reviews

does the job

by honda buyer from Dallas tx | September 2, 2012

I bought this honda used with 93000 miles. It belonged to an old lady (no really) and it had been maintained with full records. Over the years it only needed things like batteries and tires. The car seems to shift alot but has adequate power. The engine is noisey inside the cabin particularly when shifting into passing gear. The interior is small and cramoed. Our corolla get much better gas mileage. For the money (less thn 4 thousand it is a good cor for your college bound kid.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


NIce little Vehicle

by Jet Mech from S Cacalaki | August 28, 2010

The CRV is a great commuter car that has good power and is very comfortable ! It has a computerized transmission control and stays in gears a bit longer that normal transmissions to alleviate hunting between gears , and that takes a bit of getting used to, and at first appears to be a transmission problem , but it is normal. I like this little ride , and the only thing bad about the vehicle is lots of road noise , but you can always turn up the radio !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Nearly Perfect

by Todd from santa monica california | August 5, 2010

194,000 miles. The last 20,000 have been driven with an undiagnosable engine issue, but it never lets me down. (3 different mechanics, including a Honda specialist, 3 different ideas of what is wrong, therefore I do nothing and it keeps on running) This car holds far more than you think it can, handles well and has a very comfortable back seat. I'm hoping the 4th generation CR-V harkens back a bit more to the 1st and 2nd than the curvy girly car it has become.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Nice car, but not the reliability expected

by mogh from Pittsburgh, PA | July 17, 2010

This car makes me wonder about Honda's CR-V line a bit. The car has reasonably low miles for its age, yet before it was sold to us, it had significant work done on it, including replacing the drive shaft. In the few months since we've had it, we've had to replace the gas tank and the struts. I hope the car will be good for a while, but at this point I am almost expecting more issues in the next 12 months.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


It Handles Like an ATV or a Snowmobile I LOVE IT

by Long Time Owner from Ossipee, NH | June 29, 2008

This car is awesome, I love the way it handles and its amazing in the snow. It is incredibly fun to drive and has good acceleration. The only annoying thing to me is that it revs a little high in second and third for no reason.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


The best vehicle I have ever owned, bar none!

by adventure minded from Wisconsin | May 4, 2008

I purchased my crv new in spring of 1998 and ten years(209,000 miles) later I am still as happy as the day I bought it. I am a avid sportsman and this vehicle has performed without a problem, weather pulling my boat, navigating sloppy firelanes on a spring turkey/shed antler hunt, or driving out on a snow covered lake it has handled it all. I also own a toyota tundra limited 4x4 which is a great truck but can't hold a candle to the CRV on snow covered roads. The CRV ex also served as a motel room on a second season archery hunt in the up of michigan because the seats fold flat into a double bed. When you factor engineering, reliability, fuel economy, resale value the CRV is tough little package to beat.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Love this Car

by Shasta from St. Cloud, FL | October 7, 2007

This car isn't really an SUV. It's a jacked-up station wagon- which is great! I have great visibility, plenty of cargo room, fuel-efficiency, and reliability. I wouldn't take it mudding, but it's a great around-the-town, family vehicle.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car


Great recreational vehicle

by Outdoors enthusiast from Spokane, WA | June 11, 2007

Excellent handling and comfort. Interior spacious and well designed. Seating comfortable. Back seats fold down to expand cargo space. Exceptional gas mileage compared to other makes of SUVs. Reliable, low maintenance.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-8 of 8 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda CR-V

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.