2004 Honda CR-V

Change Vehicle
2004 Honda CR-V

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 3 styles:  2004 Honda CR-V 4dr 4x4 shown
Asking Price Range
$5,273–$12,057
Estimated MPG

21–23 city / 25–28 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

23 out of 26 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 26 reviews

love this auto

by lum from | September 16, 2013

I purchased this vehicle used with 105000 miles on it. the condition was great. A one owner vehicle and it has been well taken care or. One of my favor features is the rack and pinion steering. This vehicle has a wonderful turning radius and very stable handling.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Loving it

by Honda Girl from Clemmons, NC | February 9, 2013

I've only had this car a week, but I knew I would love it before I bought it. I've been driving Hondas since I was 17 (31 now) and I was hoping to transition into the SUV world with another Honda. I traded performance for reliability, it's not very powerful but driving my kids around town doesn't require horses. I bought it with 80k and I'm hoping it will give me at least another 80!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Finely Tuned Dream

by Hawkeye from Burlington, Iowa | January 16, 2013

I've had a 2004 Honda CRV EX for 6 years and have not had a single problem with it. I bought it used in 2006 with 70, 000 miles. It now have over 165, 000 miles and it still runs perfect. The AWD (All Wheel Drive) is a must with these Iowa winters. I have only done preventative maintenance like oil/filter changes, spark plugs, fuel filter, tires etc. The car will run forever.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great Vehicle!

by Commuter from Kentucky | December 12, 2012

This is a great vehicle, I own a AWD and have owned it for 13 years and up until this last year have had zero problems. I have done 174 k. I would buy another one in a heartbeat... Great in the snow/rain...

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


nice CRV

by SUV enthusiasst from San Antonio, TX | December 7, 2012

Read about A/C problems but so far it has been working pretty well with now loss of cooling or probs

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


I would not suggest this car!

by SarahE from Charlottesville, VA | June 13, 2012

I've had my CRV since I bought it used in 2008 with around 30,000 miles. Now, it's at over 107,000 miles and the compressor just blew. Honda is absolutely zero help, when clearly this is a common problem with these cars. In the economy that we've found ourselves in, I cannot pay $3500 to get this problem fixed, nor can I trade in my car when its trade in value is below $5000 with the compressor gone. Do not purchase a CRV, especially the early ones. Honda knows it has a huge problem with its compressors yet will not fix them unless you have a warranty, which expires at 36,000 miles - a point most drivers would have reached by 2008.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does not recommend this car


Honda CR-V

by Jim from NJ | May 8, 2012

I own both a 2004 & 2005 Honda CR-V EX. The 04 was made in GB and I have had a number of major problems including 2 A/C units costing over $2000each. I found that this is a common problem on 04-06 Honda CR-V's that Honda refuses to admit that there is a manufactures/design problem. The 05 with the same 93K miles on the car was built in Japan and has had 0 problems.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Good Car

by K from Phoenix | February 15, 2012

I like my CR-V it drives well, reliable, roomy. It meets my expectation and also has great resale value.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Great all-around small SUV

by Kayakgirl from Central NJ | December 30, 2011

Bought the 04 CRV-EX new and after 7yrs /140K miles, it's still a great car. I love my 5spd manual, but am finally ready to move to an automatic. Decent fuel economy (~28mpg) and it's a rugged but comfortable car for longer trips. No major service issues in 7yrs of constant use. Great cargo capacity, we've hauled full loads of firewood and also easily load 2 kayaks on roof.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great starter car for high school student

by cvfisherman from Castro Valley, CA | December 6, 2011

We finally settled on a Honda CRV, model year 2004. We actually were looking for a model year 2007, but the CRV was so popular that we were priced out of the market. The good news is that the first dealer that I went to called me back 5 weeks later. He had just received a trade in that fit our needs to a "T". I test drove the car and loved it, and bought it right away. I would recommend the All Wheel Drive model if available, because it gives a better feel of the road.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 26 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda CR-V

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.