1993 Honda Del Sol

Change Vehicle
1993 Honda Del Sol

Search Inventory Near You


Available in 2 styles:  Del Sol 2dr Coupe shown
Asking Price Range
$1,672–$6,700
Estimated MPG

29–34 city / 33–38 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.6 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

16 out of 17 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 17 reviews

Couldn't Be Better

by billreb from Escondido, CA | April 8, 2014

I have had my 93 del sol for 11years and wouldn't give it up for anything. I replace the engine and transmission and gave it a new paint job. Will keep this until they take it away from me (old age). Great on gas, fun to drive especially with the top off! Honda could up grade it and bring it back.(rear drive, auto folding roof and larger engine even a rotary would do)

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Impractical Daily Driver

by College Guy from Indianapolis, IN | April 4, 2014

The Honda del Sol is arguably the best car I have ever owned and the best car Honda has ever made. If you are considering buying one, do it. This vehicle was perfect for getting back and forth to work. I averaged 38 mpg city/highway. It also had the pep to have fun. It was a coupe and a convertible all in one. If you have never driven one, it is like driving a street legal go cart. If you have driven one, you can't wait to drive it again. The cabin totally envelops you while the engine is incredibly responsive. Of course the masses look at this car and deem it unpractical. OF COURSE IT IS! It is a two seater that can only carry 400 lbs. But that is the beauty of it. This car is meant to go out and have fun. With it being a Honda you don't have to worry about babying it or the fuel cost either. Finally with a low price tag an owner could afford to have a practical (boring) car.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Great car to have

by Love my del Sol from Plainfield, IN | September 29, 2012

This is really a great car, I had mine for 2 weeks before moving from Indiana to Arizona in 26 hrs. No problems whole way there. Even drove it back after school was finished and still ran great. Until it got totalled. Now looking for new one.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Just getting around
Does recommend this car


Great Little Car

by Tom from Baltimore | August 10, 2012

The Del Sol is a throwback to what feels like a very traditional sports car, like an old MG or Triumph. It is light and fast and harsh on bumpy roads. But underneath it is really a Honda at heart with the simplicity and reliability of a Honda Civic. The shifter and clutch and smooth and efficient, the engine is beautifully made and ticks along like a good watch. And the VTEC in my red 1994 will glide easily to 8500 rpm and only scream a little at the effort. Mileage is great (although mine uses Premium gas) and inside, everything is at your fingertips except the whacky placement of the cupholders, behind your right elbow. The seats are very comfortable although you sit very low.Of course the best thing is that you can take off the top. roll down the side and back window and ride through the countryside in full convertible fashion. These cars are rarer and rarer on the streets - especially well-kept ones. I bought mine three years ago with 85,000 miles. Now I have 101,000. That is less than half the life this car has in it well-maintained.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Very nice car

by omni from Illinois | July 23, 2012

Bought my del sol used with 150,000 miles. S model, with ac, no power steering. The steering itself is heavy at slower speeds, but you don't notice it at 10mph or more. Gearbox and clutch engagement are smooth. The engine in this model is a 102 hp economy engine. Acceleration is adequate, but if you like to drive it hard or want to have some fun with it, look for the si or even better the vtec model, with the 125 hp and 160 hp engines. Handling is very nice, can be made better with some sway and stabilizer bars. Lots of parts are interchangable with the civic, so it is very reliable. Taking the top off on nice days is really why I love this car. If you find a good deal on one, grab it! Not many of these on the roads any more.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


its not such a great car

by el toro from | August 23, 2011

had one for 4 months not very pleased had to sell it because it has no space what so ever it is good on gas per milage though

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does not recommend this car


Fun Car Love it

by <3 my del sol! from Los Angeles CA | May 2, 2011

Great car never gave me a problem it looks cool drives cool and it has a targa top i love going fast and having good handling this is the car to have

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


honda del sol sohc

by jdm god from omaha ne | April 4, 2011

best car fo the money very easy to work on and the parts are cheap i got one and i got a bunch of after market parts it has about 450 hp and the car wieghs 2200 pounds yeah its the bomb

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Having fun
Does recommend this car


Bang for the buck just cant be beet,

by Sol Man from Midwest | April 24, 2009

This vehicle has it all styling fun in the sun and drives like a snowmobile in the winter.Verry quiet even at high speeds with the top off.Plenty of storage in the trunk and car interior.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


230,000 miles and still better than a prius

by sol man from colorado | July 10, 2008

the day i heard honda was coming out with a convertible i made a decision to buy. 230.000 miles later i am still delighted. a new clutch at 180,000. gas mileage to rival a prius. huge trunk and front wheel drive. there is nothing else out there to replace it. as we struggle for better gas mileage with new technology i have the answer. bring back the original del sol. it works for me. and i can still go topless. we might both be on our last legs, but this honda will not be sold.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Handling
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Features
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for N/A
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 17 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Del Sol

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.