2004 Honda Odyssey

Change Vehicle
2004 Honda Odyssey
Available in 3 styles:  2004 Honda Odyssey Passenger Van shown
Asking Price Range
$3,029–$10,081
Estimated MPG

18 city / 25 hwy

Average Ratings

Overall

4.5 out of 5

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

19 out of 21 people recommended this car.


Write a Review
By writing a review you can provide valuable insights to other car shoppers.

Consumer Reviews

Sort Reviews By

    1-10 of 21 reviews

tranny needs TLC or else

by phidknee from ny | February 26, 2014

GET your tranny serviced every 20,000 miles or else ? Do a complete fluid drain ( all fluid , watch on you tube) filter ? yes there is a filter , Honda only tranny fluid , install a tranny cooler & inline magna filter ( order on line) and don't use the 2004 odyssey for towing . Follow these guide lines and your tranny should last ! Why Honda does not offer this service info your guess is as good as mine , and they would make there clients happy & make money at the same time ? I own a 2004 EX-L Odyssey & got it in Sept 2004 from local Honda dealer on long island. Great van up until April 2012 when I started to notice a shutter between 2&3 gears and with only 94,000 miles on the van I never even thought of a tranny problem ! But within weeks the green (D) drive light on the dash was flashing , not a good sign when an Idiot lights up in any car ! So started out with Honda USA no help , then to You Tube , huge help & an a place to start ! Hope you find my trial & error helpful ? Oh & by the way so far so good , 2 years later the 04 has 115,000 miles on org tranny & just bought a new 2014 EX-L Odyssey that will get a tranny cooler ad Magna-fine filter for starters . Good luck people I like the van but it does have a major flaw / the tranny / it's your call but this van drives & handles great !

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Honda Odyssey

by Pap Paws Van from Verona, Ky | December 2, 2013

Purchased 2004 Odyssey with 115,000 miles have only had for a couple months, but so far it is a very nice and dependable vehicle. Would recommend it to friend or family member

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


Honda Van Rocks

by Magnum Matt 86 from Fort Wayne, IN | January 4, 2013

I was skeptical when my wife wanted the mini-van. We bought a new '04 Odyssey and I still love it! Even with 171,000 mi, it rides better than my 3 year old SUV. We are now determined to get this baby to 1/4 million miles! Nothing beats this vehicle for family trips or campiing.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


TRANSMISSION SHUDDER

by Van man from fRAMINGHAM,MA | November 28, 2012

Purchased used from the dealer few weeks after transmission started shudder and problems were progressing since and now we have to spend thousands of dollars for reconditioned transmission. I did talk to American Honda they do not even try to help us with repair of the van, has only 50K miles They excuse was, we did 'purchased used from the dealer'and paid full retail. The dealer does not want to repair the van under the warranty also. Now no one is responsible for the HONDA made ┬┐┬┐junk. In my research I did found way to many transmission lot of problems people experienced with Honda vehicles.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does not recommend this car


This is a good car and fun to drive

by Mike from Columbus, IN. | September 12, 2012

I really like the Honda. It is a comfortable ride. All the accessories work well. It can carry up to 7 people very comfortably. I like the automatic door closings. The air conditioning is super.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


I can't imagine wanting to drive anything else

by Mini-van Mom from Petersburg, VA | May 21, 2012

I bought a 2004 Honda Odyssey to replace a 1997 Odyssey that gave me 279K miles of uncomplaining service. (Engine was replaced at 154K Miles with one that had 69K miles, transmission rebuilt after 180K miles.) I wanted to upgrade not because my old Honda died, but because my son is old enough to drive. The 2004 has the six cylinder engine, which is a big improvement. The sliding doors are more like what I was used to on my Chrysler mini-vans, but with a door on both sides and the lovely addition of power controls. The interior is comfortable for a family of 7 and the fold-down rear seat and split middle seat make camping trips a cinch. The air-conditioning and heating controls are a big win too, with automatic settings that control the fans and heating/cooling based on a set desired temperature. If I had one complaint, it is so minor as to be silly--2004 pre-dates the prevalence of MP3 players, so there is no jack to hook one in. A $9 adapter for the cassette player fixed that problem! I love this car! My driving is a mix of city and highway, and with the air-conditioner going I have averaged 21 MPG. Not great, but not bad.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Commuting
Does recommend this car


Odyssey Mom's limo/truck/bus

by tanvanmama from Indy | June 6, 2011

We derove our '00 Odyssey over 178k mi with very few mech. issues. Gas n go, reg service, gas n go again. Our van has hauled everything: Kids, bikes, strollers, groceries, mulch, camping gear, and so on. When it was time to upgrade... we bought another one! Newer van has a few handy features like key fobs to open doors, CD payer, and built in garage door opener. There are a lot of other fancier vans but Honda design gives a lot of solid value for the money!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


safe, reliable transportation and nice to drive

by Family Guy from Oswego, IL | May 11, 2011

We bought the '04 Odyssey in winter of 2011. Buy the higher model of the two. At 100,000 miles, it's still in good shape--not rattling or rusted. I enjoy driving it and could see us taking it on road trips.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


great family vehicle

by working dad from Davenport, Iowa | March 8, 2011

We replace our 2003 honda odyssey with this 2004 version. We've been very happy with it so far. They have made it quieter, smoother running and more efficient.

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car


works like a truck, drives a whole lot better

by adventures in odyssey from Phoenix | December 1, 2010

We love our Odyssey! We volunteer with a refugee settlement ministry. I have driven thousands of miles, hauled hundreds of people, delivered tons of donated household goods and all in great comfort and safety. I can deliver six kids safely to youth group, flip the seats down, take two out, and then deliver a complete twin bed with room to spare. Men, especially, have scoffed at me as I drive up to collect huge piles of donations, including beds. Once I drive away with their donations tucked inside my Odyssey, they are true believers. Even with a big load of stuff or people, the van has power and gets a move on, which is required to drive in this city!

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No

Comfort
Performance
Exterior Styling
Interior Design
Value for the Money
Reliability

Purchased a new car
Uses car for Transporting family
Does recommend this car



    1-10 of 21 reviews

Featured Services for this Honda Odyssey

  • Sell your current car quickly and easily on Cars.com.
  • Not sure what auto repair should cost you? Use our price estimator.
  • Get help with car repair now on Cars.com. Visit Repair & Care

Search Inventory Near You

Calculate Monthly Payment

What will my monthly cost be?

Check Payment

Calculate Affordable Price

What is the most I can afford?

Check Price

More Calculators

Compare finance offers to decide what's right for you.

Certain specifications, prices and equipment data have been provided under license from Chrome Data Solutions ("Chrome Data"). ©2013 Chrome Data Solutions, LP. All Rights Reserved. This information is supplied for personal use only and may not be used for any commercial purpose whatsoever without the express written consent of Chrome Data. Chrome Data makes no guarantee or warranty, either expressed or implied, including without limitation any warranty of merchantability or fitness for particular purpose, with respect to the data presented here. All specifications, prices and equipment are subject to change without notice.